We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star staff. perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Muscat to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Muscat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Muscat
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“5 star staff. perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

this hotel is fantastic, our sea view room was clean and cool and had everything we needed. A short walk down to a small private beach, where a swim in the warm clear blue sea is perfect. The pool is wonderful, the hotel grounds and gardens are clean, well maintained and to sit having lunch over looking the ocean surrounded by palm trees was a treat.The breakfast buffet is outstanding, dinner options good. would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Kor,
Many thanks for your wonderful comments. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our restaurants while taking in the surrounding views. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Muscat in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    352
    94
    27
    9
See reviews for
123
219
48
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here with my family in Easter time. Nice hotel on top of a rock with a good view. Nice secluded beach so I didnt feel out of place wondering around in a bikini. Rooms are a little outdated and could do with a revamp, but overall a good time. Absolutely boiling (37degrees celius) most days so i would seek relief in the freezing air conditioned gym where there is unlimited free supply of cold water.

Overall a good time! Nice to have dinner on the terrace looking over the pool and sea.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am glad that you had a good stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during El Adha Feast break (October 2012). We arrived there after a long drive from Riyadh and it was worth it. The hotel is built on a sea cliff next to a quiet residential area and overlooks sea bay with a Cornish strip great location for having a realxed walk at any time (day or night). Food at the main restaurant is outstanding for its quality. They feature two special buffets over the week-ends, the butcher buffet and sea food buffet also live jazz band but not on every night. Staff at recepition were very helpful and welcoming. The only problem with the hotel is getting old and needs an interior facelift but still well maintained. Overall, is a great beark to stay away from the hassle and bustle of life.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the sea side and make sure it has a balcony (some don't).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Hany,
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed the great food on offer in Tropicana our main restaurant. The Butchers Night and Seafood evenings are well received and I am glad that you got to enjoy them during your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A lack of offer of hotels in Muscat seems to be the driver for the comparably high prices. I had a standard room, that felt quite dated and was on the lower level facing a pile of earth that led to the parking area. The aircondition was kind of loud and it was not easy to put the right temperature. Service at the hotel was good though and I have to say that the breakfast offer was very good with a lot of variety on the buffet. Next time in Muscat I'll try a different hotel anyways.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors with a view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Gerrit,
Many thanks for your comments. I have shared your review with the relevant departments for careful consideration. Certainly the sea view rooms are great as we have one of the best views in Oman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend after driving from home in the UAE.

The hotel is easy to find right on the cliff top at Qurm, overlooking the beaches. An excellent location that makes the Crowne Plaza stand apart from a lot of its competitors. There is no valet parking (strange after the UAE) but a large car park and people to help with bags when you get near the lobby.

Check-in was quick and efficient even though we had arrived a couple of hours before the official check-in time they gave us a room straight away. We were upgraded to a sea view room on the 3rd floor. The room was well furnished if a little small and a little dated but the amazing view easily made up for those shortcomings.

We headed straight to the pool area to relax after a long drive. The pool isn't huge but there is loads of space/sunloungers around the pool and on the lawns from which to enjoy the view over the cliff and over the bay. There are steps down to a private beach in a small cove but we didn't try that as the tide was only in for swimming in the mornings. In the afternoons the tide took the sea far out with a lot of sand bars so no scope for swimming later in the day.

The first night after a drink in the hotel bar enjoying the terrace with the same views we dined in Shiraz, in Iranian restaurant. Living in the UAE we are used to eating Iranian food regularly and this was some of the best we've ever tried. Not cheap but highly recommended. You can eat on the terrace in the cool winter weather (in summer it will be too hot) and enjoy the evening breeze and the city's lights.

The second night we tried the international buffet restaurant on the lower floor. The food was good but it was nothing on Shiraz. They were very generous with the portions of steak and lamb, cooked freshly on the BBQ. We ate fairly late and the large restaurant and terrace were quiet by then which meant the atmostphere wasn't as good. Wished we'd tried the Italian upstairs next to Shiraz which I expect would have been move lively. Anyway will try that next time.

Have stayed at a couple of other similar hotels in Muscat, including most recent the Intercon, and the Crowne Plaza stands out as by far the best. Will definitely plan another visit during this winter.

Room Tip: get a sea view room - the higher floor the better to be away from the pool (which can be noisy) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Jim,
Thank you for your comments; we are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our location certainly is a key point with the hotel offering some of the best views in the city. Shiraz our Iranian restaurant had recently re-opened after refurbishment and I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed it. As for our Italian restaurant Come Pima most certainly do try it during your next stay as it too is wonderful. Look forward to welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Muscat in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

4 point review:
-Great location on a hilltop by the sea. You couldnt ask for better views. There is a restaurant, bar and swimming pool where you can enjoy these views the most and a private beach access
-The hotel is old and its showing, however the aged look goes with the rest of the location and the property is reasonably well maintained
-Service levels are good and in line with expectations. Restaurant options are also ok, the Duke's bar is a favorite with expats here
- Banquet facilties are amongst the best in Oman and it is well suited for a medium sized conference

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Ishti,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are quite right the views from the restaurants and pool are stunning. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Muscat very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The staff make this hotel, they were friendly, welcoming and helpful throughout my stay. The very efficient reception and concierge staff deserve a special mention. The location is superb, with excellent views at night and by day. The hotel has a range of sports facilities and very well maintained grounds. The building itself is a little tired and dated in places, but that is more than compensated by the service. Good value specials on the bar menu, which is available on the adjacent terrace which is pleasantly cool in the evenings.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Maurice,
Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. We certainly do have a great location which makes our hotel unique. As for our staff and service we certainly strive to achieve this level of service and I am glad that you experienced this at our hotel. I hope that you will visit us again soon in Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#2 Family Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Muscat is magnificently nestled at the tip of Qurum Beach with breathtaking panoramic views of the Gulf of Oman. The Crowne Plaza Muscat is ideally located a short 5 minute drive from the shopping area of Qurum, 15 minute drive from Muttrah Souk, 20 minute drive from Seeb International airport, and a 10 minute drive from the government and diplomatic districts. Set in 10 acres of lush landscaped gardens within the prestigious 'Qurum Heights' area of Muscat, the Crowne Plaza Muscat's leisure facilities offer you the ideal mix of relaxation and workout after a busy day at the office. The facilities include floodlit tennis courts, swimming pool, children's pool, squash courts, a fully equipped fitness centre and a private beach. The Crowne Plaza Muscat offers 200 elegantly appointed rooms ideal for both corporate and leisure guests. Choices of dining experiences are available in the hotels restaurants. Tropicana offering International selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Shiraz the only authentic Persian restaurant in Oman and Come Prima with pure Italian delights. Each offers outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Muscat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.