We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waves International Hotel

Waves International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waves International Hotel to your Saves list
Waves International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dohat Al Adab Street, Al Khuwair | behind Al Zawawi Mosque, Muscat, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Muscat
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Modern rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for one night on business, and was impressed with the quality of the modern room I stayed in. From the outside the hotel looks older in style, however rooms have been reonvated to new four star standards. Very comfortable bed, excellent shower and bathroom. Good speed WiFi access. The hotel offers a main restaurant, Omani restaurant, and a cafe with sheesha service and outside seating. Only had the chance to try our the main restaurant for breakfast, and this was of standard and quality expected with good variety. The location is very handy, near the airport, and within easy access to many key areas of Muscat. Service was friendly and helpful, the porter ran to get my room key when it was left at reception on checkin, and also staff contacted me the next day to inform I had left my passport at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Due to business reasons I have been travelling frequently to Muscat, staying at the Waves Intl.
Since beginning of the year, the service has declined both on arrival and during the stay.
Reception staff is poorly trained in handling a check in and not welcoming or hospitable. Did not greet on arrival, nor wish a good stay.
Breakfast has a very poor selection and is now the main point for not coming back.
Wifi now available in the rooms, very good.
Small cafe on the ground floor is very nice, staff are friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rijeka
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel is friendly , with a very large room . Ideal for visiting Muscat. Nice tea room , decoration of the 60's with best chicha in town.
Only drawback is the breakfast : not suited for europeans, but arabs only, limited bread , hardly any fruits and the coffee is not good ! Need to be corrected.
Wifi worked fine and is free of charge even in the room .
No major complains , but would be advisable to train the receptionnists , they seems to be lost and cannot cope with tourists .....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Waves hotel.

The rooms are new and comfortable. Internet is available in the rooms, but I could not connect to the wifi network, I needed a wire (which the hotel provided).

The breakfastbuffet is very good. We didn't have dinner in hotel.
Parking is available free of charge in front of the hotel, but it can be full when you arrive late in the evening because the nearby shops and restaurants are open.

I left one of my shirts in the hotelroom. The staff was very helpfull and sent it to my home adress.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Was here on the 16th of April, 2012. Stop over at Muscat for 10 hours on Oman Air. Was put up by the airlines at this hotel. A new building with good rooms, well furnished double rooms, with a large bathroom. Very clean and well maintained. Got to stay here only a few hours, but really enjoyed the stay. Front desk and restuarant staff polite and helpful. A vast selection for lunch (Buffet), both Arabic and European menu to choose from. The Arabic pastries were delightful. Stayed at room 211, facing the next building. If it wasn't for this, everything else about my stay was good.

Room Tip: Book/ask for a room facing the main avenue. If not you will be left seeing the next building from yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Booked myself in Waves International as a recommendation from a B&B I was trying to get into...
Although still skeptical, I was quite happy with the hotel & the hospitality.
Check-in was easy, rooms were ready when I got in & staff ever so helpful any time of the day or night.
The Hotel was an easy find from the airport prepaid taxi service & the hotel being relatively new, it was pretty good. Good size bed for the superior room and as commented by a fellow reviewer here, I wasn't a big fan of the pillows. To hard...
Loved the fact the hotel has a decent little sheesha bar downstairs... weather was sill alright to sit outside & the food was good.
Personally thanks to the Guest Relations Manager : Ameen, who had been really helpful from the minute I got off the cab, till I checked out.

Overall, would recommend it as a budget hotel. Centrally located, a few shops and restaurants around,,,& easy access to get a taxi anytime as well.

Room Tip: Suggest inquiring about rooms prior arrival. Otherwise, you tend to get a "grilled" view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We just needed a room in Muscat for a night, chose Waves pretty much based on price. Check-in was easy with friendly staff. Room was clean and good size.

Had dinner in the restaurant...by the looks of it, I was sure it was going to disappoint, but I was wrong. My wife and I both had very tasty meals. Overall, not bad, we feel like we made a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waves International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves International Hotel

Address: Dohat Al Adab Street, Al Khuwair | behind Al Zawawi Mosque, Muscat, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Waves International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.