We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crusoe Hotel

Crusoe Hotel
2 Main Street, Lower Largo, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Already listed as a hotel but the bar and restaurant are also very popular with non residents; Trip Advisor pages make it difficult to review the restaurant on its own.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

On holiday in lower largo and this is the only restaurant in lower largo village.

We ate here twice during our holiday and enjoyed the food. We had fish and chips which was fresh and nicely cooked. On our second visit we had the chicken pie. The portion sizes are good and the food is fresh and cooked from scratch.

We ate in the lounge which is a bit cramped, however the atmosphere was relaxed and pleasant. The hotel is dog friendly so this is a big plus. Dog bowls at the seats outside and dogs also allowed inside the bar.

The prices were a bit steep, especially in comparison to the hotel in upper largo.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    51
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loveley Fish n Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fantastic lunch menu. Had fish and Chips,was enough for two. Very friendly staff. lots of fresh choices,with local ingredients.Have been on several dates recently and enjoyed each visit. Good sized portions but delicious.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

a lovely cosy pub, serving excellent haddock and chips and good beer. We went 3 nights on the trot, we liked it that much,
,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a great bar meal, good wine and selection of beers. It was a pity there was no one else eating in the bar as the atmosphere was muted. We phoned to book and were told that there was only one table available. We only saw two other tables being served whilst we were there and in fact saw people being turned away. The food was good especially the fish and chips. Will definitely return but hope the atmosphere is better next time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lower Largo's Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I used to cycle there when I was young and swim in the harbour. Now it looks too cold but the Crusoe is nice and warm A tourist place capitalising on Andrew Selkirk and that is fine. We had lunch and enjoyed that and it would be nice to sit outside during the summer and watch boys diving in the water.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crusoe Hotel also viewed

 
Leven, Levenmouth
 

Been to Crusoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crusoe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.