We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On this visit, not one of the best.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ubhar Bistro

Ubhar Bistro
Bareeq Al Shatti (Al Kharijiyah St.), Shatti Al Qurm, Muscat, Oman
0096898765555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 205 Restaurants in Muscat
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Moroccan, Seafood, Bistro, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“On this visit, not one of the best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We chose this restaurant from trip advisor and I must say I was disappointed, to believe that this is an authentic Omani restaurant is a big jump.

The service was a little slow and haphazard, but hey ho.

The range of squeezed juice drinks were great, but did take their time coming despite the restaurant being not busy.

My wife and I both chose separate meal choices and both my wifes choices were quite good, but a Omani seafood soup with vegetable and prawn wontons served with a shot of rice?? All in all it was a showy food joint purporting to be an authentic Omani eatery.

It was also quite expensive, would I go back, well yes every one deserves a second chance, but there are many other places to go before I would go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    56
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is the place to be for authentic Omani food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

They're food is so good. Loved the it from main course to desert.. cozy place too! A must visit restaurant when in Oman

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Omani fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was great to be able to dine in a restaurant not part of a hotel. The waiter was able to give us more details and answer our questions about the meals. They were also very accommodating of our children's constant requests for more bread. We had the camel biryani, which was an interesting choice. Be sure to make a reservation in advance, as the place does get fully booked.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Fancy modern place. They have spent a lot of money on air-condition so bring a warm sweater. Don't miss the frankincense ice cream.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Safe and cosy Omani taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I went there twice with colleagues and clients during a business trip to Oman in November 2013. Service was really professional and friendly, atmosphere was cosy with a clientele of both Omani and expatriate business people and families. Food was really good, with a fusion touch that is welcome if you are a bit cautious or intolerant to spices. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ubhar Bistro also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Ubhar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ubhar Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.