We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best chalet experience we've ever had....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Dahu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Tania
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Dahu
Save
You added Chalet Dahu to your Saves list
Route de Folyeres, 73125 La Tania, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best chalet experience we've ever had....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We arrived in La Tania on 19th February 2012 for a week. As a couple joining a shared chalet you never quite know who else you are going to be with, but we were in fantastic company, it was a brilliant group and we all bonded very quickly.... but then we all had skiing as a good starting point.
Alydia and Kris were the most fantastic hosts, very friendly, helpful and offering the most wonderful catering. There was almost too much food! I can honestly say that they are the best chalet hosts we have ever had.
The rooms are small (as they are in every chalet I've ever stayed in!) but warm, cosy and very, very clean. We had an en-suite shower room but the hot-tub more than made up for my need to soak!.
Ski-Dazzle offer ski-hosting on a Monday & Thursday at Dahu, and Dan was great company. We have skied in the area a few times now, but he managed to show us something new, and pointed us in the direction of other pistes to try on our days of skiing alone. All of the chalets in La Tania are very close to the piste, but Dahu is truly ski-in/ski-out - perfect.....
Sallyann who runs Ski-Dazzle was fantastic too, she answered all our queries prior to arrival very quickly, arranged our ski passes and bought them to the chalet on the night we arrived, ate with us one evening to answer any other queries we might have had, and generally was on hand to sort out any issues.
La Tania is a brilliant little place, fantastically placed to ski the whole of the 3 Valleys (especially Courchevel and Mirabel). Add to that the best snow in many years and this year certainly goes to the top of our list of best ski holidays ever. We will certainly be returning. Later this season if at all possible!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We returned to Ski Dazzle for a second year in La Tania to chalet Dahu. Juliet in 2011 and Dahu in 2012. The chalets are both ski in ski out so their locations are fabulous. This year Kris and Alyda were supberb hosts, and thier cooking was a delight to eat, Breakfast set you up, pack lunches for the day and that tea time cake to tide you over till the evening meal were great. The evening meals were the highlight of the day apart ftom the skiing...!!
The large lounge / dining room was a great place to socialise and with the log fire was really a very good place to unwind with a glass or two of wine or a beer after a days skiing. Cozy bedrooms, en suite amenities, hot tub and sauna to relax and prepare for the next day all helped the week along.
Transfers were possible and ski hire and pass's available at the chalet via Sally Anne all hoped to make this a verry enjoyalbe Holiday. (Helped this year by the best snow in ages).
The chalet was full for our week in Feb but there was still plenty of space if you wanted.
This place comes highly recommended in our views

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We visited Chalet Dahu during Christmas week and we weren't disappointed! It felt like a home from home - if your home has welcoming chalet hosts, restaurant quality food, a hot tub & sauna and borders the piste! On arrival we were welcomed by chalet hosts Kris and Alydia who immediately supplied us with tea and coffee and ran through everything we needed to know about our stay. They arranged for our ski hire...boots and skis were brought to us instead of having to traipse down to the shop...and SallyAnn, from SkiDazzle brought our lift passes to us straight away. Nothing was too much trouble! The communal area was warm & comfortable and decorated in alpine style, complete with Christmas decorations, and had added extras like free wi-fi, tv and dvd's (though we were too busy skiing to watch them) and an ipod docking station. The bedrooms were compact & cozy, with plenty of storage space, ensuite bathrooms with plenty of hot water, towels & robes and comfy beds which ensured a good nights sleep. The whole chalet was spotlessly clean & the hot tub and sauna were great after a hard day of skiing...well worth the chilly dash out of the front door! The food was fabulous & plentiful, as was the wine, which was chosen to compliment the meal. We enjoyed traditional Savoyard food, a Christmas dinner and 'spice night'. You couldn't fault the location of the chalet either, a true doorstep skiing experience! The Chalet Dahu holiday has really spoilt me...I'll find it very hard to go back to a self-catered apartment!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our stay at Chalet Dahu was our first in a catered chalet - and certainly won't be our last, as long as it is with SkiDazzle. We stayed over Christmas 2011 with our family and our friends' family. The chalet was cosy and warm and the hosts, Kris and Alydia couldn't have been more welcoming. In fact they were delightful! The food was excellent as was the cleanliness. The bedrooms were small but more than adequate as were the bathrooms. There was plenty of room for storage both in the bedrooms and the bathrooms. The beds were comfortable and my husband and I slept better than ever before on a ski holiday (and we've had many). There was no problem with noise other than one night when the 2 year old in our party was fractious and no amount of soundproofing could have prevented that. The sitting room was comfortable and if I had one criticism it would be that the Christmas tree started losing it's needles very early on! The hot tub was wonderful and it was nice not to have to worry about providing towels or robes. Sallyann (of Skidazzle) even provided a keyboard and music so that we could play and sing carols on Christmas Eve - a really personal touch. The venue is excellent both for skiers and non- skiers such as me. Dan was also very helpful in his "handyman" guise. We had wanted to book for next Christmas but unfortunately someone got there first! I would highly recommend Chalet Dahu.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies were more airy and had more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My partner and I returned from our holiday at Chalet Dahu 29/01/12. Every aspect of our trip was perfect....the hosting couple Chris and Alydia could not have been more accommodating. Every meal cooked to perfection and hospitality excellent. We stayed the whole week so were lucky enough to join the rest of the chalet group for a hosting day in the mountains with Dan who made sure we saw the very best of the three valleys. The rooms were small, but cosy and warm (kind of what you would expect from a chalet) and clean. The hot tub and sauna were excellent for soothing the muscles after a full day on the slopes. The location of the chalet is excellent. Ski-in-ski-out made this holiday hassle free!
We would recommend choosing Chalet Dahu for anyone looking for a great holiday which is most certainly value for money. On the subject of noise, of the 7 nights we stayed, we were woken up only one night by noise, from our own group! we found La Tania a very peaceful location....
R & S

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great communication from Ski Dazzle and an efficient collection service was a good start to the stay at Chalet Dahu in La Tania. Our hosts were very polite and the food very good. However, the Chalet is certainly not of a good quality. The rooms are tiny, basic and the noise from everything else in the Chalet is overwhelming. Bathrooms are basic and one of our rooms was not en suite. Although the food was good the lack of extraction meant that the smell from the food stayed with you (and your clothes in the room) for a long time after you have enjoyed the meal.

We arrived late on the day the staff had a day off so we were warned that there would be nobody there. They did not tell us that there would be no towels, no welcome letter and NO heating on in the room!!!!

Chalet position is great with true ski in-ski out and the staff were very helpful. Overall I would say if you are looking for a basic chalet and good food it's fine, but manage your expectations and take some earplugs!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Dahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Dahu

Address: Route de Folyeres, 73125 La Tania, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > La Tania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in La Tania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, traditional wood chalet, next to the blue piste, with hot tub, sauna and free wifi. Sleeping up to 12 people in six bedrooms all with their own bathrooms, this chalet is warm and inviting, with a cosy lounge, and fantastic views from the balcony onto the piste. Look forward to delicious food and wine prepared by two dedicated staff. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Dahu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.