We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year after year it is the BEST!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sugarapple Inn to your Saves list
Sugarapple Inn
Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% off low summer rates
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Year after year it is the BEST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

When you think it couldn't get any better the Sugarapple fools you. This is our 4th visit and we cannot get enough of the place. Cilla and her wonderful staff once again made our visit perfect. The new addition of the continental breakfast is a wonderful way to start the day, exchanging ideas with other guests and getting some ideas on new adventures. It would be a nice touch if fresh juice was added to the continental breakfast. One evening Tilla (the chef) prepared a great b-b-que for all the guests, fun was had by all. The owner is replacing the appliances and always adding new features to the property. The new walkway to the beach is wonderful.

Cilla and her staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is everything you dreamt of. We've already booked for next year!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine, I like #'s 3,4,7, and 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
75
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is simply a wonderful place where you are quickly made to feel a part of the local atmosphere. During our visit there were many repeat, long-term visitors, and we can see why they do it. Sugarapple perfectly reflects the relaxed beauty of this island. Cilla gives the Inn its charming personality. And Franklyn, the driver/tour guide extraordinaire, is there to give you the total island experience. They both become an integral part of your visit to Bequia. And everybody on Bequia knows everybody else on Bequia. Everybody knows where you ate the night before, and who your driver was. The longer we stayed, the more we liked it. It's the kind of place where even if some little thing goes wrong, you realize it doesn't matter, because there is a much more important beauty here. If you are looking for resort-style amenities, try another location -- or really, another island. If you want the warmth and genuine hospitality that pervades Bequia, you can do no better than Sugarapple Inn. A great deal for the money. Thank you for everything, Cilla and Franklyn.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Based on all the positive reviews and communications with Cilla, the lovely manager at the Sugar Apple Inn, I booked 16 nights for a winter vacation with my husband. Where to begin, the warmest welcome which included an invitation to a local rotary club barbecue and Valentine's Day dance. What a great time we had! Every interaction at the Sugar Apple was a good experience. All of the staff, every laundress, housekeeper, groundskeeper were wonderful. A special shout out to Cilla, Ronelle, Sondra,Tilla, Agee. From doing our laundry, to purchasing and cooking fresh caught lobster, preparing delicious breakfasts (on request), and keeping our unit spotlessly clean, there seemed to be no request that was left unmet. The rooms were beautiful and the establishment is very well maintained. A few minutes walk brings you to Friendship Bay beach where there is another hotel with a lovely little beach bar (and what looked to be a nice open-air restaurant, which we did not visit). We really loved Bequia, I believe we've found the island where we will return again and again and I can't speak highly enough of the people at Sugar Apple Inn. Meredith and Kin

Room Tip: we were in unit 6 which we really liked. second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global Citizen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I did a lot of research before choosing the Sugar Apple Inn for our 8 nights on Bequia. I was looking for an affordable place that wasn't too far from town or a beach, with a pool that would be convenient for our family with two small kids. Cilla and her staff were amazing-- they greeted us with hugs when we arrived and our beautiful room was bright, clean, and decorated with fresh flowers. The staff was wonderful with our children, and anytime we had a question or a need there was someone there to help us out. A really nice touch was the cell phone that was included with our room; as we had other friends staying on the island it was wonderful to be able to stay in touch with them. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again if I am back on Bequia.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Carling, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Anyone who is looking for value for money on the island paradise, would do well to consider the Sugarapple Inn, overlooking Friendship Bay. This is our fourth time to Bequia and first at Sugarapple. We would not think twice about returning to Sugarapple only unless we opted to rent a private home. All of the staff are very friendly and accommodating wanting to be sure that you are comfortable and well looked after. Inn Manager, Cilla, is very thoughtful and conscientious about all of her responsibilities to you as a guest. Her husband, Franklin, is available to provide taxi service as needed and arrange car rental if you wish through them. Tilla is responsible for preparing and laying out the extensive continental breakfast that is provided every morning from 7:30 a.m. in the lovely patio overlooking the property. Tilla prepares the home baked goods fresh everyday and you can count on a good cup of coffee or special tea if you prefer. She is very kind and thoughtful and wants to be sure that you are satisfied with what is made available to you. The small salt water pool is a wonderful feature that is not available everywhere. The kitchen facilities in the porches of the units are sufficient for preparing your own meals with fridge, stove and oven, toaster, blender, kettle and french press for coffee making. Ceiling fan provides an alternative to the AC which is provided. TV is satellite. WiFi included is appreciated. While 220 volts is the norm for the island, each unit has one outlet which is 110. This is pretty remarkable and very helpful for Canadians.

The location of Sugarapple is ideal for those who wish to be on the Friendship Bay side of the island. It is a 30 minute walk into harbour but not everyone will want to do this. Buses are readily available morning til dark for $1.50 EC (.75 CAN) and of course taxis are available for hire for $20 EC to harbour. Being just above Bequia Beach Hotel, dinner is available at Bagatelle with just a 5 minute walk through the property. It is quite beautifully developed though more sophisticated than the usual for Bequia, which has its pros and its cons. The appeal of Bequia is that it is unspoilt by westernized resort development. We did find that restaurant staff were reluctant to give us better seating as they want to hold it for the hotel guests though occupancy is low and most dine after 7:30 on Bequia. We did persuade them and enjoyed being close to the crashing surf of Friendship Bay. Meal was fine though, as with most places on Bequia, fish is your best bet.

Just one major consideration when choosing Bequia as your vacation destination: it is habit forming. If you like this kind of simple island living you will not be able resist returning. And Sugarapple will offer you a warm welcome with any return visit, I am certain. They are that kind of people there.

Room Tip: I would try to get an upper suite with a view of the Bay next time but am not sure whether there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is the kind of inn you dream about when you're at your desk at 4:00 p.m. on a dreary Monday in Janurary. I've stayed at $450/night resorts and have been to 11 other islands in the Caribbean, and this is the kind of place you're always hoping to find. You can see the waters of Friendship Bay, swaying palms, green hills and brilliant blue skies from the kitchen/patio windows of rooms 1 & 2. We always kept the shutters wide open so the breeze continually kept us cool in the room without that awful too-cold feel of the a/c. Cilla and inn-cat Nell were as wonderful as all the reviews said. And they just started offering a free continental breakfast! The coconut/pineapple muffins, banana bread and fresh baked bread were heavenly, but the best part was meeting the other guests every morning over coffee or tea while everyone got their slow start to their slow day! The walk into town is perfectly doable and good exercise. Lower Bay is only 1/2 hour walk away and is definitely the "place to be" for hanging out at the beach. The Bagatelle restaurant, the closest to the inn, is expensive with small portions but very, very, very good food. We ate there twice and were very impressed with the quality of the food. Fish cakes, mashed potatoes and peas sounds about as plain as you can get, but they made it gourmet! The Devil's Table, behind Coco's in town, has the best atmosphere and food. The Frangipani's Thursday night steel band/bbq is definitely popular but the steak was so tough is was inedible. Great atmosphere, though. De Reef and Papa's were also very good. The taxi into town is only $20 EC each way (about $8.00 US), and we never had trouble getting a taxi, although we were never out after 9:00 p.m. You'll be on first name basis with several taxi drivers and have their cell numbers within days of arrival. The location isn't in the "heart" of the action, but I liked being on the Friendship side of the island rather than the "Lower" side because of the breeze--the harbor side could get awfully hot when the wind stopped. Bequia has a loyal group of Canadians who come year after year, generation after generation, who are friendly and welcoming to a fault. They'll talk your ear off! And I absolutely have to say that the locals were the friendliest I've ever met in the Caribbean. There's not the tension between tourists and locals that you often find in the big cruise-ship islands. I think it's because the tourist population isn't so transitory, but tends to rent houses for months at a time instead of just coming and going in waves every few days. Every song Jimmy Buffet ever wrote was about Bequia!

Room Tip: The incredible views are best from Rooms 1 & 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed for 10 days from 11.01.2012 having booked very last minute the weekend before. Cilla sorted everything for us and is a delightful person and host. The combination of Cilla looking after or residential needs and her husband Franklin looking after transport was perfect for us. The Sugarapple Inn like the island of Bequia has everything you require for a relaxing, fun and comfortable holiday. Great beds, excellent and quiet aircon (if you prefer cool to the windows and doors open approach), very well equipt, airy authentic Bequian design and setting with a wonderful outlook over Friendship bay which is a two minute walk from the garden gate. For people that like to experience the real thing when they are away the Sugarapple and Bequia provide it in spades.

Room Tip: All suites are similar and have a lovely outlook, but the higher ones also offer views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarapple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.