We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Railway Inn

The Railway Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lower Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Railway Inn
Save
You added The Railway Inn to your Saves list
1 Station Wynd, Lower Largo KY8 6BU, Scotland   |  
Ranked #2 of 2 Lower Largo B&B and Inns
Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My teenage daughter & I often pop in here for a refreshing drink after walking along the beach. A lovely warm greeting awaits you and a polite farewell when you leave. Lots of interesting local photographs showing the history of this great little inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ceres
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A lovel traditional local pub that welcomes visitors with a friendly smile and greeting. Traditional small pub with local ales, but it is the atmosphere that draws one in. A quiz is held each Thursday night with teams vying for the glory as it is all for fun and raises money for charity. A great little watering hole when walking the Fife Coastal Trail.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Came upon this wonderful wee pub during a walk along the Fife Coastal trail and dropped in for a drink. Barmaid greeted us as we arrived and was very friendly. The service was excellent. Bar has a very pleasant atmosphere and we had to drag ourselves away to continue our walk. This is a hidden gem and should not be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a great wee place. Came here to watch Andy Murray win the tennis & had a great time listening to the locals' banter, enjoying very well kept Deuchars served by a really pleasant barmaid, and disposing of the reprocessed beer in an immaculate loo. Sorry if that's too much info! You'll go a long way to find a better pub.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a lovely little pub. When we were in it was busy enough for enjoyment but not overcrowded. The barmaids were friendly and helpful and service very good. The local population made us very welcome and helped with bright spots in the locality.

Room Tip: Do pay a visit if you are in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galati, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Absolutely first class pub, which deserves all the previous accolades. It was a particular pleasure to have a drink and reminisce with my old pal Joe, the landlord, whom I had not seen for almost thirty years. The locals themselves were more than welcoming and I thank Bill Mutch for the wooden carvings, which the girls back in Romania were pleased to receive. Overall this hostelry would match any of the best South of the border. It is a credit to Joe and his staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I called in here while back packing my way around the Fife Coastal Path. The legs were demanding a good pint.

The atmosphere and welcome of the place was superb - as was the beer.

If you are after a meal, then this is not the place as its pies and toasted sandwiches only on a lunch time.

Real ales that are well looked after and not being surrounded by people who consider them selves so important that they can't be parted from their mobile phone for a moment make this place worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: 1 Station Wynd, Lower Largo KY8 6BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Lower Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Railway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.