We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau la Vieille Chapelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau la Vieille Chapelle to your Saves list
Chateau la Vieille Chapelle
4 Chapelle, 33240 Lugon-Et-L'Ile-Du-Carnay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Angus
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Would highly recommend this place. We used it as a stopover from north to south France. The property is just 10 minutes from the motorway (A10). Staff and owners are all very friendly, attentive and professional. Accommodation is in a converted chapel and is on the banks of the Dordogne River. We had a wine tasting session which involved seeing how the wine was made and then trying the various wines available - all great. There are only 3 rooms at this small family run hotel and we stayed in a family room which was spacious and very pleasant for the 4 of us. We had dinner in the evening. There was no choice but the food was amazing and suited the children as well - all local produce. The desserts were brilliant and all hand made. The only down side was the mosquitoes from the slow flowing Dordogne which came out and attached at night so make sure you bring repellent. Overall, this was a fantastic find and I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing hotel, good value for money and friendly owners/staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMallier, Propriétaire at Chateau la Vieille Chapelle, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much, we were really happy to welcome you! Best regards, F.Mallier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful chateau for two nights with our 12 mo son. The chateaux is located down a quiet country road flanked with vines, on the banks of a river. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We thoroughly recommend the table d'hotes which was a great opportunity to enjoy a delicious home-cooked meal cooked by the talented Fabienne, partnered with fabulous wines from the vineyard. We loved our stay here and this was one of the highlights of our trip to France.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMallier, Propriétaire at Chateau la Vieille Chapelle, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much, it was a pleasure to meet you and welcome you at the estate, Best Regards. F. Mallier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place is fantastic. The owners, Frederick and Fabienne, are wonderful hosts and very interesting to talk to. The Chateau is in Bordeaux region very close to St.Emilion and other wine regions. This is a working vineyard and winery with superb wines. You are at the end of the road right on the banks of the Dordogne river. It is peaceful and relaxing. You can walk in the vineyards or sit in the courtyard or on the bank of the river. The rooms (3 total) are well appointed and breakfast is delicious. We had dinner each night and Fabienne is a superb cook (also makes homemade yogurt that is heavenly). Frederick recommended specific wines to go with each dinner and the pairings were perfect. We had a tour of the winery and a tasting and it is clear that he puts his heart and soul into the wine. You MUST enjoy the Table d'Hote if you are there on Friday evening.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms and I don't think you can go wrong in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMallier, Propriétaire at Chateau la Vieille Chapelle, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your description of the estate and your comments, we were really glad to welcom you, and hope to see you soon again! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at la Vieille Chapelle recently and enjoyed our stay immensely. The hosts are kind and interesting people. Fabienne is a wonderful cook and made us a delicious meal and breakfast was just as good. Fredrick explained his wines to us and we enjoyed a tasting. The accommodation is first rate, and very clean and comfortable. It was great to be able to talk to the hosts in English, as our French is virtually non-existent! Nevertheless, we enjoyed our time in France and found people in general helpful and ready to assist us. I have no hesitation in recommending la Vielle Chapelle to anyone traveling through that area of Bordeaux. In fact I encourage you to make it a highlight of your visit, as it was ours.

Room Tip: Email the hosts and explain your needs or requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent two nights in this gorgeous little chateau tucked away right on the banks of the
Dordogne. Beautiful surroundings, delicious home cooked food and wonderful hosts. It is in a great location, less than 30 minutes drive from Bordeaux or St Emilion so is perfect for exploring the area. We would definitely return!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lots of wonderful things about this place. The rooms are spacious, clean, and welcoming. The river right outside makes this feel like a hidden, timeless, oasis of tranquility. Great base to tour the local vineyards.

Breakfast is excellent. Internet is great. Excellent hot showers. The owners are friendly, but not intrusive. The formal dinner may be a bit stiff for American tastes, but the food is great.

Especially wonderful are the tables in the courtyard where you can spend an afternoon listening to the breeze in the river reeds.

Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife, parents and I spent our last few days of a couple of weeks in France here and we couldn't have picked a better place to finish. Frederic and Fabienne were very welcoming and accommodating, always going the extra mile to make us comfortable. As an example, even though we left extremely early on our last day and they insisted on preparing us a breakfast we could take with us.
The rooms were very comfortable and excellently decorated. We had a lovely tour of the vineyard and the wine was the best we tried in the region and very reasonably priced - we didn't hesitate to buy plenty of bottles to take home. We had dinner twice and both times enjoyed fantastic food and company, accompanied by their superb wine of course.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau la Vieille Chapelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau la Vieille Chapelle

Address: 4 Chapelle, 33240 Lugon-Et-L'Ile-Du-Carnay, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Lugon-Et-L'Ile-Du-Carnay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lugon-Et-L'Ile-Du-Carnay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the estate vineyards AOC Bordeaux, Château de la Vieille Chapelle Bed & Breakfast is a 12th-Century Roman Chapel offering a garden and terrace with a direct view on the Dordogne river.A free wine tasting of selected wines from the estate will be offered to each guest together with a 10 % discount on their wine purchase.All three Bed & Breakfast rooms are fitted out of the old chapel outbuildings around the patio with direct access to the garden. The historical buildings have been equipped with a heating tiled floor, and each room features a wardrobe, a large bed and a en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. The rooms are decorated with a light asian touch, in soft shades with linen curtains and sheets. One of the room is adjusted to welcome disabled people.A continental breakfast with home-made jam and french pastries is served in the lounge at Château de la Vieille Chapelle. Guests can also enjoy traditional French South style cuisine in evening meals prepared by the host, upon request. Gluten-free meals can be requested. A sitting room with tea, coffee, kettle, wine glasses and wine tasting gear, as well as books on the area are at the disposal of the guests. Free Wi-Fi access is available and free private parking is possible on site.Bordeaux and Saint-Emilion, both inscribed on the World Heritage List are a 30-minute drive away. Restaurants can be found within 10 km from the property, as well as wine tasting activities and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau la Vieille Chapelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau la Vieille Chapelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.