We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed this Time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Muscat to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Muscat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 1455 | Ruwi, Muscat 00112, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Muscat
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed this Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This has been the hotel that I have regularly (roughly three times a year) used when visiting Muscat on business. It may now be time for a change - the hotel seems increasingly tilted towards the vacation trade.

While the staff remain friendly and helpful, the rooms in general still leave something to be desired - more like a 3* property. On this visit in particular the room was very small but at around 04.00 in the morning, I was too tired to seek a move. If a couple were travelling together, divorce might result! At it was, the wardrobe and drawer space was very limited and insufficient to hold the contents of my two cases. While there were plenty of TV channels on offer, neither CNBC or Blooberg was available. On the plus side I was able to set enough time aside to use the gym a couple of times - it is spacious and well equipped although using the headphones was not easy given the length of cord and the placement of the relevant socket. Breakfast as always was good although some grapefriut juice would be welcome. The only other outlet I used was Duke's Bar - decent food and a nice open terrace when the weather is appropriate.

Room Tip: Make sure that you find out the room size in advance - some rooms are very small with limited drawer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Rory K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note your positive feedback on our hotel staff, fitness facility and breakfast service. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seem that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room accommodation and amenities. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and you can be confident that the hotel will take necessary actions to improve our guests experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    321
    91
    27
    8
See reviews for
113
205
46
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What is better than having a bit of a holiday feeling when you're on a business trip. This hotel is located at the seaside. Nobody seems to enjoy the water of the sea, though. The pool was used more extensively. The bar had a terrace overlooking the pool, making it a pleasant place to be in the hot Muscat evenings. Service is a bit slow, though. There are some good restaurants in the hotels as well. The rooms are a bit outdated, but ok. I would not mind returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a relaxed feeling at the hotel and got to enjoy some of our food & beverage offerings coupled with the great views. I have passed on your comments to management for review and consideration and we certainly do hope you choose to stay with us in the future when visiting Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The recently upgraded lounge facilities are wonderful. All day snacks, cappuccinos and free drinks from 6-8 daily. You can have enough to avoid having to buy meals if you like.
The executive level room we have is lovely, everything brand new.
We have enjoyed the position and the delightful staff, especially the executive lounge staff. No negatives from us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to see that you got to experience our newly opened Qurum Club Lounge, it certainly is a wonderful facility with many offerings. We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to Muscat in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Charlotte at the check in to the outstanding help and "over and above" assistance from Mr Meslum and Aakash in fixing a challenging conundrum with finesse, to the views from the room, the great fitness center and its staff and good food and service we re received - I highly recommend your stay in Oman is at this hotel.
Keith and Hazel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review Keith and Hazel. I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel supported by our great staff, I have passed your kind comments onto each of them that you have mentioned. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

One of the best medium priced hotels in Muscat. Great hilltop location with great views towards the South and West across the beach. Nice poolside bar and restaurant with very good pork spare ribs. The private beach is accessible down some steps, and it is a short walk across the beach (and a short paddle at high tide) to a Starbucks and other good value eateries

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. The location is certainly wonderful with great views, the pork ribs are delicious and one of my favorites. I am pleased to read that you and your family had a good time and got to enjoy the facilities and beach. We hope you and your family choose to return to stay with us as we looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, but it is quite expensive. It has several restaurants and a poolside bar. The rooms are nice and clean.
At the poolside and on the hotel beach you are able to wear a bikini without drawing any unwanted attention to you. At low tide you are able to walk from the hotel beach to the "normal" beach. I would avoid wearing any "revealing" or western dress on the normal beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a good stay with us and that you got to enjoy the hotels pool facilities. We hope you choose to return to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for the Eid holidays from 8th Aug and checked out on the 12th Aug.

The not so good:

We (two couples) had booked 2 standard double rooms for 3 nights stay at the hotel. And what a huge disappointment when we entered the room (rooms 307 adn 308). The room was cramped - we felt like staying in a room meant for single occupancy. And there was the smell of dampness, and dust seemed to be suspended in the air. We voiced our concern the next day, and, to our relief, the room was thoroughly cleaned, much to our satisfaction, accompanied by a regret letter !

We met one Mr. Ali who was quite kind to hear our greivances, but there was nothing that could be done about the room. A lesson for us to check out the size of the room in advance. The hotel is also in renovation and we were informed that once it was over, there would be good sized rooms available.

When we wanted to extend for a day more, Ms. Neil, upgraded us to the executive room, at the rate of the standard double room (no additional cost) and the room was far superior and met our expectations.

Apart from that, the flush does not seem to be in good condition as the sewage water seeps in and discolours it (even in the executive room). A smell persists and this does not befit a 4 star hotel.

There are minor faults like small stains on doors patched ceilings and rusted (and showing) corners in the bathroom.

The good:

This hotel has a stunning view and an excellent private beach. Not to mention the pool facilities. Do spend some time at the beach should you stay at the hotel.

The service was prompt and good and we were always greeted by the hotel staff wherever we met. Hospitality was overwhelming.

The hotel arranged a nice cake and fruit accompaniments for a surprise birthday celebrations and delivered to us at midnight ! Very nice gesture indeed.

We did not use the dining facilities in the hotel and so cannot comment on that.

Overall:

Nice hotel and worth a stay for its view, service, friendly staff and the beach. This is perfect if you are ok with small double rooms or perhaps a single traveller, but if you are the type that prefers a larger room, check out the room size first.

The third friend who came with us for the trip stayed in Tulip Inn at Khawair and he got a one bedroom apartment at less than the standard double room rate at the CP, Muscat.

Room Tip: Seaview executive rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I have passed on your comments to management with regards to the bathroom for careful consideration and review. Currently we are undergoing bathroom refurbishments which will remove all issues that you faced so we hope you choose to return to stay with us in the future as we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Address: P.O. Box 1455 | Ruwi, Muscat 00112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Muscat is magnificently nestled at the tip of Qurum Beach with breathtaking panoramic views of the Gulf of Oman. The Crowne Plaza Muscat is ideally located a short 5 minute drive from the shopping area of Qurum, 15 minute drive from Muttrah Souk, 20 minute drive from Seeb International airport, and a 10 minute drive from the government and diplomatic districts. Set in 10 acres of lush landscaped gardens within the prestigious 'Qurum Heights' area of Muscat, the Crowne Plaza Muscat's leisure facilities offer you the ideal mix of relaxation and workout after a busy day at the office. The facilities include floodlit tennis courts, swimming pool, children's pool, squash courts, a fully equipped fitness centre and a private beach. The Crowne Plaza Muscat offers 200 elegantly appointed rooms ideal for both corporate and leisure guests. Choices of dining experiences are available in the hotels restaurants. Tropicana offering International selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Shiraz the only authentic Persian restaurant in Oman and Come Prima with pure Italian delights. Each offers outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Muscat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.