We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great, among my favorite hotels: Crowne Plaza, Muscate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Muscat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 1455 | Ruwi, Muscat 00112, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Muscat
zurich, switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really great, among my favorite hotels: Crowne Plaza, Muscate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I was there again in October 2011, and my expectations were more than satisfied. Very nice staff, in and around the hotel/beach/taxi station; I was offered my first breakfast (as I had booked room only), clean*****, silent ***** (best is 4th floor, coz there is a restaurant on the 1st floor with view on the sea, the beach, the city.... absolutely amazing!!!!!) - Remember to book of possible with sea view - when you wake up you see the tide.... don't hear a noise.... Internet wireless, friendly staff, the sea, sun, fishes.... oases... what more do you want???

Room Tip: 4th floor with sea view.... you pay but you know what you have
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Indira

I am delighted that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    311
    89
    26
    8
See reviews for
110
200
43
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed with our family in the crowne plaza muscat after staying 2 nights in crowne plaza sohar which was almost brand new. Cp muscat is an older hotel and that shows. The familyrooms are on the ground floor with one extreme large bed. Ground floor means you cannot leave your window or door open at night. We asked for an alternative room and got a perfect service and room. The hotel has 5 restaurants. We tried tropicana which was very good for a buffetrestaurant. Pool is heated in winter. The pool for the smallest childern was not heated which meant a difference of 10 degrees celsius. Food and drinks are expensive for Omani level. Best need a car to visit some places in the country. If you book your room through the intercontinentalsite you can get packages including diner.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

We booked a sea view room for 2 nights. When we checked-in, we were told we had actually booked 3 rooms! Worse, that the payment for 3 rooms had already been debited on our credit card!!
Fortunately we had the reservation confirmation with us, confirming it was for just 1 room.
Their first reaction was to say we had made a mistake in the booking (which could have of course been the case), but with the confirmation in hand, it was difficult for them to prove otherwise. However they kept on blaming us and stating the amount was non refundable. A nice welcoming check-in!

We immediately checked with American Express and they confirmed our card had indeed been debited for 3 times the same payment!!

It now took us 24 hours to have the Duty Manager confirm the payments would be reimbursed - she confirmed we actually made a mistake in the booking, although she could not provide any evidence of such... And was unable to explain why then we only receive 1 email confirmation for just 1 room...

Apart from that 'little' encounter,
The sea room was comfy, but the sea view is ruined by disgusting windows... Yeeewww...
Not at all the standard of other hotels within the InterCon group. We are extremely disappointed by the overall stay at this hotel.

There are plenty of other nicer hotels in town. Before coming to the Crowne Plaza and before some trekking offroad Muscat, we stayed at the Radisson Blu - excellent hotel, top service and excellent food.
Avoid the Crowne Plaza if you can - or at least do not pick an early rate room with advance payment like we did...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for your note regarding your booking with us at the Crowne Plaza Muscat. I believe that we have already responded too, and resolved your comments via alternative channels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza mid-November 2011. The location of the hotel was superb, great views over the bay and the sunsets were fantastic.The pool was good, good set-up with the pool bar. We didn't use the beach as there were a lot of dead fish washed up on the beach. Dukes bar was a great place for food in the evening, the staff here were friendly and accommodating and the prices were reasonable. Taxis were expensive so having a good restaurant in the hotel was a real plus point.

However, we stayed on points, my other half is a Platinum member (in fact he gets a Christmas card each year from the IHG group saying he's in the top 2% of members, he spends more nights in Holiday Inns than home). ON arrival (at 4am in the morning) we got told we had been upgraded to a sea view room. The room itself was nice, we had an end room with a large balcony. We thought it odd we'd not been told about the executive lounge so the following day we asked at priority guest relations. We got told that we did not have lounge access because we had already been given an upgrade. We found the staff on the guest relations condescending, an attribute most of the front of house staff seemed to have. Unfortunately this experience left a bitter taste in our mouths, we've since had an apology from the hotel manager but no one seemed able or willing to sort it out when we were there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts on our hotel and your recent stay with us. I also thank you for being a member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group Priority Club loyalty programme. Members of Priority Club are offered many benefits, the most popular being the free room category upgrade. As you mention you were upgraded to a standard sea view room, having reserved a standard city view room.

During your stay with us the hotel was extremely busy as it was the Christmas period. As such our club lounge was already full with our club room guests. The lounge has a capacity placed onto it in order to ensure that we are able to deliver a high service level. There was simply no space to be able to accommodate additional guests in the lounge, without compromising on service. I am sure that, as a frequent traveler, you appreciate the importance of service and our desire to ensure that these are maintained

None the less, I have passed your feedback onto our Front Office Manager in order that she may address our response times directly with her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

It is true, the rooms are really old and worn, but clean. The common areas are nice, not great. Staying here made a long weekend in Muscat affordable for our family of 4 as we weren't willing to pay the high prices at the Ritz, Chedi or Shangrala for 2 rooms. Was it worth it, yes. Would we stay there again no. But we saw Muscat at an affordable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I have advised all of our team of your positive comments regarding our staff. It is true that we are extremely fortunate to be able to offer a traditional friendly Omani stay for our guests. I am sorry that you may not stay with us again, Should this alter then we certainly will look forward to welcoming you – we do offer larger family rooms on the lower ground floor with direct garden access that may suit your needs better than 2 separate rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel. Like most of the reviews, it's difficult to find fault. The staff are excellent, food is plentiful and varied. My room was a standard with a sea view...would have preferred a balcony but can't blame the hotel for that. Would highly recommend! Oh, and that sea view....spectacular. And see the photo of the sunset...where else would you get this! A reet treat for a Yorkshire lad.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Peter

Thank you so much for your comments, it was a pleasure to meet you during your recent stay with us in Muscat and I hope that you will be travelling back soon.

I have passed your comments onto the team here – and once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Recent business trip, stayed for the second time at the Hotel; and again, nothing negative to say; comfortable, clean, attentive staff, nice poolside and private beach area, great restaurants, plenty of staff to help at reception. All staff, whether porters, housekeeping, poolside, very friendly. Club room, so use of excellent club lounge which sometimes was a bit crowded at happy hour, but we were a large party. Would recommend unreservedly. And what a good time of year to go...weather brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and even more so that you are a regular guest of the Crowne Plaza. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and your right – the Sea View Rooms with Balconies are great – especially at Sunset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Address: P.O. Box 1455 | Ruwi, Muscat 00112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Muscat is magnificently nestled at the tip of Qurum Beach with breathtaking panoramic views of the Gulf of Oman. The Crowne Plaza Muscat is ideally located a short 5 minute drive from the shopping area of Qurum, 15 minute drive from Muttrah Souk, 20 minute drive from Seeb International airport, and a 10 minute drive from the government and diplomatic districts. Set in 10 acres of lush landscaped gardens within the prestigious 'Qurum Heights' area of Muscat, the Crowne Plaza Muscat's leisure facilities offer you the ideal mix of relaxation and workout after a busy day at the office. The facilities include floodlit tennis courts, swimming pool, children's pool, squash courts, a fully equipped fitness centre and a private beach. The Crowne Plaza Muscat offers 200 elegantly appointed rooms ideal for both corporate and leisure guests. Choices of dining experiences are available in the hotels restaurants. Tropicana offering International selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Shiraz the only authentic Persian restaurant in Oman and Come Prima with pure Italian delights. Each offers outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Muscat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.