We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for long vacations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sugarapple Inn to your Saves list
Sugarapple Inn
Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for long vacations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My family and I (8 people in total) stayed here in November for 3 weeks. It's been a few weeks since staying here so here are some of my thoughts on the place:

- the eating/sitting area has an incredible view of Friendship Bay and is the perfect place to eat breakfast in the morning. The free breakfasts when we were there included cereal, coffee/tea/juice and homemade bread (usually banana). There are also two small gas powered BBQ's for preparing lunch and/or dinner.

- the staff (Sandra, Atto, Celia, etc) are all super friendly and really helpful should you need any advice on what to do and where to go. They are also great with kids (we had a 4 year old and a 6 month old).

- You're only a quick 3 minute walk down to the beach. The only warning I would give about the beach (and most beaches have them) are that they have some trees that drop nuts that are "poisonous" and irritate the skin so don't pick them up. Each room comes with two beach chair's and beach towels are available.

- there is some noise from passing cars and dogs barking at night so if you're a really light sleeper it may be an issue (but wasn't for us).

- it wouldn't be a good place for someone isn't mobile or has a tough time with walking as there are a lot of stairs.

- this isn't your typical resort or hotel, its a bed and breakfast so don't expect a fitness centre, spa or bar. Luckily for us, we didn't want any of those things and because its such a small place (two buildings with 4 rooms in each) you don't feel like your staying in a hotel or resort. You feel like your staying at someones house.

- The only two things that are walking distance is the Bequia Beach Hotel below that has a bar and restaurant (both expensive). There is also a really cool small bar down the road run by a Czech guy. Other than that, you will have to go into town.

- When you need to go into town I personally recommend taking the dollar bus as its cheaper and you get to meet locals on it. If you do take a taxi (especially for an island tour), take an open air one. Taxi's and dollar busses are always coming by the hotel although at times you do have to wait.

- all the rooms have kitchens with pretty much everything you need to make meals. The only thing we wished we had were better utensils to cut/crack lobster. Regular knives make cutting a lobster in half and BBQing a lot of work. If you want to boil lobster, just ask the staff and they will be able to get you a pot big enough to do it as the ones in the kitchen were too small. Of course be sure to seal everything properly or sugar ants will get to it.

- The pool area is great. It has a shallow end which is nice for when you have kids and has loungers for when you want to lay in the sun. For those who need a break from the rays but want to be near the pool, there is a shaded area with wooden benches.

- the property has fruit trees that you can pick from. Nothing better then picking fresh lemons to prepare your food with. There are also coconut trees and we were told they were planning a whole area with a lot more variety of fruits for guests can pick from.

- The reception area has a small store where you can buy soft drinks and snacks (Pringles, chocolate bars, etc).

At the end of the day I can't say enough great things about Sugar Apple Inn. This is a great place for family trips (we rented 3 rooms in total) or even couples (there were plenty when we stayed there). The way the staff treat you and how the rooms are set up, you feel like your just staying in someones home.

If you're thinking of going to Bequia (and you should) there is no question that you can't go wrong with staying at the Sugar Apple. The world is a big place but should I ever return to Bequia (and I want to), I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
75
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked for 2 nights and stayed for 8!
This is a very refreshing place, with nice breezes and glorious views over Friendship Bay.
The rooms have a small kitchen as well as cool airconditioned rooms that are bright and cool with mosquito nets.
A really nice touch was we were issued a local mobile phone with all the local numbers programmed into it which was so convenient.
The dollar bus is right outside to get you into the town, approx 10 mins, or you can get a taxi, 20ec dollars one way.
There are a lot of steps, which comes with the high location and the views, so not good for disabled.
The Bequia beach hotel is literally at the bottom of the garden and great for the beautiful beach of Friendship bay, lunch and Dinner.
Bequia is a real find, and the Sugarapple together with the charming, gentle staff was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hi everyone. I had a fairly stressful time putting together our holiday in the Caribbean and had many anxieties! Can I say that we had the most blissful, peaceful time enjoying the beauty of Bequia, Friendship Bay and the Sugarapple Inn. Lionel and Cilla were incredibly helpful with the various queries that I had prior to the trip. We were met off the ferry from St. Vincent by Franklin, whose services we made much use of during the rest of our stay. He waited while we stocked up on groceries before heading to the inn. This was worth doing, as it is a little trek back and forth to Port Elizabeth. Sometimes we used Franklin, particularly in the evenings, but it was easy to use the dollar (actually dollar fifty) vans during the day.
We rented two interconnecting apartments. They were spacious and comfortable, the kitchen/living area opening to delightful vistas. The airconditioning was most welcome. Being careful to spray the room with Baygon early evening was enough to keep mosquito annoyance to a minimum. I would advise visitors to store all food that is not tinned in the fridge, as there were quite a few ants in the kitchen, and they did manage to infiltrate some of our food - and food is not over-cheap on Bequia! I assume that this would be a problem in any of the apartments, as the kitchen/dining area is very open. We were in Units 5 and 6.
We enjoyed having the choice of pool or beach (5 minute walk max) to relax, most of the time having both entirely to ourselves! One evening we used the barbecue facilities to cook some fish that we bought off a boat near the fish market in town. Great! The open eating and barbecue area lends itself to parties, so I think the Sugarapple would be a great venue for a holiday for family groups/celebrations, or groups of friends.
We planned a couple of trips, and Cilla was really helpful with this. We hugely enjoyed the Tobago Cays trip with Fantasea. She also arranged a tour on St. Vincent for us, where we saw the Pirates of the Caribbean sets, apart from other things.
The staff at the Sugarapple Inn are warm and friendly. I had the wonderful surprise of beautiful flowers and a card when they realised that I was celebrating my birthday. It was so helpful to be able to get laundry done, and the house-keeping team were so easy-going when we hadn't quite vacated the rooms early enough for them to be able to do their cleaning! Well, we WERE on holiday!
If you are wondering whether to go to Bequia, just do it, before it becomes too well-known a secret! We certainly plan to return. Thank you, all at the Sugarapple!

Room Tip: Units 5 and 6 have a view over the pool and are quiet, being further from the road. Units 1 and 2 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 9 nights in mid-August and booked two adjoining one-bedroom apartments. This is the slower time of year and the staff was available during the day at the office or by phone. The apartments are thoroughly equipped and nicely furnished with extremely comfortable beds and large kitchen area with a round table by the windows. We loved the fact that we had the option of air-conditioning or having everything open to enjoy the breezes. The grounds are beautiful with flowers blooming and we were very fortunate that mangos and guavas were ripening just steps away! Sugarapple is located a short walk to Friendship Bay and beach which is lovely and picturesque. We spent more time on the Caribbean side of the island, where there are numerous restaurants, shops, great beaches and the main port, which we easily reached by taxi (Franklin was great), flagging down the 1EC vans or even on foot. Silla booked us an amazing day boat tour of some of the other grenadine islands with Fantasea. Cell phones were provided and it was most helpful that they had the numbers of the restaurants. This was our second trip to Bequia and we would definitely return to the Sugarapple Inn. We are already missing the warm smiles of the staff and the beautiful location in Friendship village overlooking the sea.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This property was extremely delightful. Great for lovers, family or friends looking to for a get-away retreat. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The place is self sufficient. Although Concierge is a service is limited to banking hours (8an-4pm), there was someone available just a quick dial away. The only thing I would warn guest is to ensure you have a way to contact the concierge during 'off' hours. We stayed during holidays 2010 so understandably staff would work during the day and be gone by 6pm at the latest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We’d decided on our last Caribbean visit (2 weeks on Carriacou + 1 week on Grenada) to seek out Bequia (pron. Bekway) to explore it and some of the other islands in the Grenadines archipelago, before returning for another stint on Grenada. Our latest trip was planned around 25 days in May '12. We rarely, if ever, stay in hotels, preferring to self cater, mainly for the flexibility it allows. So, after much research (including TripAdvisor) we decided to stay at Bequia’s Sugarapple Inn, in Friendship Bay, which lies to the SE on the island’s tropical Atlantic side.
Well, we couldn’t have chosen better. The position is wonderful with views across the bay and out towards some of the smaller uninhabited Grenadine islands with Mustique looming on the horizon. The Sugarapple apartment was excellent; spotlessly clean and well equipped with the usual (cable) TV, free wi-fi, iPod dock facilities, a locking/coded safe and a hairdryer in the bathroom. All of the furniture was clean and in very good condition. Lots of drawer and cupboard space meant stowing our gear wasn’t a problem, though we've learned to travel light. There were nice touches too; fresh flowers appeared during our stay and sometimes there was a perfect sugar apple on the dining table – for us to try - delicious, by the way..
On our arrival the bed was beautifully decorated with flowers and, even more importantly, proved to be very comfortable. The mozzy nets were spotless and in good repair; this we’ve found is a good indicator as to the degree of care and attention proprietors expend on their properties. My only observation is that frame nets are more convenient than the centrally draped type, which, when tucked in, often results in a bit of struggle to get in and out of – Sugarapple has the latter, but I wouldn’t level it as a criticism, just a personal preference. In fact we discovered that despite the ubiquitous mozzies, a good spray with BOP before retiring and with Baygon tabs plugged in, it wasn’t necessary to use the nets at all. When we did get bitten it was likely to be from daytime visits to the local supermarket where we’ve found, in the past, that mozzies and ‘nippers’ lurk in the dark corners, at a time when you’re least likely to have sprayed up with repellent. (Top Tips: 1: spray the interior of your rental car with insect killer before using; the blighters often lurk there, especially in older vehicles. 2: Only use insect repellents with 50% DEET. NB: pump packs are better value than sprays. Of course < 50% is less effective and without it all other remedies are utterly useless - even citronella [oil] only lasts for about an hour and candles and coils are useless out of doors: believe me!)
Our Sugarapple apartment’s light and airy kitchen/dining area had large storm shutters, which opened fully on two sides giving a wonderful panoramic view and allowed the breeze (sometimes a forceful wind) to cool us down. The kitchen featured the main amenities, sufficient pots & pans and utensils, fridge, a gas cooker but oddly it lacked a microwave, which would’ve proved useful from time to time. A minor problem (there had to be one or two) was the temperamental A/C, which turned off if any attempt was made to change the programming. However, this was easily resolved by resetting the trip in the electrics wall panel.
The apartments’ management is first class and the daily maid service is, in a word, faultless. Cilla, the manager, is charming, knowledgable and helpful as is her assistant, Ronelle, who proved invaluable when SVG decided to abandon us on the island, announcing that they were not flying direct to Grenada for the rest of May, this despite us having booked and paid for tickets! But that’s another story.
Sugarapple’s grounds and gardens are beautiful; colourful, green and very well maintained (strimmed to within an inch of its life, in fact) and dominated by a mighty, fruit laden mango tree. There’s a small, well maintained swimming pool (untried) and a covered BBQing area, which tends to be used during the ‘on’ season – we were staying in the ‘off’ or green season – for ‘green’ read rain. NB: There’s a convenient path leading, via a gate, to the Bequia Beach Hotel and its excellent restaurant and bar. This is also the quickest (4 mins.) route to Friendship Bay’s beach, the sea, where swimming is safe and for local boatmen to take you on excursions to Mustique, Petite Nevis, Quatre Island, Moonhole etc.
In short, then, Sugarapple can be highly recommended, based on our personal experience, which I’m pleased to say is not inconsiderable having travelled around the Caribbean every year for the last 12 or so years or so. There’s absolutely no doubt that we’ll return.

Room Tip: Apartment No 1, 7 & 8 are higher up and afford the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We fell in love with this place the instant we saw it. I wish we could have stayed a lot longer. Sugar apple inn is populare so you should book early. The staff is very helpful and eager to meet your every need. You even get to borrow a cellphone while your'e there. We felt totally relaxed the entire stay. The rooms are wonderful, the view exquisit and the kitchen is a heaven. The garden surrounding sugar apple is beautiful, and no one really uses it so if you decide to have a picninc in the garden you'll most llikely be alone. the beach is just a couple og minutes away, and it's a great beach!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarapple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.