We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday for a special birthday with a special family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Save Saved
You added Sugarapple Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugarapple Inn
Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 7 nights pay for 6.
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great holiday for a special birthday with a special family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hi everyone. I had a fairly stressful time putting together our holiday in the Caribbean and had many anxieties! Can I say that we had the most blissful, peaceful time enjoying the beauty of Bequia, Friendship Bay and the Sugarapple Inn. Lionel and Cilla were incredibly helpful with the various queries that I had prior to the trip. We were met off the ferry from St. Vincent by Franklin, whose services we made much use of during the rest of our stay. He waited while we stocked up on groceries before heading to the inn. This was worth doing, as it is a little trek back and forth to Port Elizabeth. Sometimes we used Franklin, particularly in the evenings, but it was easy to use the dollar (actually dollar fifty) vans during the day.
We rented two interconnecting apartments. They were spacious and comfortable, the kitchen/living area opening to delightful vistas. The airconditioning was most welcome. Being careful to spray the room with Baygon early evening was enough to keep mosquito annoyance to a minimum. I would advise visitors to store all food that is not tinned in the fridge, as there were quite a few ants in the kitchen, and they did manage to infiltrate some of our food - and food is not over-cheap on Bequia! I assume that this would be a problem in any of the apartments, as the kitchen/dining area is very open. We were in Units 5 and 6.
We enjoyed having the choice of pool or beach (5 minute walk max) to relax, most of the time having both entirely to ourselves! One evening we used the barbecue facilities to cook some fish that we bought off a boat near the fish market in town. Great! The open eating and barbecue area lends itself to parties, so I think the Sugarapple would be a great venue for a holiday for family groups/celebrations, or groups of friends.
We planned a couple of trips, and Cilla was really helpful with this. We hugely enjoyed the Tobago Cays trip with Fantasea. She also arranged a tour on St. Vincent for us, where we saw the Pirates of the Caribbean sets, apart from other things.
The staff at the Sugarapple Inn are warm and friendly. I had the wonderful surprise of beautiful flowers and a card when they realised that I was celebrating my birthday. It was so helpful to be able to get laundry done, and the house-keeping team were so easy-going when we hadn't quite vacated the rooms early enough for them to be able to do their cleaning! Well, we WERE on holiday!
If you are wondering whether to go to Bequia, just do it, before it becomes too well-known a secret! We certainly plan to return. Thank you, all at the Sugarapple!

Room Tip: Units 5 and 6 have a view over the pool and are quiet, being further from the road. Units 1 and 2 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 9 nights in mid-August and booked two adjoining one-bedroom apartments. This is the slower time of year and the staff was available during the day at the office or by phone. The apartments are thoroughly equipped and nicely furnished with extremely comfortable beds and large kitchen area with a round table by the windows. We loved the fact that we had the option of air-conditioning or having everything open to enjoy the breezes. The grounds are beautiful with flowers blooming and we were very fortunate that mangos and guavas were ripening just steps away! Sugarapple is located a short walk to Friendship Bay and beach which is lovely and picturesque. We spent more time on the Caribbean side of the island, where there are numerous restaurants, shops, great beaches and the main port, which we easily reached by taxi (Franklin was great), flagging down the 1EC vans or even on foot. Silla booked us an amazing day boat tour of some of the other grenadine islands with Fantasea. Cell phones were provided and it was most helpful that they had the numbers of the restaurants. This was our second trip to Bequia and we would definitely return to the Sugarapple Inn. We are already missing the warm smiles of the staff and the beautiful location in Friendship village overlooking the sea.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This property was extremely delightful. Great for lovers, family or friends looking to for a get-away retreat. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The place is self sufficient. Although Concierge is a service is limited to banking hours (8an-4pm), there was someone available just a quick dial away. The only thing I would warn guest is to ensure you have a way to contact the concierge during 'off' hours. We stayed during holidays 2010 so understandably staff would work during the day and be gone by 6pm at the latest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We’d decided on our last Caribbean visit (2 weeks on Carriacou + 1 week on Grenada) to seek out Bequia (pron. Bekway) to explore it and some of the other islands in the Grenadines archipelago, before returning for another stint on Grenada. Our latest trip was planned around 25 days in May '12. We rarely, if ever, stay in hotels, preferring to self cater, mainly for the flexibility it allows. So, after much research (including TripAdvisor) we decided to stay at Bequia’s Sugarapple Inn, in Friendship Bay, which lies to the SE on the island’s tropical Atlantic side.
Well, we couldn’t have chosen better. The position is wonderful with views across the bay and out towards some of the smaller uninhabited Grenadine islands with Mustique looming on the horizon. The Sugarapple apartment was excellent; spotlessly clean and well equipped with the usual (cable) TV, free wi-fi, iPod dock facilities, a locking/coded safe and a hairdryer in the bathroom. All of the furniture was clean and in very good condition. Lots of drawer and cupboard space meant stowing our gear wasn’t a problem, though we've learned to travel light. There were nice touches too; fresh flowers appeared during our stay and sometimes there was a perfect sugar apple on the dining table – for us to try - delicious, by the way..
On our arrival the bed was beautifully decorated with flowers and, even more importantly, proved to be very comfortable. The mozzy nets were spotless and in good repair; this we’ve found is a good indicator as to the degree of care and attention proprietors expend on their properties. My only observation is that frame nets are more convenient than the centrally draped type, which, when tucked in, often results in a bit of struggle to get in and out of – Sugarapple has the latter, but I wouldn’t level it as a criticism, just a personal preference. In fact we discovered that despite the ubiquitous mozzies, a good spray with BOP before retiring and with Baygon tabs plugged in, it wasn’t necessary to use the nets at all. When we did get bitten it was likely to be from daytime visits to the local supermarket where we’ve found, in the past, that mozzies and ‘nippers’ lurk in the dark corners, at a time when you’re least likely to have sprayed up with repellent. (Top Tips: 1: spray the interior of your rental car with insect killer before using; the blighters often lurk there, especially in older vehicles. 2: Only use insect repellents with 50% DEET. NB: pump packs are better value than sprays. Of course < 50% is less effective and without it all other remedies are utterly useless - even citronella [oil] only lasts for about an hour and candles and coils are useless out of doors: believe me!)
Our Sugarapple apartment’s light and airy kitchen/dining area had large storm shutters, which opened fully on two sides giving a wonderful panoramic view and allowed the breeze (sometimes a forceful wind) to cool us down. The kitchen featured the main amenities, sufficient pots & pans and utensils, fridge, a gas cooker but oddly it lacked a microwave, which would’ve proved useful from time to time. A minor problem (there had to be one or two) was the temperamental A/C, which turned off if any attempt was made to change the programming. However, this was easily resolved by resetting the trip in the electrics wall panel.
The apartments’ management is first class and the daily maid service is, in a word, faultless. Cilla, the manager, is charming, knowledgable and helpful as is her assistant, Ronelle, who proved invaluable when SVG decided to abandon us on the island, announcing that they were not flying direct to Grenada for the rest of May, this despite us having booked and paid for tickets! But that’s another story.
Sugarapple’s grounds and gardens are beautiful; colourful, green and very well maintained (strimmed to within an inch of its life, in fact) and dominated by a mighty, fruit laden mango tree. There’s a small, well maintained swimming pool (untried) and a covered BBQing area, which tends to be used during the ‘on’ season – we were staying in the ‘off’ or green season – for ‘green’ read rain. NB: There’s a convenient path leading, via a gate, to the Bequia Beach Hotel and its excellent restaurant and bar. This is also the quickest (4 mins.) route to Friendship Bay’s beach, the sea, where swimming is safe and for local boatmen to take you on excursions to Mustique, Petite Nevis, Quatre Island, Moonhole etc.
In short, then, Sugarapple can be highly recommended, based on our personal experience, which I’m pleased to say is not inconsiderable having travelled around the Caribbean every year for the last 12 or so years or so. There’s absolutely no doubt that we’ll return.

Room Tip: Apartment No 1, 7 & 8 are higher up and afford the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We fell in love with this place the instant we saw it. I wish we could have stayed a lot longer. Sugar apple inn is populare so you should book early. The staff is very helpful and eager to meet your every need. You even get to borrow a cellphone while your'e there. We felt totally relaxed the entire stay. The rooms are wonderful, the view exquisit and the kitchen is a heaven. The garden surrounding sugar apple is beautiful, and no one really uses it so if you decide to have a picninc in the garden you'll most llikely be alone. the beach is just a couple og minutes away, and it's a great beach!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We loved our 10 days here during the Easter Regatta 2012. Cilla, the manager is like a family member - she will go out of her way to help you have the best time possible in Bequia. The staff at the hotel are all fantastic. Otto would get us fresh fruit from the garden, Tilla would cook a fantastic breakfast and even invited us on a walk. Sandra and Argie were always full of smiles and laughter.

Our room was very comfortable, clean and cool even during the day. The beach is easily reached from the garden. Its easy to get into town - Franklin the driver is always at hand.

All in all we would thoroughly recommend staying at Sugarapple!

Frede Spencer

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Sugarapple Inn is a fabulous experience. Cilla anticipates your needs even before you realize you require help. Glitches in my travel arrangements were taken care of before I knew there was a problem. Cilla can help arrange anything you may want to do, and gives helpful suggestions along the way. The rooms are lovely and well tended. The kitchen area is well equipped. The shuttered porch/living area with views to the sea are wonderful. The housekeeping ladies always have a smile and laugh. The morning coffee and breads with Tilla are grand, a great start to the day. It is a good time to interact with the other folks who stay at the inn. The friendliness of the staff extends to everyone I met on Bequia. I hesitate to post this review because I am afraid to let the secret of Bequia out of the bag, but Sugarapple deserves rave reviews.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincie, Sugarapple Family at Sugarapple Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Much appreciation to all who have taken the time to share their Sugarapple experience with the TA community. We take each comment very seriously, and look forward to hearing from you, and others who are considering spending some time with us in the future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
Free internet...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#1 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Bequia Beachfront Villas
Bequia Beachfront Villas
#2 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
11.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kingstown
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
21.1 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Free internet...
Show More
1.6 mi away
The Old Fort
The Old Fort
#1 of 1 in Mount Pleasant
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarapple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.