We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quickly and easily recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Long Dock

The Long Dock
West Street, Carrigaholt, Ireland
+353 65 9058106
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quickly and easily recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Called here after a trip with Dolphinwatch. We (2 adults, 2 kids) spent a relaxing few hours, had some lovely food (including ok to good selection for 1 veggie and 1 veggie celiac) - , we were well served and nicely looked after. Staff didn't sweat the small things - e.g. we changed one of our orders a couple of minutes after making it, we moved tables ... three times and despite seeing no dolphins on our boat trip we were full of bonhomie (aka a little loud and boisterous). The pub itself is one part quaint (older, original space) and one part new(er) eating area which is comfy and contemporary shabby chic (done well).

Would quickly and easily recommend.

ps - if you can swizzle it, get your Guinness next door (Carmody's) - it does the better pint ;-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    4
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kilrush, Clare, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

During a visit to carrigaholt today myself my partner and baby dropped into the long dock for a tea so we could give our baby a bottle. Upon arrival it was very busy but we found a table. A waitress arrived with menus but I informed her we would just like a tea and a latte. On hearing this the waitress seemed to lose interest in us and almost stormed off. Our tea and latte were then just put in front of us by same waitress fairly rudely. Wouldn't entice me to return too quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

During our recent holiday in Kilkee we set off to visit Loop Head lighthouse. Due to the torrential rain the road was flooded and impassable just short of Cross. We turned back to return via Carraigaholt. If ever there was a fortuitous decision that was it. We decided to stop for lunch at The Long Dock. I had eaten there in the past and always found it to be very good but it had been years since my previous visit. The setting is quaint but the food and service is right up to date. We had a fantastic lunch. The welcome was warm and friendly. They had a special pretend menu for children full of special Halloween treats. The food arrived promptly. It was all top quality and well prepared and presented. The portions were admirable. The prices were about right. The highlight for me was quite simply some of the best fish and chips I have ever eaten. Further comment is almost irrelevant!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“READ IF A NORMAL PERSON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

After reading everyone's review of this restaurant and having previously worked in the hospitality industry I am very understanding of the stress and the long and thank less hours which staff get! Anyway gone past the point, great food and really friendly staff always enjoy my visits:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Called here after a trip with Dolphinwatch. We chose salmon and liver and onions - both meals were excellent, cooked to perfection with lovely mash! Had a long drive back to our holiday accommodation that evening so didn't stay too long to sample dessert but found the meal very enjoyable and the ambience pleasant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Long Dock also viewed

 
Kilkee, County Clare
Doonbeg, County Clare
 

Been to The Long Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Long Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.