We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a breath-taking hotel experience in Bequia, stay here!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sugarapple Inn to your Saves list
Sugarapple Inn
Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you want a breath-taking hotel experience in Bequia, stay here!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I stayed at the Sugarapple Inn with 3 other girlfriends in August 2014 to celebrate a milestone birthday. We were picked up at the dock by the taxi driver (who was already there, waiting for us, GREAT FIRST IMPRESSION) and taken to the Sugarapple Inn. I had no idea what to expect because my friend's sister made the arrangements but when we were taken to our SEASIDE 2-BEDROOM VILLA... WE EXPLODED WITH EXCITEMENT!! I NEVER imagined the villa would literally be STEPS away from the ocean! We had a private patio area for relaxing, swam in the virtually private beach sans bathing suits, had a wonderful dinner at the neighboring hotel, and hung out at De Reef all day.
We loved the villa's inerior design; it was decorated like a family beach share. The decor wasn't too fancy but it was definitely not shabby either.The only thing that could be improved at the villa are the mosquito nets. The bigger bedroom had a more utilitiarian mosquito net while the smaller room had more decorative mosquito nets that really didn't help at all. The oscillating fan kept opening the nets so needless to say, I didn't have a very restful night. Make sure you being mosquito spray that contains DEET; those mosquitos are immuned to Off! Also, it's not really close to De Reef so you need to make taxi arrangements but it's not a big deal, at all.

Room Tip: It may be a little more expensive but reserve the beachside villa, it's totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugarappleinn, Manager at Sugarapple Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Thank you Columbiagrad6, we appreciate your candor. It seems that form and function did not make a happy marriage with these nets, and new ‘utilitarian' ones will replace them. The bedrooms have been air- conditioned since you visited, so restful sleep should not be difficult. I am pleased that you had the feeling of staying with family, as that was our intention when choosing the decor. Hope you’ll visit us again.

Kind regards,
The Management and Staff
Sugarapple Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
75
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I arrived here and were greeted by the wonderful Cilla who welcomed and showed us around. The place was stunning, well looked after and the beach was within a 5 mins walk. The room was beautiful and modern, clean and spacious with air condition (although we often preferred to have windows opened for that beautiful breeze). The self catering area can either be opened or closed off from the bed area - useful when we do cook (fish that Cilla gets for us from the market). For breakfast we would just go to the Inn's restaurant and have their home made cakes, pastries and freshly brewed coffee. It was such a relaxing and friendly atmosphere where we felt if we needed anything... we can "just ask". So we did and Cilla and her amazing staffs do not fail to deliver. I picked mangoes from their garden everyday to have as a smoothie or just a snack. If I wanted coconut water..."just ask" and their lovely gardener will get it down from the coconut tree in the garden. On our first day we had to go into town to change some money and started walking, it was a long walk but a staff (Franklin) spotted us and gave us a ride. The staffs went above and beyond and we felt very well looked after. It was just like home away from home but with much more pampering. As I can't stay out in the sun on the beach for as long as my boyfriend can, the pool area with sun beds and umbrella was perfect. The local mini bus service was an "out of this world" experience where everyone squeezes in, with loud reggae music playing and for just 1 or 2 BBD each way. The Inn was far from town so we would just get a local mini bus into town, stay for the night life and get a taxi back up (as mini bus service finishes quite early in the evening). Our favourite beach was in Lower Bay, where the water was clear, very little current and some sea life for snorkelling. The beach is quite secluded but has a couple of bar/restaurants with sea view for food and drinks. All in all, an amazing place to stay - actually the best place I have stayed in and no doubt will stay here again when we next visit Bequia. Thank you Sugarapple Inn staffs!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Sugarapple Inn is a place as sweet as its name. The accommodations were very charming and fit perfectly with the tropical island paradise that is Bequia. The rooms are so inviting and lovely, painted in bright colours and equipped with a kitchen that has huge windows you can open to let in the salty breeze. There is a beautiful beach only a few minutes' walk away, which offers lively, pounding surf and a lovely view. Other beaches are nearby as well, as are restaurants and other attractions, such as the turtle sanctuary and Firefly plantation (you may need a car if you don't like to walk). The inn has a lovely swimming pool, but my husband and I always opt for the sea over a pool. Still, if you have small children, the pool is definitely a nice feature. Cilla the manager and all staff are very friendly and helpful, and greeted us with warmth and kindness. I would live here--in our perfect room 4. We very much enjoyed our time in Bequia and at the Sugarapple inn, and will surely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed 3 nights with my boyfriend during June. I absolutely loved it! The rooms are gorgeous and the views are breath taking. The beach is only about a 3 minute walk. The best part of the stay however, was the friendliness of Cilla and the staff. Such wonderful people, their kindness is a rarity. And the juice and jam for breakfast is homemade! The location is not really very close to town so I wouldn't recommend this place if you like to party or spend time with crowds. It's secluded and good for a calm romantic getaway! HIGHLY recommend this place (:

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The simple fact that this year saw us returning for a third time to Bequia's Sugarapple Inn says it all. Altogether we spent nearly four weeks there.The Inn itself is situated in a commanding position on the hillside with lovely views across Friendship Bay to the glittering Caribbean beyond - the horizon dotted with islets and with Mustique in the distance.

Sugarapple's apartments are light, airy and comfortable. Our bed (we'd booked the same apartment that we had for the past two years) was huge and comfy and the furniture was still in good repair and well maintained. The bedroom also has efficient a/c and a large central ceiling fan and plenty of storage space. A good clean mosquito net (which we didn't use btw) is stowed above the bed. The room also has cable TV, an iPod dock and dozens of useful plug sockets, both 110 volts and UK 230 volts. The bathroom has a large walk in shower with lashing of hot water - but always be sparing with water - the island has no natural water source except for that which falls from the heavens.

The kitchen, which doubles as a sitting and dining area is well equipped (still no microwave, but no matter). The large louvered shutters all open up wide allowing light to stream in - incidentally it's the only place I know where you can sunbath in the morning without having to go outside!

The staff (staff? no not staff, they're lovely friends now) are all helpful and obliging and are the nicest folks we've met in the islands. They were all mucking in preparing for a wedding reception when we arrived and they all labored long and hard to make the day a wonderful success for the bride and groom. Their enthusiasm was infectious and we found ourselves really rooting for them to the point that we were constantly checking the weather forecasts and hoping against hope that the day wasn't marred with a sudden tropical downpour. The excellently catered reception was held on the terrace, which is ideal for functions such as these. The ceremony itself was held on the beach alongside Sugarapple's new beachside apartments. These too are beautifully equipped and the location on the beach, beneath the waving palms is quite simply idyllic.

Other plusses are the huge mango trees and the coconut palms in the beautifully maintained gardens (Otto the gardener will lop a couple off for you and extract the delicious coconut water for you). You're positively encouraged to pick the ripe mangos and there's nothing like whipping up your own fresh mango smoothie in the morning for breakfast.

Special mention must always go to the wonderful Cilla who manages Sugarapple. She's the real dynamo in the operation and is always on hand to help with off island bookings, queries or arranging trips, as is her lovely niece Ronelle. The atmosphere at Sugarapple is one of relaxation and very much one of family. For us, now, going to Bequia and Sugarapple is like returning home and I can't imagine a time when we won't be able to make landfall by ferry from St Vincent or squeeze ourselves off the tiny SVG plane from Barbados; breath in that warm tropical air and get Bequia'd all over again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugarappleinn, Manager at Sugarapple Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Our sincere thanks for spending time with us once again. We are aware of the options for available accommodations, and are humbled by your kind remarks. The Sugarapple family shares the warmth you have expressed, and enjoy your visits as well. As for the microwave, it's something we have to consider for each unit, and do appreciate your mention of it.

All the best, and thanks again,

Your Sugarapple Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in November 2013. We extended our stay by a week as we loved it. Very off the grid and very relaxing. Really the best kept secret - difficult to get to but well worth with. The people are great and is very safe. Cilla - sugar apple inn - you are hands down the best hostess. Thank you for an awesome stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed four nights at Sugarapple Inn at the end of a 7 night sailing trip in the Grenadines. What a perfect way to end the trip! The Inn is in a great location, right on a dollar bus stop, for easy access to town and the port. The Inn was quiet and the rooms are quite large with a fully equipped kitchen. Great breakfast is provided and you can upgrade to a larger breakfast if you wish. Loved the ability to open the shutters and get a great breeze in the room at night. Cila was a great host and provided great recommendations. There is even a cat on the property, Nell, who visited daily. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarapple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.