We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining with the locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ubhar Bistro

Ubhar Bistro
Bareeq Al Shatti (Al Kharijiyah St.), Shatti Al Qurm, Muscat, Oman
0096898765555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 201 Restaurants in Muscat
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Moroccan, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dining with the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We loved our dinner at Ubhar. With the warmth and hospitality of the staff and front of house, it was like stepping into the dining room of the locals. We really indulged ourselves on delicious local specialities. A great experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    34
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner at Ubhaar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Visited Ubhaar expecting to sample authentic Omani fare in hygienic and comfortable surroundings.

Surroundings were very clean, hygienic and comfortable. Just rightly lit - not too much light too make one hyper, nor too dark so that one can't see what is being served.

Food was good, tasty and quite healthy, but not authentic Omani. Our server ( I think his name was Anwar) explained that Ubhaar served Omani fusion food, which basically tasted much like Indian cuisine.

But, we were not disappointed. Food was tasty and well-served. We had Chicken Mashakeek, Grilled Hammour and Saloonat Khodra with their Green Oasis (fresh lemon with mint juice).

Serving sizes were a little disappointing, but the food was delicious and not too heavy on the stomach.

At the end of the meal they served complimentary kahwa (Arabian coffee).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmNawaf, Owner at Ubhar Bistro, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take all customer feedback into account and that is how we have managed to develop into the best Omani restaurant that serves both traditional and fusion cuisines.

The Omani food and culture owes much to the geography of the country. Oman’s presence on the Indian Ocean has fostered a long maritime tradition which has enriched its cuisine with such diverse flavors. There are many Omani dishes which have been influenced by this history and you will find that some of our dishes resemble Indian dishes because we use Indian spices.

Ubhar’s menu has been developed to present a variety of Omani food with different influences from all over the world including North African, Middle Eastern, European and Far Eastern flavors.

In terms of the portion sizes, I will review your feedback carefully with the Chef. The portion sizes at Ubhar have been measured using international standards and have been selected to ensure that customers can enjoy a three course meal.

I thank you once again for your feedback and hope to see you back at Ubhar soon!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in Muscat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We live above the restaurant and it surprises me that we don't go more often. The food is really some of the best of it's type with such delicate flavours. The staff go out of their way to accommodate any request, but because of their natural reticence, would not normally initiate suggestions. More recommendations for set meals would be very useful and encourage us to try new dishes and not stick to the old favourites. I've never had anything that I have not enjoyed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmNawaf, Owner at Ubhar Bistro, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take all customer feedback into account and that is how we have managed to develop into the best Omani restaurant that serves both traditional and fusion cuisines.

I have personally briefed the staff on your feedback and I hope that you will notice the difference on your next visit. If you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact me on ghada@alyousefrgoup.com.

Please try our catering services for your next special event!

Best wishes

Ghada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The perfect place for Omani food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is genuinely great !
It serves Omani food with a unique western twist which gives it the "wow" factor, even though it's a little bit expensive but the food is worthy of it.
The service is excellent and the staff are quite nice, and finally the ambience is mesmerizing ! I definitely recommend a visit it's one of the best restaurants in Muscat

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good omani food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The best omani food in town. The owner (GHADA) is an amazing person. The stuff is great and always smiling. Good luck

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmNawaf, Owner at Ubhar Bistro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words :) It is always great to receive such encouragement. Hope to see you back at Ubhar soon! Best wishes, Ghada Al Yousef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ubhar Bistro also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Ubhar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ubhar Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.