We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midan Hotel Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Midan Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Midan Hotel Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building 259, Way 3205, Al-Marefah Street | Al-Ghubrah North, Muscat PC130, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy Now and Save
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Muscat
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Spacious Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

On arrival we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment, all rooms of generous proportions and very clean. It was great to have a washing machine which we utilised on arrival. This is an older property but in very good condition and provided everything you need including a warm welcome. We spent 3 nights in this hotel which was located within a short distance to the Embassy area. A beach is only about 10mins walk and walking through the Embassy area to get there is interesting to see the architecture of some of the mansions.
We had dinner in the Thai Restaurant in the hotel which can be highly recommended this is also where a continental breakfast is served. The staff in the coffee shop were friendly and welcoming. We also ate in the Lebanese Restaurant at the corner of the street behind the hotel, which made for a different kind of experience, food tasty and cheap.
Mac the expat GM is very friendly and has local knowledge so a wealth of information for the area, he assisted us with a car and driver when we located to another part of Oman.
I can highly recommend this property and it is situated so that you get a very local feel but easy access to all tourist destinations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
8
14
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a lucky day when we found these people! The suite was immaculate and so well appointed - the size of an apartment. The staff are obviously treated very well because their friendliness and commitment to taking care of guests is first class. It is a real treat these days to find such an innkeeper - Mr. Mac Thomson - who will mingle with the guests - seemingly at leisure - being the consummate host. Good management always starts from the top down. His Thai restaurant is authentic and excellent. Don't worry too much about the location - it comes right up on GPS and is quick access to anywhere. We really felt like we had made new friends here, and can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This lovely boutique hotel is managed by an australian guy. He's been extremely helpful, giving us lots of information on our arrival that have helped us organizing our one week trip around Oman. He's helped us with the car rental, with directions and information about places to go and what to do.
The hotel is very nice and new, some of the rooms are better than others, as we had the chance to appreciate when we were upgraded to a HUGE suite on our way back from Nizwa!
There are some nice indian, pakistani and lebanese restaurants just walking distance from the hotel if you don't feel like driving into town.
I would certainly recommend this lovely place to any independent traveller looking for a taste of real Oman and not huge and cold skyscrapers (not that you'll find lots of them in Muscat..mind!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was my first time in Oman on business and had never experienced hotel apartments before. After a while you get sick of hotels but this was a dream. I was delighted to be able to do my washing (saddo!!) and take all my clothes home clean and pressed.

The staff were fabulous even going out of there way to buy me some washing powder for the machine I wasn't feeling so well and room service made me a beautiful fruit salad platter. The apartment was scrupulously clean and everyone was so friendly.

My colleague and I are hoping that our sponsors will embrace this hotel for us again and for any other guests who arrive in the country for business or pleasure.

Thank you everyone!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Been here nearly a year. Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful. Atrocious internet access. Dont believe the "High Speed access" hype you are given. A snail could walk the internet faster. Its a complete waste of time. Even the slow Omantel 3G card is 100 times as fast as the tosh they can offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacThomson, Deputy General Manager at Midan Hotel Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback and your ongoing support of Midan Hotel Suites. We appreciate the time you have spent with us as a guest and will pass on your positive comments about the staff.
Like you, we are concerned about the problems you are experiencing with the internet. Today we updated the wireless point in your room and have increased the available bandwidth. We hope that this will alleviate the problem. We will also monitor the internet speed and service in the coming days.
The WiFi service you are currently using is free. If you wish we can arrange for a more improved paid service. Please contact me via the hotel reception and I will follow up on this personally with you.
Regards,

Adil Al-Rajaibi,

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liedekerke, Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

It was a great stay!
Big appartments: daily cleaning, fully equipped kitchen (although only 1 poor pan and 2 medium pots). You can also eat in the Thai Basil restaurant, which is quite cheap and very tasty (maybe just ask for "not spicy").
We had the 2 bedroom appartments, both bedrooms were nice, clean and just as big as a normal hotel room. Then there was a big living-room (with a 32" LCD-tv & sat-receiver) and 2 toilets/showers. There are small things which needed a repair, but still quite nice stay.
Staff was very friendly and always wanted to help out.
Very surprising: the beds were really comfortable for a hotel!

Only thing that annoyed me: the windows are porely placed, if you look good, you see that there is a gap to the street. So keep your curtains closed if you don't want that it'll get hot in there. Also sound isolation is due to that quite poor too. (you hear a lot from the street).

PS: There is no pool, but a good equipped gym. The sea is 20min walk away or just a 5min drive. I recommend to get a car though, then you could visit great beaches and go shopping in Muscat City Center (although soon the shops in Muscat Grand Mall will open).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I spent 10 weeks in Muscat at the Midan in 2011 from July to September, probably the hottest temperatures I have ever experienced. The hotel is well air-conditioned however so it was easy to sleep, only when you stepped outside were you blasted by the mid to high 40 degree temperatures.

The Midan was very comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and only too happy to fix any problems immediately. The Australian owner (Mac) was friendly and interested in his guests opinions. The Midan is located in a slightly less affluent area but is well positioned just off the main freeway about half way between the airport and the main business district (Ruwi). The Thai restaurant on the ground floor is excellent, good quality food at a very reasonable price. There are quite a few cheap eateries within walking distance.

The only complaint I have is the lack of an oven in the kitchen, I got tired of fried food and bought a toaster oven for about $AUS50 which I passed on to a friend who had just arrived, being there for 10 weeks made this an option.

I am heading back to the Midan in May for another long stay and am looking forward to it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midan Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midan Hotel Suites

Address: Building 259, Way 3205, Al-Marefah Street | Al-Ghubrah North, Muscat PC130, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Muscat
#5 Business Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Midan Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern amenities, easy elegance, tasteful furnishings and subtle bursts of vibrant hues are a trademark of Midan Hotel Suites, an internationally managed hotel that strives to maintain a worldwide business-class standard. Midan Hotel Suites offers 35 rooms, ranging from studios through to spacious suites and a three-bedroom penthouse. The large windows throughout give each suite a fresh and open feel. All suites have a well-equipped kitchen, a separate living area, and are comfortably furnished in a contemporary style. All hotel guests have free access to our WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Midan Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midan Hotel Muscat Governorate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midan Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.