We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip Dubai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Muscat to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Muscat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Skip Dubai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

1st time in Oman and i must say what a destination.
The CP is ideally loacted at the end of the beach peninsula with its own access down to the beach. Its only a short taxi ride to the markets or the opera house ( around £5) The hotel and staff are fantasic , we had an upgraded room which faced the sea, the rooms are clean and bright with all mod cons ( even a phone by the toilet) WiFI and TV all good. The buffet and food selection are out of this world...breakfast becomes a huge meal in its self...we did try the night time buffet at around £40 each and initally was a little hestitant due to the price, but when we viewed the food we soon found the nearest table...lobester/giant prawn ( i mean giant) Oysters/ smoked samolon. the hotel boasts 3 differnt resturants and a Irish Bar in the lobby with all the latest sports chaannels on offer. Muscat and Oman are generally laid back with the locals making the tourist fell very welcome, Get their quick...

Room Tip: Sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post you kind comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to see that you had such a wonderful stay at the hotel enjoying the beach, views and great food & beverage options. Oman is a truly unique destination with a lot to offer for travelers. We hope you choose to return to visit Oman in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    428
    102
    28
    10
See reviews for
150
298
57
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

What is there not to enjoy about his hotel? The answer is simple...absolutely nothing! Apart from the stunning location overlooking its own private beach, the quality and standard of the rooms, the choice and range of delicious food, the most impressive thing of all has to be the customer service. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the hotel staff who always have a genuine smile and and desire to do everything they can...whether it's the reception staff, the pool staff, the pool bar staff or the managers. Well done to you all. Looking forward to coming back soon....and although I will still be working, this time I will even bring the wife with me!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind comments. We strive to provide the highest level of service for all our guests and I am pleased to see you experienced this during your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you along with your wife back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich, switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I've been in the Crowne Plaza 4 times, and I plan to go there .... for the rest of my life!! You are s welcome by the staff, who satisfy all your needs, answer all your questions and make your vacation a paradise event! I have nothing to complain about!! The very last time I was there in September 2013 was just a perfect holiday, so that - as always but even more this time - I couldn't resign to come back home. I had quietness, beautiful scenery, peace, good sleep, good food, it was an amazing vacation as always. And so... prepare to see me back next year!!

Room Tip: Rooms on sea view are quieter, and no AC noise. Better not choose a city view on a low level, unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review, I am very happy to see that we are your preferred hotel for all your trips to Muscat. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Here on Gulf business trip. Stayed here in April 2013, so used it again. Firstly, as somebody who likes a beer, you can drink. Be aware some hotels in Muscat are dry.

Staff are great, no fuss, however very accomodating with a ready smile. Hotel seems to have two sides to if, left and right of reception desk. I have been put both times on left. Rooms are dated and need upgrade, although, beds, linens, etc, are fine.

There is a new club lounge to the right of reception, which got me thinking the rooms on that side might well have been updated. Now as a Platinum member, I was a little miffed when I spotted this. I booked the Executive Club Package, and was told we've upgrade you to a suite. Great you may say, and without my comment above, I'd agree. However, I was put in 501, next to 502 where I stayed last time, and other than giving me a load of space, it was very dated.

As regards food, I've eaten in both the Italian and Iranian restaurants last time, and the food is fine. Because it was late, I went in the bar, which had a good crowd in with great selection of European beers.

I ordered fillet steak, medium, and sent it back twice. First time it was well done and the waiter spilt my sauce all over the plate, which at £25 made the presentation look £5 from Greasy Joes. Second time, again overcooked, and I think they gave me my fries and veg back because both were cold. Third time. Veg, fries and pepper sauce were fine, steak again cooked well done. Now as I began this princess around 9:30pm, and it was now 11:15pm, I gave up and ate it.

Overall, I will still use the CP in December as it does beer, and has nice views, I just hope if I book the Executive room, I get the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in the Bar, I have passed your comments onto Management for careful review and consideration. With regards to our rooms we currently are undergoing bathroom refurbishments on the same wing as the new Qurum Club Lounge. For any future stays please do not hesitate to contact me on adam.beadon@ihg.com as we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Crowne plaza was a great choice to stay while visiting Muscat. You get some really nice views especially during sunset. The whole atmosphere is quite relaxing. Staff was friendly and helpful.The room was nice and clean. I have really enjoyed the fact that you have access to a private beach. Would definetely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the posting your kind review and recommendation. The views are great with some of the best sunsets being seen from the hotel grounds and I am glad you got to experience them along with our friendly service. We hope you choose to return to the Crowne Plaza in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
134 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great choice for a business stay. Excellent food (breakfast and other buffet times) - with a spectacular view of the sea. Rooms are really comfortable and, even on a late summer evening, it's possible to sit outside because of the breeze that goes with the location. It's not the cheapest choice in Muscat - but worth considering, if only for an evening visit (rather than a stay) - to enjoy the super choice of buffet food - and stunning night time view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read that you got to try the breakfast along with the other food & beverage offerings we have on offer complimented by the wonderful views. We hope you to choose to return to stay with us s we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Always fresh & creative with excellent value. The variety & quality of the Buffet are outstanding, The views are the best in town,that's why we keep on visiting this superb place.
Irecomment it to all visitor that are seeking total quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to see that you continue to choose to return to stay with us in Muscat and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muscat
9.4 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#6 of 38 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Muscat Al Seeb
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Muscat
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Muscat is magnificently nestled at the tip of Qurum Beach with breathtaking panoramic views of the Gulf of Oman. The Crowne Plaza Muscat is ideally located a short 5 minute drive from the shopping area of Qurum, 15 minute drive from Muttrah Souk, 20 minute drive from Seeb International airport, and a 10 minute drive from the government and diplomatic districts. Set in 10 acres of lush landscaped gardens within the prestigious 'Qurum Heights' area of Muscat, the Crowne Plaza Muscat's leisure facilities offer you the ideal mix of relaxation and workout after a busy day at the office. The facilities include floodlit tennis courts, swimming pool, children's pool, squash courts, a fully equipped fitness centre and a private beach. The Crowne Plaza Muscat offers 200 elegantly appointed rooms ideal for both corporate and leisure guests. Choices of dining experiences are available in the hotels restaurants. Tropicana offering International selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Shiraz the only authentic Persian restaurant in Oman and Come Prima with pure Italian delights. Each offers outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Muscat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.