We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bequia Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bequia Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bequia Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Friendship Bay | Friendship Beach, Friendship VC200, Bequia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Friendship
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great resort and in July its low season so nice and quiet and you get the whole swimming pool to yourself. Staff were excellent and always always happy to help you any way they can, they almost 'made' the whole experience..

Room Tip: The suites are perfect for a family of 4..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
76
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were in Bequia at the end of June/early July at this hotel and we had the best holiday ever. It is low season and the hotel was quiet, just as we like it. The Island is wonderful, the people warm and friendly and the facilities in the hotel were great. The staff were genuinely helpful, delightful and not at all pushy. The food in the restaurant was excellent, the menu changes every two days. The beach was empty and during the whole of our 2 week stay no-one approached us to try to sell us anything - what a difference from the larger islands. If you relly need to chill out go here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a great find. Bequia is the most wonderful unspoilt island. We only had 4 days and arrived in a thunderstorm but the next day and every day after was lovely. The hotel was a real surprise, instead of a basic Caribbean hotel, it was beautifully furnished and had everything and more that you could need. The staff were all exceptional, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was served, no buffet now, a lovely local fruit plate, followed by the freshest eggs and homemade bread and scones, all the food was really good. We ate out one night but didn't bother again as the hotel food was much better. A lovely quiet beach, no hawkers, no rubbish, no jet ski, perfect. I will definately go back.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view suite on the ground floor, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

on arrival at the hotel everything seemed ok the welcome was good and at first glance the beachfront room was very nice although at closer inspection the bathroom ceiling had a huge nail sticking out of it and in the corner of the bathroom there was tatty unpainted coving! Our experience of the restaurant on the first night was not good. The band was out of tune and so loud conversation was impossible. It was meant to be a beach BBQ which was just a load of pre-cooked steak (dry and overcooked) fish (also overcooked) and chicken (guess what, also dry) all the food including very average salads and cous cous were just left out in the open for who knows how long? being a chef myself I can confirm that the food hygiene was pretty poor and the restaurant overpriced. The menu stayed the same for to long and breakfasts were exactly the same for the whole stay with warm Fruit juices being left in jugs and again food left out in the open, it was the same every day! I also found the staff to be a bit pushy and it came across a tad desperate. I would say the average age of guests was around 60 which is not clear when you book. On checking out I was met with a huge bill for which I asked for a breakdown it soon became clear that my bill was virtually double what it should have been, luckily I had been keeping an eye on the tab and knew I had not spent what they were billing me for. This error was rectified but only because I had spotted it. Not a great experience at Bequia Beach hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipm11, Owner at Bequia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

I am very sorry that several aspects of your visit fell short of our usual standards. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment caused.

I was concerned that you found the room was not quite up to scratch and we thank you for bringing the unpainted part of the coving, and un-hammered nail in the bathroom to our attention. I am glad to say that both have now been rectified.
Your experience in our Restaurant was of a great concern to me. We are very conscious about the hygiene in both our kitchen and service area, and have strict standards in place. I have personally reviewed the Breakfast and Barbecue service and preparation flow and have amended the buffet format in order to maintain the quality of our produce. We thank you for bringing these items to our attention.

If you do happen to travel to Bequia in the future, I very much hope that you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and you are very welcome to contact me directly in order that I can oversee your arrangements.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Your feedback helps us to understand how we can continue to make improvements.

Warm Regards,
Bengt Mortstedt - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although we prefer small boutique hotels over large resorts we enjoyed our stay at the Bequia Beach Hotel. It is a well conceived resort complex with a pleasant reception building also housing a library and sitting room. We loved the retro posters everywhere done by Kerne Erikson. Our room was on the ground level of one of the Ocean View buildings. The beach is really fabulous in comparison to the beaches on the northern Atlantic side of the island. There is a decided effort on behalf of the owner and all the staff to make their guests feel welcome although at times it seemed more mechanical than genuine. We found the food at the hotel restaurant, The Bagatelle, lacked sufficient influence from the Caribbean and seemed to cater to North American/European tastes. However we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there owing to the restaurant's ideal location at water's edge and the magnificent full moon that appeared the evening we dined there. Housekeeping could have been better especially considering resort prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

So, we're back on Bequia for a couple of weeks before continuing our Caribbean sojourn for a further two weeks on Grenada. Reprising our experience from last year we'e dined and lunched most days at the Bequia Beach boutique hotel, although not actually staying there (we're staying just a couple of hundred yards away at Sugarapple Inn.). However, the staff are friendliness personified and helpful and efficient too. The food is absolutely excellent; I'd rate the hotel's restaurant No 1 on Bequia and amongst the best in the Caribbean and believe me we've chowed down in the biggest, the best and the downright 'b' awful too. It's a pleasure to endorse somewhere that delivers on expectations and strives always to maintain its standards. Excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Bequia and we stayed @ Bequia Beach Hotel and had a marvelous time. The hotel was wonderful: grounds immaculately kept, the rooms clean and the people super nice and friendly. We could not have asked for more out of a resort, right on the beach plus a beautiful pool to boot.

Would highly recommend it to anyone heading to Bequia. A lovely island and great diving too!

Room Tip: We stayed in a spacious room that had a nice patio (with a nice breeze) to sit and enjoy a cocktail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bequia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bequia Beach Hotel

Address: Friendship Bay | Friendship Beach, Friendship VC200, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bequia Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Bequia Beach Hotel is situated in what many consider to be the premiere location on the Caribbean island of Bequia – Friendship Beach. Inspired by Oliver Messel’s stylish Mustique villas and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens, this boutique hotel combines luxury, elegance and charm to provide a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. With two pools, reading lounge, spa & gym, first-class restaurant and its own secluded sandy beach area. The Bequia Beach Hotel offers luxury Beachfront suites, spacious Ocean View suites, six private villas, a penthouse suite and classic rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Bequia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bequia Beach Hotel Friendship

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bequia Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.