We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bunch of Liars” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eastin Residences Muscat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eastin Residences Muscat to your Saves list
Eastin Residences Muscat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot No. 9, Building No. 312, Way No. 65 | Near Al Maha Petrol Pump, Al Hail North, Muscat, Oman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Muscat
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bunch of Liars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I wish I had gone thru the reviews before deciding to stay in this hotel. The front desk people are a bunch of liars who will say something to you before you come and after you come and will totally change all the statements at the time of check out. I booked a three bed room. On arrival during the eid rush, I was told that the room assigned to us is locked and we'll hand you the room in 2 hrs so you can rest in another room. This one was not an actual bed room but a living room converted with two beds thrown. We were told later that the manager has the key and we'll offer you to stay in the current room at a discount. Since no other option was available, we agreed to take the offer. However, to our surprise, at the time of checkout, the front desk did not provide us with the agreed discount. So just watch out the next time you check in this hotel.

Room Tip: One view is a dirty beach and the other is a heap of debris, make your pick!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biju P, General Manager at Eastin Residences Muscat, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Greetings from Eastin Residences.

We thank you for your feedback.

We would like to inform you that you were booked for a Studio room and not a 2 bedroom apartment.(we do not have 3 bedroom apartments as mentioned in your review)
Since we were unable to provide you with the Studio room due to unexpected extensions of stay we had offered you the Standard room at a 35% discount on the rate which you paid for the studio even though the difference in rate between the two room categories is 20%.

You had mentioned you were happy with the room and even the next day when we offered to change your room to a Studio , you refused saying the Standard room was good.

Apologize for any inconvenience caused and look forward to welcome you back when you are next in Muscat

Biju Palet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    22
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
19
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The stench of the rotting room was about to kill me when I entered the room for the first time but after that the service men cleaned every thing and spred perfume.The location was poor because it was in the middle of nothing.
The Wi-fi connection was so poor that I couldn't even chat on face book but the service was so good and the service men were really kind ,nice ,and helpful.The breakfast wasn't that good the first three days I ate from every single thing but after that when I saw the food my stomach turned and I felt like vomiting. They had beans ,pancakes ,fries and cereals.the last three days I just had cereals.The worst thing about the hotel ever that it had sharing area between rooms like every three rooms had a sink , a dining table .Every time I open my door I see the neighbors sitting and eating or wearing there shoes and this is so tactless.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biju P, General Manager at Eastin Residences Muscat, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Greetings from Eastin Residences

We thank you for your valuable feedback .

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

You were booked for the Standard room and some of our standard rooms have a common area for 3 rooms to use.

Have noted your comments on the WIFI connectivity and Breakfast and assure you with the best connectivity and service on your future visits.

We look forward to welcome you back when you are next in Muscat.

Biju Palet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I booked this place as a midpoint stopover on a long journey from Ras al Hadd to Dubai. It seemed to have it all: decent rooms and facilities and a fair price. When we booked, 24 hours before arrival, my wife explicitly asked about the pool facility and we were told that there was one and that we could use it. In our decision to book, that was the decisive factor.

24 hours later, we arrived. First impressions - right beside the hotel is a construction site.
We checked in without issues, though no one offered to assist us with our bags.
We got to the room and it smelled stale. When we looked outside the window, three floors down there was a huge heap of trash and debris.

We decided straight away, ten minutes after entering the room, to look at what was called the "Pool and Restaurant Bar". Up we went to the appropriate floor. We found the "bar and pool" area to be devoid of furniture to the such an extent that it echoed and seemed like a semi-complete new build. The pool had no water and a few people who looked like workmen were walking around.

We went down to the receptionist and told him of our disappointment. He shrugged his shoulders, made an excuse, and told us we could leave if we liked. He didn't offer to incentivise us to stay by reducing the price even when we asked, because the hotel was not as advertised. Neither did he apologize, even when we said we explicitly mentioned the pool when making the reservation 24hrs earlier.

We decided to eat in the groundfloor restaurant before departing and were just about to order when the receptionist walked over to us and asked us to remove our bags from the room. At this point we decided to not give them a single riyal and got up to leave.

We fetched our bags and just as we were about to exit, I asked for the manager. The receptionist at first just said that the manager wasn't there. I had to ask for the manager's name. I then told the receptionist that he could have at least let us eat before asking us to remove our bags, at which point he raised his voice to me.

A shambolic experience from a shambolic, isolated, facilities-deficient establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biju P, General Manager at Eastin Residences Muscat, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Greetings from Eastin Residences

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your visit to the hotel.

The swimming pool was closed for regular maintenance and so was unavailable for use.

We have taken note of the points you have mentioned and would take necessary steps to see that it does not re occur.

We once again apologize and look forward to have you stay with us to recognize the changes.

Biju Palet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good Stay

I am sure that this is by far the best hotel you can find in Muscat - everything is just perfect!

The location is pretty good, close to the airport and the beach,what else do you need.The hotel is brand new. The rooms are spacious and very clean Good Breakfast spread at the restaurant. They have a wonderful pool and Gym to add to it..The staffs were very friendly at the restaurant and front area.

Wifi is complimentary but at times does not connect..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biju P, General Manager at Eastin Residences Muscat, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Greetings from Eastin Residences

We thank you for your valuable feedback and the positive responses

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and also liked our standards and services.

Have noted your comments on the WIFI connectivity and assure you with the best connectivity on your future visits.

We look forward to welcome you back when you are next in Muscat.

Biju Palet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very good hotel and so quiet.
I do recommend staying in it for any visitor to Muscat, as its nearby to the airport and downtown as well. In general the hotel services was amazing and very experienced and welcoming receptionists.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biju P, General Manager at Eastin Residences Muscat, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Greetings from Eastin Residences.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you back again when you are next in Muscat.

Biju Palet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The rooms are small
The value is high
The service is good
The location is not to bad
The cleanliness is very good
Overall I think its a good hotel for families and married people because its located in a quite place

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biju P, General Manager at Eastin Residences Muscat, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Greetings from Eastin Residences Muscat

We thank you for your valuable feedback and the positive responses

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and also liked our services and cleanliness..

We look forward to welcome you back when you are next in Muscat.

Biju Palet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Room was sparse, smell of curry was almost over powering and very noisy from other guests. Location was in the middle of nowhere and seemed to be in the middle of a building site.

The Staff on the other hand were exceedingly helpful and went out of their way to help me with a phone issue I had. The breakfast was chicken nuggets and beans.....disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biju P, General Manager at Eastin Residences Muscat, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Greetings from Eastin Residences Muscat

We thank you for your valuable feedback and apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We do have a wide spread for Breakfast but nevertheless have taken note of your requirements.

Thank you for your positive comments on our staffs and service, and look forward to welcome you back when you are next in Muscat.

Biju Palet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastin Residences Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Residences Muscat

Address: Plot No. 9, Building No. 312, Way No. 65 | Near Al Maha Petrol Pump, Al Hail North, Muscat, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastin Residences Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Residences Muscat is located on the beach road connecting Al-Seeb and Al Athaiba in the north of Muscat. The Seeb Corniche and beaches within walking distance as well as its close proximity to Muscat International Airport makes it one of the prime areas and favorite locations for business and leisure travelers. The Eastin Residences is only 10 minutes driving distance from Muscat International Airport, 10 minutes from Oman's largest shopping mall and 5 minutes from the WAVE tourism project and a 18 hole internationally designed golf course by Greg Norman in the near future. All 50 residences consist of spacious bedrooms and some rooms with separate living areas, excellent quality furniture, a kitchenette, bathrooms with deluxe amenities and free internet access. Other facilities include a rooftop swimming pool, gym, two restaurants and bar, two meeting rooms and business center. Our accommodation and facilities are suitable for guests who want comfort and convenience at the right price with maximum flexibility and space as well as consistency in service delivery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Eastin Residences Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastin Residences Muscat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.