We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an exotic, clean, laid back place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gili Trawangan

Gili Trawangan
Ba | Jln. Legian Kuta Bali, West Nusa Tenggara 80364, Indonesia
085333402384
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Such an exotic, clean, laid back place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We are not divers and visited for 2 days to experience GT’s amazing beauty and atmosphere.
White sand, shade on the beach from trees, no floating rubbish, laid back, exotic lifestyle, horse drawn carriages and bikes (no motorised transport), few shops, heaps of restaurants and bars, no aggressive selling by locals, smiles everywhere, few families or drunken idiots (mainly couples), lots of bars but well behaved – a better class of tourist than Bali (remote and no mainstream direct flights), beautiful deep blue sea , fast boats run up the beach at “the harbor”, which is a break in the surrounding reefs. (only one small jetty).
No dress code - as one restaurant tee shirt said - "no shoes, no shirt, no problem". All nationalities, sunsets, sunrises, two-for-the-price-of-one cocktails, the village can be noisy - we stayed at Villa Almarik and could not fault it.
Very different – see pics,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    156
    66
    32
    29
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drøbak, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so nice boat-trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband, daughter and I wanted to go on a day-trip to Gili Air from Senggigi, where we stayed. But it was complicated. The "tourist office" - of which there were many, offered trips, but as far as we could find out, there were only a big, modern " fast boat" once a day and it didn't return the same day, and it went only to Gili Trawangan. Long story, but we ended up going by car up to Bangsal, where there was supposed to be a modern speedboat to take us over to the island. Yes, it was something you could call a speedboat, but it was a wreck, at least 20 years old and almost not starting. No life-wests on board, and the waves were big and the currents were strong. I was so scared, and we will never do a trip like this again. But I feel cheated by the arrangers, it should be a better system free of lies and dogdy explanations. For what if a family with small children took a trip like this and the tiny (too tiny for crossings like this, in my opinion) and the boat turned over . . . . . . ?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good beach Island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Beautiful beaches, no motor vehicles so very environmentally friendly, cheap accomodation and food, good for booking the rinjani mountain hike. The horses in place of the vehicles however didnt seem to be treated that well, you cant walk anywhere without being whispered mushrooms or marajuana to you, and the beaches tend to be narrow and quite crowded unless you go to a more secluded one in the other side of the island.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great experience..:-D”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with friends in our own room with a private pool at The Beach House. I really loved the open aired restaurant which was practically right on the beach. Great value and just a lovely relaxing place to stay...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You Must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

All I can say is if you go to Bali you MUST take a trip over to Gilli T we stayed at the Villa Ombak for 4 nights and i must say it's on of the most beautiful little islands I've been to as you know in Bali it's all about you want better deal barter barter barter (don't get me wrong love Bali but Gili is special and the sunsets are beautiful so please take the time and head over you won't regret it

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gili Trawangan also viewed

Gili Meno, Gili Islands
 
Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara
 

Been to Gili Trawangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gili Trawangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.