We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start but ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kurkum

Kurkum
corniche | corniche, Muscat 117, Oman
24714114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 178 restaurants in Muscat
Cuisines: Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Kurkum (Telephone: 24714114) is new Indian restaurant in Mattrah
Haneffe
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good start but ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The atmosphere is great, lovely little candles, spotless place and so and so
We had a starter which was excellent, and a welcome drink based on rose flavour, very sweet and tasty.
So far, so good, then came the main....
If the portions are generous, it wasnt as Nice as the starter and with just 2 drinks each, we paid toooooooooooooo much money for what it was. Horrendous comes to mind...
Now dont get me wrong, we dont mind to pay money for good food but when the quality is not there, that just drive us mad.
So we came to the conclusion that it was a place for rich cruisers and that we wont go back again. if the food can be a lack of luck, we re still cheewing on the money we spent !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    55
    19
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
muscat, oman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“new foods on the way?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

While the old favourites will stay there appears to be plans afoot to tweak the menu a bit. The other afternoon I was given the chance to try one of the proposed new additions lemon and apricot pie. At first thought this might seem an odd combination but boy, was it tasty!
As ever the service cannot be faulted and decor ever changing, like the views from the windows.
A pleasure, as always, to eat there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

simply the best this is exactly what I said at the end of my meal at the renowned fashionable Kurkum restaurant, Matrah Corniche, Muscat Oman. The experience at Kurkum restaurant is a hedonistic mix of wonderful view of Matrah harbour where the lights from the moving?? moored?? ships dance on the surface of its water. It really was a great experience , a mix of international music, exquisite and simply prepared fresh food which can not be faulted in any way. Add to this the art adorning the long wall of the room as well as beautiful vases and of course the best are the two sculptures made of white Omani marble by the great and renowned Ecuadorian sculptor Marco Polo; they sit quietly , their heads covered with beautiful fashionable French silk scarves , they gave one an overall feeling of elation as well as of serenity. There is nothing more I can add to what I have just said of this restaurant except try it and experience for yourself these aspects which I have described . From the flying bird of Knightsbridge London .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location of the restaurant is perfect. The ambiance was pleasant. For vegetarians like us, there wasn't much of a choice. The prices seemed to be a bit on the higher side.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was invited to this restaurant with family and friends and although I'm not really used to eating Indian food, I thought the selection of dishes were all absolutely delicious. It's a lovely little restaurant and the service was outstanding! I loved it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kurkum also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Kurkum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurkum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.