We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW a superb B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 5 Lasserre

Save Saved
You added 5 Lasserre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
5 Lasserre
5, lieu-dit La Serre, 33420 Moulon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Moulon B&B and Inns
Cookham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW a superb B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Pascal & Anne were the most lovely friendly hosts. The accommodation is of a very high quality, they have managed to mix old traditional French design with modern architecture. The rooms are high spec and beautiful, but what made our stay was the atmosphere they created form the moment we arrived they welcomed us and it felt like we were their guests , they spoke good English and we tried our French a little. The breakfasts were amazing, home made jams and a little sweet surprise different each day - cinnamon pancakes with pears and cherries were to die for. They also had a lovely art gallery which we loved and we brought to painting which are already up in our house and have had several compliments. Our stay was amazing and we will definitely go back. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wow! That is the word I would use to describe this wonderful B&B. To begin with - it is a small place/home located in a wonderful area - 5 minutes from the local village (Moulon), 20 minutes (max.) from St. Emillion. It is perched on a hill with views of the river, the vineyards, and St. Emillion. And with weather permitting - you can enjoy the infinity pool overlooking these views. What more can you ask? Well, they also have a gym if you are so inclined.

From the moment you are greeted at the door by owners Pascal and Anna, you know you have walked into something special. It is as if you are coming home. In fact, after we arrived we were invited to join them for a glass of wine and conversation - what a treat.

The property housed in old buildings with modern renovations. The owners have exquisite taste and have been able to blend the old with the new. Our room (1 of 3) was furnished with everything you need and more. It had its own Nespresso maker, refrigerator, bottled water and other amenities (tv, wifi). The rooms and home are decorated with exquisite taste. The owners are also in the process of opening an antique gallery - so you can only imagine.

5 Lasserre serves a wonderful breakfast - each day Anna prepared a different treat (warm apples with caramel sauce and walnuts) as well as having fresh pastries, homemade jams, smoked salmon and cooked eggs to order. There is nothing else one can want. And the coffee is delicious!

However, they do not serve dinner but they have the latest information on nearby restaurants and make all the necessary arrangements. Every spot that was chosen was delicious. Above that, they also know the best local wineries - so make sure to give them advance notice for tours.

This is definitely a place worth staying!

Room Tip: Ask for the room/s facing St. Emillion
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent Three nights at 5 Lasserre last summer,for a romantic break in our all reday holiday break in nerby Bordeaux city where we have rented a Place for two hole month. After the rest of the family went back to Stockholm (where we are from,and where we live), we needed som time for pur selfs, and thart is exactly what we got. And ontop of thet, we got the magic back in our relatinoship as a couple. Anna and Pascals Place is spotted in such a magnicificant area with a view to die for. As host, they are so wonderful and social but also very respectful about giving you privacy, even though they from the first second told us that if wee needed ANYTHING during our stay that we felt we whwrw missing, we should just let them know and they said that they would help us the best they could. The only thing we where a bit insicure about is where to eat out in nearby Beautiful village St.Emilion,and they where glad to give us some recomendation.

But even then, it ended out that we went to the foodstore and the local butcher, a nearby locak wineyard and actually prepeared out own dinner at the terrace (we stayed in the big apartment with an own kitchen and a private outside area with a grill and table and sofas with Beautiful surrendings. And that made our "own retreat" taoataly compete

We wanted so bad to stay longer, and tried to find so many exuses to find a reason not to go back to Bordeaux for our last Days Before going home....but the Place wherw booked and we had o realice that magic and paradise is for moments in your life, and not for ever. Otherwise we wouldnt presiate our everyday Life home with Children, work, bills etc.

Often we sitt in our sofa at home, enyojng a glass of the st.emilinom winw we got recomended by anna and pascal and talk about the good memories and how beutiful it is when there is people in the World who is so happy to just give and not exepect to recive.

We wish anna and pascal all the best (she is an artdealar and had some Dreams with that in the future...), and what thwy are doing for all us, (the guest,) bye showing so much proffessinon and engeagemant, hat will come back to them. Thats how karma works. They are Botha as persons, and professionelse very high inspiration.!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caversham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our second stay in the duplex apartment and this time we fully used the facilities on offer as we travelled with friends who took the adjoining room making it like our own two bed villa. The duplex is beautifully furnished with a mezzanine floor with bedroom and very large bath and separate shower. The ground floor is a mix of old stone and modern furniture which blends effortlessly together. The kitchen was fully loaded and had everything you could need as we cooked for three nights. Breakfast is very good continental with specials thrown in, eggs, pancakes with fresh fruit and a warm apple with caramel and cinnamon. pascal and Anna are extremely good hosts and I would recommend this to anybody. Fantastic setting with amazing views and very tranquil. The property also has a small gym and infinity pool.

Room Tip: The duplex is worth the extra, though cant fault the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights in this exceptional B&B only approximately 8 klms from St. Emilion, surrounded by farms and farm land. The building itself is extremely impressive...it combines the modern with the old.
The interior including the three guest rooms is furnished in extremely good taste. Every single item in the room and the extremely large common area have been furnished with the very best of quality and in good taste. Our bathroom was unique and was equipped with the most advanced technology with separate bath and shower. We particularly appreciated the central air conditioning.
We not only had our very large room and a patio outside but also a large glassed-in area with a large fireplace...this area was also where we enjoyed breakfast.
The breakfast was absolutely delightful and served in a very elegant way. During breakfast, we heard the sound of beautiful classical music. The B&B has a large pool, a sauna and spa and a theatre room should you wish to view a movie.
The couple who own this B&B were absolutely delightful and very helpful and at the same time were very discreet. They did everything possible to make our stay very pleasant. We strongly recommend this B&B and this without any reservation. Liane and Roland Redding from Montreal. June, 2012.

Room Tip: one of three rooms has cooking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The view was spectacular, the room modern and immaculate, the breakfast was amazing, the hosts were extremely hospitable .

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms, all spotless, 2 with views over hillside and st emillion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My friend, my wife and I stayed at the duplex apartment for one night in September during our wine tour in Bordeaux. Yes, it may be a bit pricey but I guarantee you will never regret it.

We were simply "Wowed" when we were shown to the apartment which was spacious, spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished with modern amenities. The ground floor was the living area with a stylish leather sofa and a flat-screen TV, a fully-equipped kitchen and a nice bar area. There was also an outdoor dinning area where we enjoyed our own cooking and wines.

The second floor was the bedroom (and another flat panel TV) and bathroom, with both a shower and a bathtub equipped with expensive faucets and full amenities. It also sported an intelligent "seat-warming" toilet from Japan!

Views from the garden was magnificent and the infinite pool was another highlight of the guest house. A morning dip was just a perfect start of the day before the simple but well-prepared breakfast served by our hosts at the lounge.

Like other reviewers have said, Ana and Pascal are just the perfect host anyone would ever wish for. This B&B is also their home but they know how to leave their guests to their privacy and be there for you when you need assistance. We were warmly welcome with a glass of local Bordeaux rose. We shared wines and cheeses and had a nice chat at dusk on the terrace listening to the couple recounting on the history of the estate (a farmhouse resided by some horse-raising monks) and the painstaking renovation efforts they put into their present dream home.

Great place, comfortable accommodation and wonderful hosts - that what made a perfect stay for us. Just make sure you have a GPS to help you locate the property amidst the beautiful hills and vineyards of Saint-Emilion.

Room Tip: Book the duplex apartment if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 5 Lasserre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Lasserre

Address: 5, lieu-dit La Serre, 33420 Moulon, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Moulon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moulon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Lasserre offers you the possibility of spending your holidays in a peaceful, marvelous and very private place. It is located at 10 minutes from Saint-Emilion, 30 minutes from Bordeaux, 1 hour from Bergerac and Arcachon (seaside). You can come with your friends, or organize small events limited to 12 persons, like meetings, anniversary parties, weddings, etc… In any case, we will apply to make you an enjoyable and very private stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your 5 Lasserre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5 Lasserre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.