We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Muscat to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Muscat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Muscat
zurich, switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I've been in the Crowne Plaza 4 times, and I plan to go there .... for the rest of my life!! You are s welcome by the staff, who satisfy all your needs, answer all your questions and make your vacation a paradise event! I have nothing to complain about!! The very last time I was there in September 2013 was just a perfect holiday, so that - as always but even more this time - I couldn't resign to come back home. I had quietness, beautiful scenery, peace, good sleep, good food, it was an amazing vacation as always. And so... prepare to see me back next year!!

Room Tip: Rooms on sea view are quieter, and no AC noise. Better not choose a city view on a low level, unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review, I am very happy to see that we are your preferred hotel for all your trips to Muscat. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    349
    94
    27
    9
See reviews for
121
219
48
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Here on Gulf business trip. Stayed here in April 2013, so used it again. Firstly, as somebody who likes a beer, you can drink. Be aware some hotels in Muscat are dry.

Staff are great, no fuss, however very accomodating with a ready smile. Hotel seems to have two sides to if, left and right of reception desk. I have been put both times on left. Rooms are dated and need upgrade, although, beds, linens, etc, are fine.

There is a new club lounge to the right of reception, which got me thinking the rooms on that side might well have been updated. Now as a Platinum member, I was a little miffed when I spotted this. I booked the Executive Club Package, and was told we've upgrade you to a suite. Great you may say, and without my comment above, I'd agree. However, I was put in 501, next to 502 where I stayed last time, and other than giving me a load of space, it was very dated.

As regards food, I've eaten in both the Italian and Iranian restaurants last time, and the food is fine. Because it was late, I went in the bar, which had a good crowd in with great selection of European beers.

I ordered fillet steak, medium, and sent it back twice. First time it was well done and the waiter spilt my sauce all over the plate, which at £25 made the presentation look £5 from Greasy Joes. Second time, again overcooked, and I think they gave me my fries and veg back because both were cold. Third time. Veg, fries and pepper sauce were fine, steak again cooked well done. Now as I began this princess around 9:30pm, and it was now 11:15pm, I gave up and ate it.

Overall, I will still use the CP in December as it does beer, and has nice views, I just hope if I book the Executive room, I get the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in the Bar, I have passed your comments onto Management for careful review and consideration. With regards to our rooms we currently are undergoing bathroom refurbishments on the same wing as the new Qurum Club Lounge. For any future stays please do not hesitate to contact me on adam.beadon@ihg.com as we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Crowne plaza was a great choice to stay while visiting Muscat. You get some really nice views especially during sunset. The whole atmosphere is quite relaxing. Staff was friendly and helpful.The room was nice and clean. I have really enjoyed the fact that you have access to a private beach. Would definetely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the posting your kind review and recommendation. The views are great with some of the best sunsets being seen from the hotel grounds and I am glad you got to experience them along with our friendly service. We hope you choose to return to the Crowne Plaza in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great choice for a business stay. Excellent food (breakfast and other buffet times) - with a spectacular view of the sea. Rooms are really comfortable and, even on a late summer evening, it's possible to sit outside because of the breeze that goes with the location. It's not the cheapest choice in Muscat - but worth considering, if only for an evening visit (rather than a stay) - to enjoy the super choice of buffet food - and stunning night time view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read that you got to try the breakfast along with the other food & beverage offerings we have on offer complimented by the wonderful views. We hope you to choose to return to stay with us s we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Always fresh & creative with excellent value. The variety & quality of the Buffet are outstanding, The views are the best in town,that's why we keep on visiting this superb place.
Irecomment it to all visitor that are seeking total quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to see that you continue to choose to return to stay with us in Muscat and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This has been the hotel that I have regularly (roughly three times a year) used when visiting Muscat on business. It may now be time for a change - the hotel seems increasingly tilted towards the vacation trade.

While the staff remain friendly and helpful, the rooms in general still leave something to be desired - more like a 3* property. On this visit in particular the room was very small but at around 04.00 in the morning, I was too tired to seek a move. If a couple were travelling together, divorce might result! At it was, the wardrobe and drawer space was very limited and insufficient to hold the contents of my two cases. While there were plenty of TV channels on offer, neither CNBC or Blooberg was available. On the plus side I was able to set enough time aside to use the gym a couple of times - it is spacious and well equipped although using the headphones was not easy given the length of cord and the placement of the relevant socket. Breakfast as always was good although some grapefriut juice would be welcome. The only other outlet I used was Duke's Bar - decent food and a nice open terrace when the weather is appropriate.

Room Tip: Make sure that you find out the room size in advance - some rooms are very small with limited drawer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Rory K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note your positive feedback on our hotel staff, fitness facility and breakfast service. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seem that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room accommodation and amenities. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and you can be confident that the hotel will take necessary actions to improve our guests experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What is better than having a bit of a holiday feeling when you're on a business trip. This hotel is located at the seaside. Nobody seems to enjoy the water of the sea, though. The pool was used more extensively. The bar had a terrace overlooking the pool, making it a pleasant place to be in the hot Muscat evenings. Service is a bit slow, though. There are some good restaurants in the hotels as well. The rooms are a bit outdated, but ok. I would not mind returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a relaxed feeling at the hotel and got to enjoy some of our food & beverage offerings coupled with the great views. I have passed on your comments to management for review and consideration and we certainly do hope you choose to stay with us in the future when visiting Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#2 Family Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Muscat is magnificently nestled at the tip of Qurum Beach with breathtaking panoramic views of the Gulf of Oman. The Crowne Plaza Muscat is ideally located a short 5 minute drive from the shopping area of Qurum, 15 minute drive from Muttrah Souk, 20 minute drive from Seeb International airport, and a 10 minute drive from the government and diplomatic districts. Set in 10 acres of lush landscaped gardens within the prestigious 'Qurum Heights' area of Muscat, the Crowne Plaza Muscat's leisure facilities offer you the ideal mix of relaxation and workout after a busy day at the office. The facilities include floodlit tennis courts, swimming pool, children's pool, squash courts, a fully equipped fitness centre and a private beach. The Crowne Plaza Muscat offers 200 elegantly appointed rooms ideal for both corporate and leisure guests. Choices of dining experiences are available in the hotels restaurants. Tropicana offering International selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Shiraz the only authentic Persian restaurant in Oman and Come Prima with pure Italian delights. Each offers outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Muscat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.