We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARGARITAVILLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firefly Sunset Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elbow Cay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Firefly Sunset Resort
Save Saved
You added Firefly Sunset Resort to your Saves list
Centre Line Road | Abaco, Elbow Cay   |  
Hotel amenities
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“MARGARITAVILLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were staying on Lubber's Quarters Cay last week and kept hearing about FIREFLY. Since we had a boat, we decided to check it out. All I can say is WOW! The grounds are immaculate, the views are world class, and the food was wonderful. Although we did not stay at FIREFLY, we ate dinner there twice. We have already booked a cottage for Christmas week. What a jewel this resort is! I have traveled all over the Bahamas and Caribbean and can truly rate this resort as one of the finest I have visited. I can honestly say this is hands down the BEST resort on Elbow Cay. If you are a boater, it is located just to the left of the mouth of White Sound. It has a large dock to accommodate boats. If you are without a boat, it is about a 10 minute golf cart ride from Hope Town. To the owners of FIREFLY, I say THANK YOU.

Room Tip: Java Rum and Mint Two Be are directly on the water. They are only steps to the beach and bar. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

we stayed in java rum house for a weekend and everything was perfect, since the moment Lorenzo picked us up in Hope Town until the moment we left.
we were greeted us with anything we needed and on the first night we had a wonderful experience withf The Illest reggae band performance. Fantastic

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beyond the fact that this is a gorgeous resort, the staff here make it outstanding. Lorenzo greeted us when we arrived and saw to any requests we had. It's evident that he is very experienced in hospitality and seeing to every detail. The entire staff are extremely attentive, helpful and contagiously friendly. I can't say enough about their restaurant and bar. I stayed here 4 nights and dined in their restaurant for lunch and dinner. The cuisine is world class! The chef, Gavin, is one one of the best anywhere!

The views are spectacular and I watched the sunsets from the bar every evening. I also went snorkeling in front of the resort and captured some great photographs of their resident turtle.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained as well. I stayed in the Dragonfly cottage and the rooms were very clean with all the comforts of home...internet, large flat screen TV, full kitchen...I really hated to leave this beautiful place. I'm already planning my return trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I actually met part of the crew on their day off, when we were staying in Great Guana Cay and they visited that island on their day off. They sold us the idea of Firefly with so much enthusiasm that we just had to come over a couple of days later.

Boy, their enthusiasm was justified more than we could imagine! Upon arriving we were greated by Lorenzo and the crew at Firefly. The location is beautifully situated on the sea of Abaco and although we didn't see the villas from the inside as we did not sleep at Firefly, they look beautiful and spacious from the outside. The crew is very friendly, helpful and entertaining when engaged in conversation. And the food is the best we've tasted throughout our visit to the Bahama's!

All in all, we'll definitely come back here to stay at the villas next time we're in Elbow Cay. Lorenzo, Devero, Tyrone and everyone else at Firefly: thank you for making us feel so welcome!

Britt & Mick, Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Although we did not stay at the Resort we did frequent the restaurant while staying on Elbow Cay. We were so excited to finally take our picture in front of the glowing FireFly words down by their dock. The drinks were amazing, the food was 5 star. Our daughter was excited they had the "Corn hole" game to play down by the water. Their pool was beautiful, the grounds were immaculate, just wish we would have stayed there! It is at a great location for day boating to other areas of Elbow and surrounding Cays. I bought my sister a t-shirt from FireFly for her birthday and she was thrilled :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence, The Bahamas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here with a group over the long weekend and it was Fantastic! the Food was absolutely incredible - seriously incredible!! the cottages are very nicely decorated and comfortable. All the creature comforts of home ( stereo, TV, Full Kitchen) - but who wants to watch TV when you are in one of the most beautiful places!?? all the staff couldnt have been more friendly and accomadating. We Cannot wait to get back there again! Trust me it will be very soon!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The service and hospitality are incredible. The team is friendly, attentive and so very accommodating. We were there for our first visit last October/November. When we arrived last week, we were overwhelmed to be greeted by so many of the same team members that remembered us – and our names!! And my favorite bartender in the world – Devero (I hope I am close to spelling your name correctly) - even remembered the special pina colada concoction he made for me – with a big squeeze of lime.

The entire property is immaculately planned and maintained. The landscaping is lush and colorful. Cottages are spacious, beautifully decorated, comfortably appointed – and sparkling CLEAN!! Each cottage has a very large wrap around deck with plenty of seating and a beautiful view of the Sea of Abaco. On this trip we stayed in Butterfly. The 2 bedrooms are on opposite sides of the cottage from each other, providing adequate privacy and quiet whether traveling with family or another couple. The fully equipped kitchen is well stocked with cookware and tableware – making breakfast or dinner “at home” a treat. There is a large flat-screen TV and CD/MP3 player in the great room and WIFI. But I suggest leaving the electronics alone and getting outdoors.

There is a lovely and thriving artificial reef just in front of the resort, so bring your snorkel gear (If you don’t have any you can easily rent it in town.) You step right into the water from the “beach”. Lots of large and small fish of all sorts of colors, and 2 beautiful turtles that love to show off. A wonderful way to spend a few hours! After snorkeling, take a trip in one of the 2 sea kayaks, or try your hand at paddle boarding. If you want a little less activity, play a little corn hole on the beach or just float in one of the 2 pools.

Be prepared – this is a small island. While we were there the power went out a few times. But Firefly has a great generator and never missed a beat. They kept the food hot, the cottages cool and the drinks COLD!

Suggestions: rent a golf cart or a boat -or BOTH! Hope Town is about 10 minutes at rental golf cart speed. Firefly will take you in their cart, but it is nice to have the flexibility to tour the entire island at your own pace. If you are a boater, renting one is a must. As much as we love Elbow Cay, we also love the day trips to other islands.

The property is just beautiful. But it is the people that make it so special. After 2 visits, we truly feel like part of the family!

Firefly is ideal for couples, families or groups of friends. But even if you come by yourself, everyone is so friendly you will make new friends fast. We can’t wait to get back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonAbroad, Public Relations Manager at Firefly Sunset Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on Elbow Cay. We hope that you will come and see us again. Cheers!
The Staff of Firefly Sunset Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Firefly Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Sunset Resort

Address: Centre Line Road | Abaco, Elbow Cay
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Elbow Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Elbow Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise awaits at the Firefly Sunset Resort overlooking the Sea of Abaco in Hope Town, Elbow Cay in Abaco, Bahamas. Experience Abaco’s breathtaking views and the relaxing tranquility of this tropical vacation destination. Set on a secluded oceanfront estate, the Firefly Sunset Resort features seven beautiful rental cottages with modern amenities, two pools, dock slips, a private beach, on-site snorkeling reef and The Firefly Bar & Grill waterfront bar and restaurant. About our Cottages: If you’re looking to travel with the entire family or a large group, reserve the “Sweet Tea Cottage” or “Georgia Peach Cottage”. These luxurious villas offer four bedrooms, four baths and modern amenities. Unwind on the expansive rich Brazilian wood decks with elevated views of the Sea of Abaco and dazzling daily sunsets. Escape to our “Java Rum Plantation House”, a Bahamian-style home with three bedrooms, two baths and just steps from the Sea of Abaco. Cook up your catch of the day in its modern gourmet kitchen and dine al fresco in this gorgeous getaway. Three of our cottages on the resort, “Dragonfly Cottage”, “Butterfly Cottage” and “Firefly Cottage” are charming two bedroom, two bath cottages perfect for a small family or couples looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. The cottages feature a full-sized kitchen, living room, dining room and a spacious veranda to unwind after a day on the water. Whether you’re celebrating your honeymoon or looking to rekindle the flame, the “Mint-Two-Be Cottage” extends over the Sea of Abaco and features your own private deck and plunge pool. This two bedroom, two bath cottage is designed for romance as the sound of the waves crash onto the reef below. Just steps away from your cottage, enjoy fresh seafood and other island creations at the Firefly Bar & Grill at Firefly Sunset Resort. Serving up savory daily specials, guests can sit back, relax and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets and a Firefly Sweet Tea Vodka cocktail. You can’t miss our daily sunsets at our Seaside Sunset Bar. Get your glow in the Abacos! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Firefly Sunset Resort Elbow Cay, Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firefly Sunset Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;