We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Muscat to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Muscat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

As our conference was in here so we had to book this property. Its surely Pricey hotel but the location and the property is good. Its approx. 30-40 min away from the airport. Its on one of the famous beaches - Qurum. Taxi to hotel is OM10 but on the way back hotel can arranged at OM8.
Hotel has free shuttle bus to Souq, Grand Mall and Mosque on fix timings.. Surely recommend to take them. Concierge are helpful and efficient, our tour was arranged in no time.
Hotel also offer free wifi in the resorts incl. rooms but the connection is slow and keep cutting all the time.

Rooms need renovation esp the bathrooms. We paid OMR111 per night with breakfast. Check in/out was done my Rahul (hope name is right..indian guy) very efficient and quick. He had answers for all our questions and he did know his sorry and thank you etc cause we checked in after mid night and twin room wasn't available and we were given single room but he arranged for extra bed right away in the room and he guaranteed us that we will shifted to twin room next day which was done.

Breakfast is surely recommended as they have wide spread. We tried all their outlets in 5 days stay and all were good beside Come Prima Italian. The service was very slow and no staff to take orders. Staff of the Restaurant if I'm not mistaken her name was Kalpana was giving us stares like we were aliens as we didn't do reservation. We were hotel guests and I didn't think we need to prebook as it was normal dinner for us as we didn't wanted room service. We were not underdress for the restaurant dinning but don't know we (my fren and me) both got the vibes as she didn't wanted to give us the table despite of having many tables empty but we managed to get the table and the service was very slow.
We tried Lounge and the Pool bar and both was nice and quick. I think hotel is surely short of staff in restaurants as we felt we had to wait for long time in lounge too, to order and for other things.
The minus point of all the hotels in Middle east, if their housekeeping is Indian, that they don't know how to wait, they expect us to fly and open the room in 1 bell. They will ring 1 bell and then not a pause of 2-3 second and then 2,3 and on on within 1 min. They don't even allow a gap which is some time very irritating. I had this same experience in Crown Plaza Bahrain too.. Management need to give training on this.

Overall its nice property. Just renovation/upgrade is required for rooms and bathrooms are surely outdated, if we get chance to visit Muscat again then will surely stay with them , if the prices are bit low too.

Room Tip: Pool and seaview is surely better then parking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write such thorough review about your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Muscat. We do boast great location with beautiful views and I am delighted that you enjoyed it. I am also very pleased to note your positive feedback on food and beverage offerings and the efficiency of the staff. Currently we are in the process of renovating our guestroom bathrooms over the summer period in an effort to provide an up to date product for to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    399
    100
    28
    10
See reviews for
140
282
54
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed in Crowne Plaza Muscat for 7 nights. It is good hotel by all mean. Staff are friendly and make you feel valued customer. I have enjoyed dealing with reception special Hossam El Attia. He was helpful and pleasant.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Muscat and for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor. I am very delighted to read that our staff was friendly and and made you feel like a valued customer. This is the kind of experience we work diligently to provide for all our guests and I am very happy to see that reflect in your stay. I will be sure to pass on your kind comment to the above name mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Muscat soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Having visited Muscat frequently over the past 17 years for business and pleasure I opted for a hotel that surprisingly I had never used before. Given that it was a hotel from the IHG group I had no issues suggesting the Crowne Plaza to my travel agent, however I was very surprised at the price I was charged, as my next choice (Radisson Blu) was almost a third of what I paid for the Crowne Plaza.

Rooms are not so big, and probably could do with a makeover, but at least there was free internet, probably the only perk I received for being a Gold Ambassador.

Breakfast was reasonable, with a decent buffet and I ate dinner in the pub as it was still reasonably cool in the evening for myself and a colleague to eat outside. The staff there were very pleasant and the service was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share you feedback about your recent stay. I am very pleased to note your positive feedback on our staff and services. We do apologise for not meeting your expectations. Currently we are in the process of renovating our guestroom bathrooms over the summer period in an effort to provide an up to date product for to all our guests.
Please do not hesitate to contact me on adam.beadon@ihg.com for any additional feedback or future assistance. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We chose to spend three nights at the Crowne Plaza because it was closer to town and we wanted to explore before going to the Shangri-La for four days of beach relaxing. We should have spent the whole time at the Crowne Plaza. Although the beach is not as nice, the service at the Crowne Plaza was way, way better and everything at the hotel was more affordable too. When we arrived, we were upgraded. When we had a problem with our dive company and the local taxis, the hotel helped sort it out and covered the costs of the extra taxis. The housekeeping staff gave us little extras. The free shuttles to the sights was useful. It was all very nice.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room on the ground floor that opened directly onto the lawn. Take one at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Many thanks for choosing Crowne Plaza Muscat and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip advisor. I am very happy to read that that you appreciated the service and found it to be excellent. We work very hard to provide this kind of service to all our guests and I am very pleased you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Perched on the bluff with a nice view, this was a great spot. Our flight left late in the evening and the staff was kind about letting us store our luggage and use the pool, beach, and showers after we checked out. Naturally we ate and drank at their poolside restaurants which were perfectly fine. It was a lovely and luxurious way to end our trip.

Room Tip: Loved having a beach view, didn't feel a need for a balcony with the pool and beach right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
It was a pleasure having you and thanks for taking the time to post your kind review. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay and found it to be “lovely and luxurious”. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed in a double bedroom with a friend for three nights in my first visit in Oman. My choise was based primarily on the price and the location since I wasn't familiar with the city.I have booked the hotel via a travel agency and the rate looked reasonable, provided that I chose a relatively famous chain hotel. The first impression at the reception was that the hotel was old.

I was offered an extremely small city view bedroom. The room was not totally refurbished to date- especially the bathroom ( wooden sliding door and no ventilation). The most dissapointing was the presentation of the breakfast and the cleanliness of the breakfast room that it was on the same floor with the pool. I noticed that there were some flies and some of the food china was not completely clean and that made me feel a bit dissapointed.

I would recommend it only for a short stay because of its location (beach hotel with good see view and close to the corniche)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to note your positive comment on our location. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations and for the inconvenience caused. Currently we are in the process of renovating our guestroom bathrooms over the summer period in an effort to provide an up to date product for to all our guests.

I have passed your comments onto Management for careful review and consideration. Please do not hesitate to contact me on adam.beadon@ihg.com for any additional feedback or future assistance. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

When selecting a hotel in Muscat I read several reviews "around" the town and decided on the Crowne Plaza and I am glad I did

The location is the first point to comment - on a bluff with not only great views but close to everything you need to be close to!

I didn't meet anyone (guests or staff that weren't happy to be there - speaking of the staff - what hospitality and service - I have stayed at many "higher rated" hotels around the world and would have difficulty identifying the level of service between them and the CP

They truly make this hotel and my stay a very pleasant one that I didn't want return home :)

I upgraded and used the lounge, which as a single female travelling alone proved to be a bonus - a place to relax and enjoy and not be hassled..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Muscat and we appreciate you taking the time to share your kind and positive review. I am very pleased to note your positive remarks about our hospitality and services and I am delighted that we were able to make your stay a very pleasant and relaxing one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Muscat and Crowne Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Muscat
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#4 Business Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Muscat is magnificently nestled at the tip of Qurum Beach with breathtaking panoramic views of the Gulf of Oman. The Crowne Plaza Muscat is ideally located a short 5 minute drive from the shopping area of Qurum, 15 minute drive from Muttrah Souk, 20 minute drive from Seeb International airport, and a 10 minute drive from the government and diplomatic districts. Set in 10 acres of lush landscaped gardens within the prestigious 'Qurum Heights' area of Muscat, the Crowne Plaza Muscat's leisure facilities offer you the ideal mix of relaxation and workout after a busy day at the office. The facilities include floodlit tennis courts, swimming pool, children's pool, squash courts, a fully equipped fitness centre and a private beach. The Crowne Plaza Muscat offers 200 elegantly appointed rooms ideal for both corporate and leisure guests. Choices of dining experiences are available in the hotels restaurants. Tropicana offering International selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Shiraz the only authentic Persian restaurant in Oman and Come Prima with pure Italian delights. Each offers outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Muscat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.