We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very kind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hulhumale Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hulhumale Inn to your Saves list
Hulhumale Inn
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Nirolhumagu, Plot 10487, Hulhumale 23000   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 51 Hulhumale B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very kind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

we have spent only one night in this small and kind hotel, stopped in Hulhumale by a storm.
The room was nice and clean, moreover they have prepared us breakfast at 4:00 am!!
Perfect for reaching the airport by the free shuttle provided by the hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Despite Hulhumale Inn being an unscheduled stop for you on your visit to the Maldives it is pleasing to hear that we exceeded your expectations!
Thank you for providing us with your feedback, I will ensure it is shared with the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
16
30
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Easy transfer to /from airport , High standard rooms , all mod cons and in heart of 'real' Maldivian area , many shops and cafes close by and beach round the corner. Ideal for short stay or base for local activities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments of your time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hulhumale Inn and that our services and facilities met your requirements. I will ensure your comments are shared with the team. We hope we can welcome you again to our guesthouse in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed there at the beginning of our liveaboard trip, and again at the end and both times the stay was very pleasant. We were picked up and dropped off at the airport both times in a very efficient and friendly way, all the staff was always very friendly and helpful, and on our second visit made us feel like old friends. The rooms are modern and clean, some with a balcony. The rooftop terrace is very pleasant for breakfast, or tea and coffee all day. The area around the hotel is quiet and pleasant with a decent beach a minute away and a few good options for eating and drinking. Hulhumale with its wide, virtually carless streets was relaxing and a million miles away from the unpleasant overcrowding of Male city, although it is only 10 minutes away by boat if you need. The only slight down side was a group of very noisy Chinese tourists who did wake us up a few times when running up and down the stairs at night!

Room Tip: try to get a room with a balcony, on higher floors if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Hulhumale Inn. It is pleasing to hear that your transfer was smooth, the team welcoming and the facilities met with your approval. I will ensure your comments are shared with the team and we hope to be able to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Away from the hustle and bustle of Male this was the perfect option for us either side of a liveaboard dive trip.

Transfers to and from the airport easy and we were made to feel welcome on arrival. The location is quiet and our room on both occasions was comfortable and clean.

Breakfast was so so - fresh fruit was good but the scrambled egg portion was tiny!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review following your recent stay with us. It is always pleasing to learn when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. I would also like to confirm that we have made changes to the scrambled egg to be bigger in portion.
Thank you again for your comments it is only by receiving feedback that we can make improvements. We hope to welcome you back to Hulhumale Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I salute the reception staff, who made us feel home from the first moment. Smiles on their faces were constant!! Readness to help. The place is neat and clean and close to Male ferry station, Airport and restaurants. We would have stayed longer in Hulhumale Inn if not for the higher cost compare to similar facilities in the area.

Thanks to Hulhumale Inn Management & Staff for creating HOME for us and surely other guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd Floor are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback following your recent stay at Hulhumale Inn, your “home away from home”. Our objective is to ensure our guests receive a friendly welcome and enjoy a stay which makes them feel at home and we are therefore pleased to hear that our goal was achieved during your visit. As you point out there are other guest houses in Hulhumale that offer lower rates, indeed there are also guesthouses that charge a higher rate, however, I feel that our prices are reflective of the service and facilities we provide whilst still offering value for money.
Thank you once again for your comments I will ensure they are shared with the team, and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

we were a group of 5 people who arrived at the Inn at midnight and were met with welcome smiles and welcome drink. check in was easy. rooms are small and the bed is a double size. The beds are on the firm side and the twin beds were extremely hard according to the people sleeping in that room. Petals were strewn beautifully over the bed. There is only a top sheet and the room is air-conditioned but slightly on the noisy side. The rooms are clean and the shower and toilet are combined so everything gets wet. The breakfast is help yourself to cereal, tea and coffee and they then cook the eggs. There are some restaurants nearby and the ocean is really close. This is a very convenient place to stay for late arrivals or departures.

Room Tip: don't have the twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review following your stay at Hulhumale Inn. It’s pleasing to hear that your welcome and check in went smoothly. I am sorry to hear that the twin room beds were found to be extremely hard for your friends. We will see that these beds get new mattresses in the not too distant future which will hopefully improve the comfort of them.

Thank you once again for your comments. It is through feedback from our guests that we have the chance of improvements for future visitors. We hope to welcome you to Hulhumale Inn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuvahmulah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed just two nights but would have been happy to have a longer stay there. The room was clean, modern, well equipped and everything worked.
The free wifi is a bonus and signal strength was good.
I had a lovely welcome and this was before they even knew that day was my Birthday, having visited several resorts in the country it beat some welcomes I had paid three times the amount for!

The terrace on the top is lovely to have a morning tea or coffee, I noticed most of the guests were up and out very early and had the place to myself most the morning. Tea and coffee is on hand to help yourself and there is a small kitchenette to store/prepare your own food. These simple touches that other hotels/guest houses don't provide, charge for or forbid are really welcome.

The shower in my room was so hot and so powerful I could have stayed under it all day.

The hotel is minutes walk from the bus stop and has small supermarket style shops and cafe's all within walking distance.

As a single female I felt perfectly safe, found the staff to be exceptional, even better than some 4 star resorts I have stayed!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hulhumale Inn and will definitely visit again.

My only complaint was the noise produced in the early hours by the group of guests leaving that had arrived late the night before.... Door slamming... shouting from one floor to another to each other... all around 5.15am! Lucky the bed was cosy and I fell back to sleep or there may have been a confrontation!

As I stay in Hulhumale' a couple of times a year I would say without a doubt I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. I’m pleased to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and intend to return. Our goal is to ensure our guests feel at home with a safe environment, we like to feel that Hulhumale Inn is your “home away from home”. I will share your thoughts with the team as I know they will be excited to hear your comments.

We wish to welcome you to Hulhumale Inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hulhumale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulhumale Inn

Address: Nirolhumagu, Plot 10487, Hulhumale 23000
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhumale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hulhumale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hulhumale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the developing island of Hulhumale just a 10 minute taxi ride from Male International Airport, a 20 minute ferry journey from the capital city Male and a few steps away from a white sandy beach, Hulhumale Inn provides an ideal base from which to explore the capital area of the Maldives. Whether your stay is an overnight transfer, a business trip or a budget holiday, every effort is made at Hulhumale Inn to ensure guests feel at home and are offered the essential requirements for a comfortable and pleasant stay including, 24hr tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water and internet access. Guests can take advantage of experiencing life on a local island whilst enjoying a wide range of water sports including scuba diving, wind surfing and water skiing. Adventure packages,day trips to close by local islands and resorts, snorkeling excursions, fishing trips and BBQs can all be arranged. So whether you are looking for a vibrant city trip or a relaxed beach break Hulhumale Inn can provide your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hulhumale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulhumale Inn Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hulhumale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.