We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb...the best chalet holiday yet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Tania
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Escape
Save
You added Alpine Escape to your Saves list
9 Chemin de Morettaz, 73125 La Tania, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb...the best chalet holiday yet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I've just got back from a fabulous week in Chalet Johanna. Mike, our chef, was superb. The food was easily restaurant standard - Mike's care and attention made the week a success, such as a variety of homemade chutneys to compliment the cheese course and fantastic presentation/taste combinations in every course. Bobby, our chalet host, always had a smile on her face and the rooms were spotless and thoughtfully looked after each day. The chalet itself has a lovely communal area, free wifi, jacuzzi with spectacular sunset views and an open fire.

Alpine Escape's other staff took time to make sure the week was a success. Jo's organisation of transfers and lift passes made our arrival/departure effortless and Pete, our ski host, was a fantastic source of local knowledge.

Thank you for such a lovely week - I wouldn't be surprised if Alpine Escape had even organised the blue sky and perfect snow conditions we had!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
worces
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed in chalet Sophie for the first time, our two previous stays have been in chalet Joanna. .Jo & Neil came up trumps again. A great chalet with a games room for our boys
our chef and hosts Heather & Dave (fairdinkum) provided fantastic foodand hospitality.They did really well as it was their first week running a chalet but nothing to worry about as nothing is too much trouble for all the alpine escape crew. Our eldest son Josh (18) was taken out by Neil for a mornings sking, Josh said it was the best morning sking he had ever had, even though Neil boards he nearly kept up with Josh - ha ha!! We were there 1st week of the season weather was a bit dissappointing (to much snow!) but chalet sophie with hot tub 1st class food and wine made up for it,thanks Jo and Neil.
p.s keep waxing that board Neil,Josh will be back next year

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quimper
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have just got back from an extra special Christmas holiday at Chalet Johanna in La Tania. From the start Jo was extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with. We arrived in La Tania to deep snow and a beautiful wooden chalet with roaring log fire, flickering candles and champagne and canapes. The bedrooms are lovely with crisp white cotton sheets, waffle dressing gowns and lovely occitane toiletries. All the normal hassles of skiing were whipped away from us, Alpine Escape organised our ski passes, lessons, took us to the shop to hire our skis, and organised our morning lift to ski school for those who didn't want to ski in and ski out from the chalet. It all seemed pretty much perfect, but then we had our socks completely knocked off. Mike the chef, must be the Alps best kept secret. Each night we were treated to the most fabulous four course gourmet meals, served with delicious wines, and finished off with port and cheese and home made chocolates, it was such a treat. Christmas Day was a show stopper, and I am not going to say any more as I would happily book to do the same every year. I am a little cynical about the word luxury as it is often over used and means different things to different people, but at Alpine Escape, it is the exceptional standard of service that really makes it stand out from any other holiday we have ever been on. The attention to detail is superb. A huge thank you to Mike and Gaby and the whole team for all your hard work, it was really appreciated and we can't wait to come back, I don't think we will ever go skiing any other way.

Room Tip: The rooms were all en suite and lovely and the Alpine Escape website has floor plans to help you cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We have been lucky enough to stay in both Chalet Sophie (Jan 11) and Chalet Pleroma (Mar 11) and both more than come up to expectation. Jo and Neil and their team ensure a fabulous stay from the champagne on arrival, amazing meals, & good wines right through to ending the day relaxing in the hot tub. The hosts/chefs/guides are relaxed, informed and great fun too! Alpine Escape ensure your holiday runs smoothly with welcome lifts and great advice on all aspects of the holiday, always thoroughly professional and extremely welcoming. Can't wait to book the next trip!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

From the description we expected luxury.... it was all we expected and more. Jo and Neil at Alpine Escapes went that extra mile to ensure that the holiday was perfect. What can I say - lovely chalet, superb food cooked by our chef, Lindsey and great Hostess, Rosie. Thanks to Neil and Pete for all the lifts to the slopes, with the little ones. Memories of sitting in the hot tub, chatting about the days skiing, looking at the wonderful view of the mountains - with a glass of fizz - wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We've just got home from a fantastic week at Chalet Sophie.
We travelled as a group of 12 friends and family with two children. from the start Jo could not have been more helpful. We'd had a bad experience with a different company and Jo communicated well with us beforehand so that we were clear on what to expect.
The chalet is cosy and was kept beautifully clean by the staff. Bedrooms were snug but we were squeezing in two small children in a full chalet. The lounge was big enough for us all though and there was a games room to spill into had we needed it. Rose and Lyndsay were amazing - Lyndsay produced amazing meals from the tiniest of kitchens all week and we were able to cater for ourselves on their day off without a huge string of does and don'ts to adhere to. Rose made sure we felt spoilt all week sorting out everything from drinks to table reservations.
La Tania was perhaps a little low lying for what has not been a great year for snow but Pete and Neil were available for lifts down to the village and regular buses ran over to the rest of Courchevel. The snow on the higher slopes was good if a little icier than previous years and we enjoyed great lessons from British Alpine Ski Schools up in 1850.
It felt like how ski holidays ought to be at their best.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We had another great holiday with Alpine Escape, staying this time at Chalet Elangeni.
Jenna and Matt were brilliant hosts and their wine descriptions in the evening were both informative and humerous. Andy the chef prepared the most fantastic meals, catering effortlessly for all the fussy eaters ;-). We've all come home several pounds heavier :-).
Neil and Jo answered all our questions, and helped organise our transfers too. Neil and Pete were also welcome ski hosts during our week.
The hot tub is an added bonus after a days skiing and sitting relaxing with a glass of fizz is the icing on the cake for me!
Many thanks to the Alpine Escape team.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Escape

Address: 9 Chemin de Morettaz, 73125 La Tania, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > La Tania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in La Tania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Escape have three luxury ski chalets in La Tania, Courchevel, The Three Valleys. Situated at 1400 metres. Ski to chalet experience. Fully catered. High level cuisine. Outdoor hot tubs. Luxuriously furnished. Spacious open plan living spaces. High beamed ceilings. Large windows. Stunning views. Professional and dedicated staff. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.