We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical farm coffee shop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catrine House

Catrine House
Parlour | Catrine House, Mauchline KA5 5JY, Scotland
01290 552093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Mauchline
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Typical farm coffee shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We popped in here for lunch after a walk in nearby Sorn.
This was my 1st visit and was reasonably impressed. It was about half full although I would think that weekends and in the spring/summer it will be a lot busier with families visiting the animal/activity centre which is all part of this. Drive slowly getting here as the road!! is full of big holes to test your car.
It is not the biggest space and it would feel quite cramped when full.
The menu is typical of these shops that have sprung up. I do wonder if there is some central control as in Ayrshire they are all so similar, more variety please.
We had the soup and Panini combo. You get half a bowl of soup, it did looked short on quantity but it made up on the taste, more would have been a big plus.
The Panini's ( toasted baguette again ) were well filled. My goats cheese was tasty and my partners haggis disappeared quickly.
Service was quick and friendly. Prices par for the course.
Overall a reasonable place for a lunch stop if out this way.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coylton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Busy wee hotspot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Small cafe/tearoom with kids play area, also has a wee shop. Great choice of snack menu. Soups fabulous. Very busy but lots of staff employed to keep on top, didn't have to wait long to be served at all. Resonably priced, good food, good portions. Reminded me of the Waterfront at Coalhall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Regular visitor here as the food is fantastic. The soup and sandwich deal is fantastic and they always have a choice of soups which are brilliant. You can buy their soup to take away, which is priced at 75p for a frozen tub. Bargain! The icecream is fantastic and i can recommend the banoffee sundae to share! It's huge! The barn and outdoor play area are fantastic for kids, with the barn having animals for the kids to see.
A absolute fantastic place to visit and looking forward to the Maize maze opening soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Noisy atmosphere due to design of building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Food and service average, but choice of ice creams was good.
Prices a bit high for content of light meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for a light lunch, especially with children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently lunched here on 2 separate occasions and were most impressed by the wide choice of menu, tasty home made cooking and very friendly service. The prices were also extremely reasonable.

Two types of home made soup were available (spicy parsnip and chicken/rice) and these were served with delicious bread rolls. Panninis, baked potatoes and sandwiches were all lovely and fresh and a wide range of teas/coffees was also available.

Our 4 year old daughter loved the animal barn, play areas and of course the home made ice cream.

All in all an excellent choice for a bite of lunch or an afternoon tea with plenty to keep the children occupied.

There are many farm style cafes locally which try this formula but Catrine House is in our view the best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catrine House also viewed

Mauchline, East Ayrshire
Auchinleck, East Ayrshire
 
Failford, Mauchline
Mauchline, East Ayrshire
 

Been to Catrine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catrine House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.