We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, huge rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montussan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes
23, Route du Courneau, 33450 Montussan, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Montussan B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful, huge rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a beautiful property and Sylvie is a very kind hostess. The rooms were beautifully decorated, huge and had gorgeous views. Breakfast was simple but ample. The chateaux is situated on a vineyard and it was nice to walk around the property. It is located literally off the main highway (and yet secluded and quiet) going to St. Emillion and Bordeaux, so it is perfect for visiting both areas. Highly recommended and not overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, Apprentie BTS tourisme at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your advice, and for all the compliments !
We hope to see you again one day

Best regards

Méryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed during four nights with my boyfriend. The place is amazing, but it is better to arrive during daylight. If you are in Bordeaux you should stay here, you will get the complete feeling of "living in Bordeaux"! We are totally comming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, Propriétaire at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
So we wait for you ! Thanks you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fantastic stay in the chateau, including a tour of the winery and tasting the lovely wines. Sylvie certainly looked after us well, even though she had been up in the middle of the night harvesting grapes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, Propriétaire at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much ! And yes the grapes need me like a child ! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Chataeu Lavergne Dulong is a gorgeous estate. Our room was equally lovely and very comfortable, the attention to detail is remarkable.

A lovely breakfast was served each morning, including freshly squeezed orange juice which was sooo yummy.

Sylvie and Meryl could not do enough for us during our stay- thank you ladies!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, Propriétaire at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
You're welcome, It was a real pleasure thank you very much !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just spent 4 wonderful days at Chateau Lavergne and have only nice things to say about our visit. We've been wanting to come to the Bordeaux region for years and are so happy that we discovered Chateau Lavergne. It more then met our expectation as to the room. From the pictures on the internet, we had difficulty choosing between the two larger rooms, the Clothilde and the Madelaine as they both appeared to be very nice online, as did all the rooms. And when we saw them in person later they were both fantastically decorated to a very high standard, either one being a great choice. Both were huge by French standards, and well worth the cost. The tipping reason for us to choose the Madelaine again would be the difference in the extra area attached to each room. The Clothide has the larger adjacent area which is set up as a seating area. You walk through it as you enter the room. The Madelaine has it to the side after you enter and it is much more discreet. The adjacent area in the Madelaine, although smaller is still beautifully decorated with a large antique desk looking out a window. We unfortunately travel with a lot of baggage, and with the Madelaine there was plenty of room to lay our bags out in the adjacent area and still enjoy that space, as well as fully enjoying the space of the main room.

The wine tour of the property and tasting with Sylvie Dulong, the proprietor, is highly recommended. For us it was one of the highlights of our trip. Additionally, because we travelled in October, our timing was lucky and we were actually able to see the harvesting.

Both Sylvie and Meryl, her charming young assistant, were always available to answer any questions we had about restaurants or the area. There is no lack of restaurant choices for Bordeaux, but if you want to avoid the trip into the city, we chose to eat twice at "Le Cafe de l'Esperance" in Bouliac near by. The restaurant is small and the seating was cozy. They had a number of grilled meats on the menu with a lot of wine choices, and it felt very, very French.

Next time we return to the area, we would definitely choose to revisit Chateau Lavergne which more then met our expectations. It is ideally located just outside of Bordeaux but with very easy access to the city, and is a great point of departure to explore the region.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious, but the Clothilde and Madelaine are the largest. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a memorable stay here, for all the right reasons. Sylvie was very good to us from the moment we arrived, we are so greatful that she has opened up her family home to allow us a peak into such a beautiful chateau. Breakfast was great, was so refreshing to get some muesli, a welcomed change from baguette which we had been dining on previously. Sylvie gave us a tour of her winery, which she has clearly put a lot of effort into. I must say I was surprised to see one non positive review for this place. To rebuke, the French drink their coffee black... Asking for milk really is not an effort, particularly given the staff are more than obliging. And the reason the tv channels are in French is because the chateau is in France... In addition, being in the worlds biggest and first wine region, not to mention a visually stunning region, I'm inclined to not be overly concerned with what's on the TV, nor the language that the tabloid magazines are written in.

Thanks again Sylvie, keep up the great work!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The elegant Sylvie presides over her vineyard with passion and the chateau is a lovely place to partake of a bottle or two. Our bedroom was very original and nicely furnished, had excellent shower and with tea/coffee making facilities - the bonus was views of the vines and the little band of chickens that help the very relaxed and quiet atmosphere that is enjoyed by guests.

We were glad to be there for two nights and would have stayed longer had we not booked in elsewhere enroute to the south.

Sylvie was very discreet about her wine and did not give us the hard sell - she did not need to, we brought up the subject of wine sales and she then gave us a short tour of her impressive winemaking installation which uses the latest equipment to produce organic wine of award winning quality - the 2009 rouge was delicious and I could not resist a few bottles and some rose thrown in for good measure - the prices were so so reasonable.
Thoroughly reccommended for a relaxing day or three.
The local restaurant 'Atmosphere' is very good - but not walkable and very expensive by taxi, drive to it and drink afterwards.
We have put this place in the little black book of pleasure to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes

Address: 23, Route du Courneau, 33450 Montussan, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Montussan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montussan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast and small restaurant (by reservation) managed by wine growers with available tours of their vineyards and operation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes to your Saves list