We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No smoking please” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samara Hotel

Samara Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Samara Hotel to your Saves list
Samara Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Khuwair Street, Muscat, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Muscat
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“No smoking please”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Everything was fine..location..close to airport...although not many restaurants around. Rooms clean, comfortable bed, quiet area...slept well. But the one thing that spoiled all the good was smoke from another room that filtered through the ventilation system and forced us to close the bathroom door. They should be more vigilant about the smoking policy.Remember breakfast not incl. in price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    53
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
27
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
poznan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It's a good hotel for stay for 1 night when you arrive late from the airport. The surrounding is boring, hotel also, but very clean, cheap and with friendly staff. The location is in the middle between the old center and the airport. Generally Muscat is a city to stay for max 2 days,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very good location, reasonable price, delicious breakfast, nice staff.


We had a lovely stay at Samara Hotel for a week. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and our luggage was carried up the rooms. The rooms were very clean and we had nothing to complain. The breakfast was really nice.
the location is great at the central of the city, the hotel helped us to rent a car.
We will definitively come back to Muscat and stay at Samara hotel again.
Stayed April 2013, travelled with family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The stay at the Samara Hotel was absolutely dreadful. The room had flourescent lighting, bugs, and the check out staff members were unpleasant. Advoid this place.

The wifi is turned off daily at midnight and does not resume until 9 AM.

Room Tip: No noise but the room was horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

i was debating between staying here and ibis down the street and was very happy with my decision to stay at samara hotel. my girlfriend and i stayed here for 4 nights on a trip to muscat which was half business half leisure. the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the room was great. we asked the staff to help us rent a car at the last minute, and within an hour, a car was delivered to the hotel and the rate was as low as any of the other rates i had found. the rental company also picked up the car from our hotel. the restaurant and room service were pretty good, and the location was pretty good as well, as it's right in the middle of a bunch of hotels surrounded by restaurants. the wifi was good as well. all in all, we were highly satisfied with our stay and would recommend to anyone staying for either business and leisure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We took up the hotel during our 4 day visit to Muscat in Feb 2013. The hotel is an avg B&B type hotel with an affordable pricing. The location of the hotel (Al Khuwair) is apt for visitors as there are lots of restaurants in the vicinity and the Grand Mall at a walking distance from the Hotel (10 mins max); moreover the hotel is easily accessible from the highway.

However, the hotel is a notch lower than the other hotel - Rotana (which is right behind it) in terms of looks and rooms.

Samara provides you a feeling of going into a typical B&B inns. The usual breakfast was disappointing though; however, my wife's friendship with the Chef played to our favour and we got a delightful breakfast on the last day.

Overall, the hotel is an avg. stay but if you are ready to shell a few more then take up Rotana/ Tulip Inn/ Ibis/ Platinum which are located at a small distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Room was fine but shame about the ugly fluorescent tube lights.
Good to have free wifi even if the daily log on codes did not always work. Signal just about reached my bedroom (3rd floor). Having to change codes daily seemed unnecessary.

Service was mediocre and the waiters' English was not good which meant orders were mixed up.

But it is a good value hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Hotel

Address: Al Khuwair Street, Muscat, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Samara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Samara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.