We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis tucked in away in the forest!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sugarapple Inn to your Saves list
Sugarapple Inn
Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An oasis tucked in away in the forest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This property was extremely delightful. Great for lovers, family or friends looking to for a get-away retreat. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The place is self sufficient. Although Concierge is a service is limited to banking hours (8an-4pm), there was someone available just a quick dial away. The only thing I would warn guest is to ensure you have a way to contact the concierge during 'off' hours. We stayed during holidays 2010 so understandably staff would work during the day and be gone by 6pm at the latest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
75
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We’d decided on our last Caribbean visit (2 weeks on Carriacou + 1 week on Grenada) to seek out Bequia (pron. Bekway) to explore it and some of the other islands in the Grenadines archipelago, before returning for another stint on Grenada. Our latest trip was planned around 25 days in May '12. We rarely, if ever, stay in hotels, preferring to self cater, mainly for the flexibility it allows. So, after much research (including TripAdvisor) we decided to stay at Bequia’s Sugarapple Inn, in Friendship Bay, which lies to the SE on the island’s tropical Atlantic side.
Well, we couldn’t have chosen better. The position is wonderful with views across the bay and out towards some of the smaller uninhabited Grenadine islands with Mustique looming on the horizon. The Sugarapple apartment was excellent; spotlessly clean and well equipped with the usual (cable) TV, free wi-fi, iPod dock facilities, a locking/coded safe and a hairdryer in the bathroom. All of the furniture was clean and in very good condition. Lots of drawer and cupboard space meant stowing our gear wasn’t a problem, though we've learned to travel light. There were nice touches too; fresh flowers appeared during our stay and sometimes there was a perfect sugar apple on the dining table – for us to try - delicious, by the way..
On our arrival the bed was beautifully decorated with flowers and, even more importantly, proved to be very comfortable. The mozzy nets were spotless and in good repair; this we’ve found is a good indicator as to the degree of care and attention proprietors expend on their properties. My only observation is that frame nets are more convenient than the centrally draped type, which, when tucked in, often results in a bit of struggle to get in and out of – Sugarapple has the latter, but I wouldn’t level it as a criticism, just a personal preference. In fact we discovered that despite the ubiquitous mozzies, a good spray with BOP before retiring and with Baygon tabs plugged in, it wasn’t necessary to use the nets at all. When we did get bitten it was likely to be from daytime visits to the local supermarket where we’ve found, in the past, that mozzies and ‘nippers’ lurk in the dark corners, at a time when you’re least likely to have sprayed up with repellent. (Top Tips: 1: spray the interior of your rental car with insect killer before using; the blighters often lurk there, especially in older vehicles. 2: Only use insect repellents with 50% DEET. NB: pump packs are better value than sprays. Of course < 50% is less effective and without it all other remedies are utterly useless - even citronella [oil] only lasts for about an hour and candles and coils are useless out of doors: believe me!)
Our Sugarapple apartment’s light and airy kitchen/dining area had large storm shutters, which opened fully on two sides giving a wonderful panoramic view and allowed the breeze (sometimes a forceful wind) to cool us down. The kitchen featured the main amenities, sufficient pots & pans and utensils, fridge, a gas cooker but oddly it lacked a microwave, which would’ve proved useful from time to time. A minor problem (there had to be one or two) was the temperamental A/C, which turned off if any attempt was made to change the programming. However, this was easily resolved by resetting the trip in the electrics wall panel.
The apartments’ management is first class and the daily maid service is, in a word, faultless. Cilla, the manager, is charming, knowledgable and helpful as is her assistant, Ronelle, who proved invaluable when SVG decided to abandon us on the island, announcing that they were not flying direct to Grenada for the rest of May, this despite us having booked and paid for tickets! But that’s another story.
Sugarapple’s grounds and gardens are beautiful; colourful, green and very well maintained (strimmed to within an inch of its life, in fact) and dominated by a mighty, fruit laden mango tree. There’s a small, well maintained swimming pool (untried) and a covered BBQing area, which tends to be used during the ‘on’ season – we were staying in the ‘off’ or green season – for ‘green’ read rain. NB: There’s a convenient path leading, via a gate, to the Bequia Beach Hotel and its excellent restaurant and bar. This is also the quickest (4 mins.) route to Friendship Bay’s beach, the sea, where swimming is safe and for local boatmen to take you on excursions to Mustique, Petite Nevis, Quatre Island, Moonhole etc.
In short, then, Sugarapple can be highly recommended, based on our personal experience, which I’m pleased to say is not inconsiderable having travelled around the Caribbean every year for the last 12 or so years or so. There’s absolutely no doubt that we’ll return.

Room Tip: Apartment No 1, 7 & 8 are higher up and afford the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We fell in love with this place the instant we saw it. I wish we could have stayed a lot longer. Sugar apple inn is populare so you should book early. The staff is very helpful and eager to meet your every need. You even get to borrow a cellphone while your'e there. We felt totally relaxed the entire stay. The rooms are wonderful, the view exquisit and the kitchen is a heaven. The garden surrounding sugar apple is beautiful, and no one really uses it so if you decide to have a picninc in the garden you'll most llikely be alone. the beach is just a couple og minutes away, and it's a great beach!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We loved our 10 days here during the Easter Regatta 2012. Cilla, the manager is like a family member - she will go out of her way to help you have the best time possible in Bequia. The staff at the hotel are all fantastic. Otto would get us fresh fruit from the garden, Tilla would cook a fantastic breakfast and even invited us on a walk. Sandra and Argie were always full of smiles and laughter.

Our room was very comfortable, clean and cool even during the day. The beach is easily reached from the garden. Its easy to get into town - Franklin the driver is always at hand.

All in all we would thoroughly recommend staying at Sugarapple!

Frede Spencer

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Sugarapple Inn is a fabulous experience. Cilla anticipates your needs even before you realize you require help. Glitches in my travel arrangements were taken care of before I knew there was a problem. Cilla can help arrange anything you may want to do, and gives helpful suggestions along the way. The rooms are lovely and well tended. The kitchen area is well equipped. The shuttered porch/living area with views to the sea are wonderful. The housekeeping ladies always have a smile and laugh. The morning coffee and breads with Tilla are grand, a great start to the day. It is a good time to interact with the other folks who stay at the inn. The friendliness of the staff extends to everyone I met on Bequia. I hesitate to post this review because I am afraid to let the secret of Bequia out of the bag, but Sugarapple deserves rave reviews.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincie, Sugarapple Family at Sugarapple Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Much appreciation to all who have taken the time to share their Sugarapple experience with the TA community. We take each comment very seriously, and look forward to hearing from you, and others who are considering spending some time with us in the future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at Sugarapple Inn end of February, 2012. Every thing about this place is commendable: the staff couldn't be any friendlier (in a genuine way), from Cilla to all the girls and to Franklin. The setting is so beautiful, overlooking Friendship Bay and surrounded by lush gardens. Breakfast al fresco, swimming pool, walk way to the beach makes for a truly relaxing and enjoyable stay. We liked the location - halfway between the quaint fishing village of Paget Farm and Port Elizabeth - which made it easy to get rides on the vans, which is the public transportation. When in Bequia, I highly recommend you travel on the vans, once in a while. You get to mingle with the locals, who are very friendly and make you feel at home. But back to the hotel. The room we were in, #1, has a fantastic view. The front room, kitchen, dining area has shutters on three of the walls, the bedroom is very nicely appointed. The colors and the furniture and the furnishings work very well together - some of the pictures I took like paintings. Even if you don't want to, this place relaxes you. Our room had a/c, flat screen TV, safe and a cell phone. The bathroom is very practical, nicely laid out. Every thing was spic and span clean. One day, on the way out, I had a minor problem with the room lock. When I came back it was fixed already. As I said before, the setting, the rooms and amenities are excellent, especially for the reasonable rates, but the biggest asset of the Sugarapple Inn is the staff. As far as Bequia is concerned - we want to come back every year.

Room Tip: #1 has some of the best views, it's the furthest from the road, so is also very quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

When you think it couldn't get any better the Sugarapple fools you. This is our 4th visit and we cannot get enough of the place. Cilla and her wonderful staff once again made our visit perfect. The new addition of the continental breakfast is a wonderful way to start the day, exchanging ideas with other guests and getting some ideas on new adventures. It would be a nice touch if fresh juice was added to the continental breakfast. One evening Tilla (the chef) prepared a great b-b-que for all the guests, fun was had by all. The owner is replacing the appliances and always adding new features to the property. The new walkway to the beach is wonderful.

Cilla and her staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is everything you dreamt of. We've already booked for next year!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine, I like #'s 3,4,7, and 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarapple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.