We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It OK!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Maeva Grand Bois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Tania
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residence Maeva Grand Bois
Save
You added Residence Maeva Grand Bois to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   73125 La Tania, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It OK!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Ive given the Grand Bois 3 stars because it was Average.

The appartment was very well situated and is 100% ski in ski out which is nice. You get dropped off a little way from the hotel but its not far and seeing as there is no road by the Bois its fair enough. Walk up a load of steps and your there!

The appartment kitchen facilities were adaquate and reasonably clean. Only 2 mugs, 3 plates etc which could cause a problem but not for 2 people. We had the C1 which is a larger version of the 4/5 people apartment and it is fine for 2.

Generally the place is OK but a little tired and needing a good clean in places (Bathroom floor dusty and covered in hair behind the door). You got the impression its the kind of cleaning job you would of done at the age of 6 if no one was checking your work! For example the toilet had a terrible ammonia smell filtering out from it which was apparently the 'cleaning fluid' used to clean the floor!. We waited a day then bought an air freshener which was then fine with the door closed. Smell seemed to disapear after about 3 days so maybe it was true!! (We did complain by the way!)

Beds comfy enough in a small room. No room for cases in the bedroom though.

First time to France but have heard that budget accomadation is notoriously poor in general and it was good to have a proper bed in a separate room.

I would still reccomend this to a friend but would tell them what to expect first.

3 Valleys area is right on your door and La Tania gives access to some great skiing with runs for all abilities just a lift away.

TIP: Courchevel 1850 EU12.60 for a coke and a Coffee!!!! - Meribel EU5 for a coke and a coffee be warned!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed 19th to 26th January in these apartments & from reading other reviews were in a standard apartment. We were on the 7th floor. the 9th (?) floor is a communal walkway so it would be very noisy. The apartment was well equipped, apart from wine glasses and this was immediately sorted by one of the staff- the only time we saw one. The bedroom windows open onto the walkway so you hear any revellers returning late at night. There was a gap under the entry door and it could be draughty.

BUT it was very comfortable and is so convenient. I would book it again tomorrow

Room Tip: dont be on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife, my two children (8 & 6) & I stayed at the Grand Bois A Apartments 12th - 19th jan 2013. Upon arrival at the main bus stop we discovered that the lift was not working & so had to carry our luggage & board bags up some flights of steps & across the bridge to the Grand Bois. Not a massive deal but awkward & knackering non the less. Unfortunately, the same lift was out of order when we left a week later & there were numerous people struggling to get their luggage down & it often involved a couple of trips which is not so relaxing with the kids in tow too. That was probably the only negative from an otherwise brilliant week.
Our room was no. 202 which is a corner apartment and so probably a little larger than some of the others. We were pleasantly surprised at the size & general layout. The kitchen area was well stocked with decent crockery, cutlery & pots & pans plus a four ring hob, fridge, dishwasher (take your own detergent), microwave with grill, kettle, toaster & coffee maker. The living area was spacious with a four seater dining table, large wardrobe & two double sofa/beds. The flat screen TV was good quality, with good signal & lots of UK channels incl. BBC, ITV, Film 4 etc. The main bedroom consisted of two single beds pushed together & was a little cramped with only a narrow space between the end of them & the wall to get from one side of the other. The second bedroom, again a little small consisted simply of a bunk bed but was quite sufficient. There was a separate WC room, another room with shower + sink + WC & another room with bath/shower + sink. There is also another large cupboard + shelves in the hallway. Our balcony was huge & we had a great view down to the gondola on one side & a great view over to the Folyeres run at the other end. The cleanliness was not brilliant but not terrible either. It didn't take us long to give it a quick once over ourselves (TIP: get some travel bottles to take some washing up liquid & surface cleaner & take a sponge/scourer). We didn't really experience any elevated noise levels & all slept soundly.
We utilised the lockers onsite which appeared quite secure & we were easily able to store our two snowboards & two sets of ski's + poles. As others have said, the reception area can get quite slippery so take care.
La Tania itself is a fantastic little resort with everything you could possibly need for your stay & the Grand Bois is truly a ski in/out accommodation. The Ski Lodge is good for some Apres Ski & there are a number of good places to eat out in the evenings too. The ESF ski school was brilliant for our two kids (Didier is an amazing guy) & the Alpisport hire shop was excellent too. Most importantly for us was that it was very child/family friendly & everyone we met was extremely pleasant.
A little more staff presence on reception (we also never saw a soul there after we checked in) & a reliable lift would have made it absolutely perfect.
Can't wait to go back & we would book the Grand Bois in a flash!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed in Grand Bois A apartments 12th - 19th Jan 2013.

The location of these apartments was fantastic, there is a small slope about five steps out of the equipment room taking you to the La Tania gondola. It is the perfect distance away from the Ski Lodge to enjoy it when you want to but if you need an early night you will not be effected by the noise like you are in other apartments in the area.

From talking to other people who stayed there at the same time as us we found that each apartment was slightly different from the size of the rooms to how many rings they have on the hobs. So take into account you may not have the same issues.

At first glance the rooms appear very small but after settling in we found that this was only a problem in the bedroom. There was two single beds pushed together to make a double and no room for anything else. Bedding if left for you to make your own bed on arrival (which is common in a self catering room). The main problem we had was that even with the beds pushed into the back corner you still couldn't shut the bedroom door. This was a problem with our specific room because there was a gap under the front door which created a very cold draft in the bedroom. This also meant that you can hear people walking past the room early on a morning when people are going down the the bakery or to get the first lift.

The kitchen/living area was spacious enough for the two of us but would be very cramped if there was four of you (which is the max you can book it for). There is a sofa bed and a single chair with a flat screen TV, which you can get a couple of English channels on as well as a dining table for four.
In the kitchen we had there was two cooking rings and a microwave that has different settings such as convection and grill ect (I just couldn't be bothered to try and work out how to use it). There was also a kettle, toaster and coffee machine. We found that it was lacking basic kitchen utensils such as scissors and spatula/fish slice. This made cooking harder than usual and we ended up eating out a couple more times than we wanted to.

There is a separate bathroom/toilet. Both were clean enough but if you looked close enough there was hair and dust in the corners. The shower was very good, it had a decent pressure and was easily set to the right temperature. The bath was small but good enough to soak after a long day on the piste.

The staff was non existence which we found strange because in other apartments in the area there are staff there everyday for security reasons. We found the main reception area a bit dangerous as it was always wet and I nearly fell a few times. All it needs is the black rubber pads from the door to the lift. I imagine a someone would have broken something without even going out skiing.
The storage units for equipment are small and we could only just fit in a board and a set of skis.

Overall we didn't have much to complain about with the main room. You get what you pay for and if you expect anything more id say pay extra and go in a chalet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Bois apartment block A. From the 12th - 19th January. Upon our arrival the apartment seemed small with the bedroom immediately to the left of the front door and a rather narrow hallway. However once we walked in to the living room/kitchen area it opened up nicely. The heating system was effective and easily controlled.

Although we didn't use it, the dishwasher was large a could accommodate plenty of pans and plates. There was a microwave (a combi-grill), and a 2 ring electric hob.

This area was nicely decorated and the balcony overlooked the mountains. There was plenty of storage place for 2 but anymore people may of seemed cramped. The bathroom had a towel heater which meant the room was nice and warm when coming out of the shower/bath. The shower had a decent pressure and temperature control was easy.

Unfortunately the front door had a large gap at the bottom which created an unpleasant draft. Additionally the 2 single beds in the rather small bedroom meant that the door to the bed room would not close. This meant that during the night the bedroom would become very cold. A quick adjustment of the heating however proved to counteract this effect.

There were very few useful kitchen utensils which made cooking difficult and the pans were not of high quality.

We enjoyed watching tv on the sofa bed, and although it was not the most comfortable it was large (larger than the beds in fact) and was great to relax after a long day on the pistes.

The outside of the rooms is a wooden balcony floor and with 10-15 rooms per floor it made for quite a noise as people walk past in their ski boots. Just try not to take a nap when first or last lifts are taking place!

The tap water gave myself and my girlfriend and upset stomachs. Therefore it is recommended that bottled water is bought (€1.50 for 9 litres and the Sherpa supermarket).

The locker room provided for ski equipment was useful and very close to both apartment and ski lift

The floor in the lobby was very slippery after a days worth of people bringing snow in and out so care should be taken here.

Upon checkout no one was there to take our keys and bags to the baggage room. We actually only saw the building staffed at our arrival so they could take card details for a deposit. This is despite being asked twice if we were ready to leave our room an hour before checkout by different members of staff.

Overall the apartment is good value for money in a good location. There are a few problems with the apartments but we spent so little time in there they were not really a large issue. We would stay again but only because of the value for money if I am honest. If you are a party of more than 2/3 it is definitely worth paying for a size upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just back from Grand Bois. Like other reviews, very close to the Gondola - 30 yard ski down in the morning, and a 10 yard walk back to the main door at night. Exactly what we wanted - nice, clean, recently refurbished. Balcony over the slope / main village area. Cons - small bedroom and thin walls, and we had the odd issue with hot water at busy times. Weren't an issue as we were there when it was quiet. May be different if very busy. Already booking the next trip as the location is a perfect basis for the 3 valleys without the ridiculous expense of the other resorts.

Room Tip: Our room was 611 which was right next to the lift. Wasn't a real issue as the resort was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just got back from Grand Bois.

The hotel is very close to the Gondola, and is literally ski in/out - There is a ramp at reception to ski down to the Gondola

The hotel room was of a pretty good standard, had 2 single beds, double sofa bed, tables chairs etc. The room included a flat screen TV with about 6 UK channels (some movie channels like film4)

Plenty of plates, dishes and glasses along with crockery, pots and pans

The part that lets this down is the beds, extremely dirty and uncomfortable, didnt sleep well all week and noticed that under the beds had probably not been cleaned in years considering the inch deeps dust under them

You can also hear everything going in in the hotel, bangs, parties also people doing the dirty deed

The hotel is located in a tiny village so you are very close to a supermarket and also bars/restaurants

We couldnt find anyone at reception all week and when we put our luggage in the secure room at the end of the week we found out the room was not even locked

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Maeva Grand Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Maeva Grand Bois

Address: 73125 La Tania, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > La Tania
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Specialty Lodging in La Tania
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Maeva Grand Bois 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A car-free resort for families. Residence in the heart of the resort. Direct access on skis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Grand Bois Hotel Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Maeva Grand Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.