We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting but I shall not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Tour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de la Tour to your Saves list
Chateau de la Tour
3.0 of 5 Castle   |   2 avenue de la Liberation, 33410 Beguey, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but I shall not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The rooms are clean and the setting is beautiful but the staff are in need of training. On arrival, the reception was poor. When, later, we sought assistance with a problem and we were not impressed by the "attitude" of the receptionist. The service at dinner was very rushed indeed and the food was average. The poor service lets this hotel down. Rooms are dated but acceptable for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
15
35
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

It is less easy than you might think to find a pleasantly situated, reasonably priced hotel in the Bordeaux region - perhaps we have been unlucky. Anyway, all was well here. Beguey is right next door to the little town of Cadillac, and the location (as described in other reviews) is really a pleasant surprise. It is well situated for the autoroute, Bordeaux and the surrounding area. The grounds of the hotel are spacious and quiet, and we enjoyed a very agreeable dinner outside on the terrace of the hotel restaurant. The hotel itself is a bit of an odd mix of new and not-so-new, garnished with a distinctively French version of contemporary design. Other reviews indicate that some refurbishment is overdue, particularly to the bathrooms, and we would agree. Good, but could be even better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

First impressions were good. Staff were very friendly and grounds were nice. Initially we booked for 2 nights but after seeing the room and experiencing the restaurant we left after one night. First room smelt badly of smoke (although all rooms are supposed to be non-smoking) and second room was soulless and drab. Completely underwhelmed by the prentensious nouvelle-cuisine served up in the restaurant (lovely setting BTW). Don't go if you are hungry! Had to send back the main course. So disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beguey hotels

Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Excellent restaurant. Both food and service were very good. Highly recommended. The hotel however suffers from an utter lack of charm especially the rooms whose style is very dated.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Mixed bag of a hotel- really good restaurant and pool area nice but hotel let down by cheap decor and old furnishings. Hotel very dark and not helped due to the lights always being switched off in the corridors
Overall, this is a hotel that badly needs a makeover to bring it up to a modern standard.
The staff also offered a mixed experience, the reception staff were very nice but the management hovered in the background simply ignoring the customers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Had to stay overnight because of a change in flight times and picked the hotel because of where it was rather than the reviews. We were so glad we did - the room was large and airy and the bed HUGE! We also had dinner and again it was really terrific. Staff attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

I took a group of six people to their restaurant one evening, as our B&B in the area no longer offers dinner. From the beginning, the service was slow, and the waiter was indifferent to empty plates on our table after each course. We noted that several tables of what appeared to be locals received much better service. The food was good, but I would never take a group there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de la Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Tour

Address: 2 avenue de la Liberation, 33410 Beguey, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Beguey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Beguey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Tour 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 25 minutes from Bordeaux, in the heart of Bordeaux region vineyard (Sauternes, Graves, St Emilion, Entre Deux Mers, Côtes de Bordeaux), the Chateau de la Tour hotel was built on the ancient vegetable garden of the "Ducs D'Epernon" castle. The hotel offers a range of spacious and elegant rooms with a view on a 3 hectares park. The restaurant proposes an exquisite and expressive cookery around local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau de la Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Tour Hotel
Chateau De La Tour France/Beguey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de la Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.