We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Taste Saved the Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
4401 Cottonwood Drive, Cottonwood Shores, TX 78657
8306377417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Fleming Island, Florida
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Food Taste Saved the Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The family decided to go to "On the Rocks" for dinner while on vacation. I made a reservation the night before and we were quickly seated but the greeting was a bit rough. We were assured a table by the window by head server Karen but I never spoke to her. We were seated along the wall where half the table faced the wall. Our server, Amalie, was good about the service but it seemed that every time she came back to check on us she reeked of cigarette smoke. Yuck! It would be my advice to her that if she has to smoke she should exhale fully and then get some gum or mouthwash before breathing on her customers that don't smoke. It was a real turn-off. Maybe management will coach her???

Anyway, when the food arrived, we were pleasantly surprised about how good it was. From the ravioli to the veal it was tasty.

The atmosphere leaves something to be desired as it is a hodgepodge of stuff that doesn't go together. All-in-all it was a good meal except for some minor issues.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“Make a reservation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We made a reservation for 7 the night before we dined & asked to have a table with a view from inside (since it was so hot outside). I wouldn't exactly call our table "a table with a view" since half of the table looked at a paneled wall but at least we didn't have to wait.

The appetizers (bruschetta, calamari & spinach artichoke dip) were just ok. Our main dishes were much better, although they took a while to come out. Overall the food, service was fine but I think it is a little overpriced for what you get. My husband I spent over $50 for 2 iced teas, bruschetta & two pasta dishes. If you wanted to add an alcoholic drink to that you're going to get up in price pretty quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, beautiful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We came on a Saturday night when it was busy. We scored a table right on the patio with a beautiful view of Lake LBJ. We were greeted immediately and had wonderful service, very attentive! Our party of 3 had a generous portion of Lasagna and Ck Parmigiana that were both quite tasty and our other friend had the ck fried steak which had an Italian taste but he said it was really good. He didn't care for his green beans bc they added a lot of Parmesan cheese on top but I think that's just preference. We also had 2 appetizers. The calamari was a bit difference but tasty and the oil dipping sauce was spicy. Not for me but my husband loved it. We hung around after eating for the sunset and the live band. There was no rush for us to leave. The waitress told us to stay as long as we wanted to. We would definitely return! Very relaxing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Drink with a view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate dinner here and really enjoyed the view. The food was just OK and the service was slow. We decided if we stop here again we will just enjoy the view and have a few cocktails.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Shoals, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Awesome View of Lake LBJ; Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you like the view from Austin's Oasis of Lake Travis, you'll love the similar view from On the Rocks of Lake LBJ. They've recently opened an outdoor bar area, and the Italian fare is good. Service was prompt and courteous.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

 
Horseshoe Bay, TX
Marble Falls, TX
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.