We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Tania
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Escape
Save
You added Alpine Escape to your Saves list
9 Chemin de Morettaz, 73125 La Tania, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Holiday to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This was our first family ski holiday and my 40th birthday celebration. We have travelled a great deal and by far Alpine Escape offered us the best quality service we have experienced. The food prepared by Mike was exceptional - fabulous host. Alpine escape truly gave us the best ski holiday. Wine selection was first class. We have talked about this holiday none stop and have some fabulous memories. Thank you so much. Ps - thanks to Neil for saving us from a very snowy Coucheval and to Jo for being on hand and guiding us through our first ski holiday. We will be back........

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

If you want to stay at any in La Tania then Alpine Escapes Chalets are the best.
Stayed at Elegani last year and this and was delighted with every aspect of he service, from the quality of the food, the attentiveness of the hosts and the professionalism of Jo and Neil who run it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Shhhhh...keep this place quiet, very selfish....

Another awesome break in La Tania. Back to Chalet Johanna this time. Mike is a superb chef, i cant imagine many chalets having restaurant quality chefs the quality of he. Pork belly and then rolled lamb right up there....if only his ability of jumping off kickers was as good....

Hostess Bobby's dilligence knew no bounds and was good fun around the chalet. Awesome weather, if a little cold, but thats being fussy.

I still think La Tania is one of the best resorts in the world. It accesses some of the best skiing around, without the prices and graces of courcheval, or the of britshness of Meribel.

These guys are a notch or 2 up from your usual chalet holiday with great care taken with service, food and wine.

Room Tip: Its a charming wooden chalet. so some noise around. best rooms are in the basement but you cant real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Just got back from Chalet Pleroma. Hosts David and Heather were wonderful, helpful, friendly and very welcoming. Their food was second to none - the quality of a very good restaurant - and the menu choice for the week was excellent. Wines were well selected and plentiful.
The chalet, which has beautiful panoramic views over La Tania and across the valley, was well maintained and spotlessly spotlessly clean throughout the week. There was a hot tub with a nice view over the mountains, which was very welcome after a hard day skiing. The chalet is a 30 metre walk to either a red or green run, though the Alpine Escape team were at hand with their Land Rover if we needed a lift into the town centre (10/15 min walk), or a pick up at the end of the day. I have been skiing for 30 years and this was my most enjoyable chalet experience. I would definitely recommend Alpine Escapes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had a wonderful week in Chalet Elangeni in January 2012. Our hosts were great and the food was fantastic. We took our 6 month old daughter and the chalet hosts were great helping us to make the stay as easy as possible. Jo and Neil at Alpine Escape arranged for baby supplies to be waiting for us as well as some toys and a high chair/cot. Jo recommended Helen, a qualified nanny, to look after our daughter whilst we were skiing. Helen was great and we had no anxiety leaving our baby in her care. James, the chef, took time to prepare puree for our daughter which was very helpful. Ski passes were waiting in the chalet for us as promised. Rooms are not large but this is in keeping with all the other chalets we have stayed in - we also had a cot taking up some room. Elangeni is a stone chalet and as such there is much less noise transmission making the chalet a lot more soundproof than most others. You can ski to within 20m of the chalet on a blue run (Folyeres). We would recommend Alpine Escape and Chalet Elangeni wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I've just got back from a fabulous week in Chalet Johanna. Mike, our chef, was superb. The food was easily restaurant standard - Mike's care and attention made the week a success, such as a variety of homemade chutneys to compliment the cheese course and fantastic presentation/taste combinations in every course. Bobby, our chalet host, always had a smile on her face and the rooms were spotless and thoughtfully looked after each day. The chalet itself has a lovely communal area, free wifi, jacuzzi with spectacular sunset views and an open fire.

Alpine Escape's other staff took time to make sure the week was a success. Jo's organisation of transfers and lift passes made our arrival/departure effortless and Pete, our ski host, was a fantastic source of local knowledge.

Thank you for such a lovely week - I wouldn't be surprised if Alpine Escape had even organised the blue sky and perfect snow conditions we had!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worces
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed in chalet Sophie for the first time, our two previous stays have been in chalet Joanna. .Jo & Neil came up trumps again. A great chalet with a games room for our boys
our chef and hosts Heather & Dave (fairdinkum) provided fantastic foodand hospitality.They did really well as it was their first week running a chalet but nothing to worry about as nothing is too much trouble for all the alpine escape crew. Our eldest son Josh (18) was taken out by Neil for a mornings sking, Josh said it was the best morning sking he had ever had, even though Neil boards he nearly kept up with Josh - ha ha!! We were there 1st week of the season weather was a bit dissappointing (to much snow!) but chalet sophie with hot tub 1st class food and wine made up for it,thanks Jo and Neil.
p.s keep waxing that board Neil,Josh will be back next year

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Escape

Address: 9 Chemin de Morettaz, 73125 La Tania, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > La Tania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in La Tania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Escape have three luxury ski chalets in La Tania, Courchevel, The Three Valleys. Situated at 1400 metres. Ski to chalet experience. Fully catered. High level cuisine. Outdoor hot tubs. Luxuriously furnished. Spacious open plan living spaces. High beamed ceilings. Large windows. Stunning views. Professional and dedicated staff. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.