We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunmore

Save Saved
You added The Dunmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dunmore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colebrook Lane, Dunmore Town, Harbour Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunmore Town
Doral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise found again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After a few years of frequenting Harbour Islands, I stayed for the first time at The Dunmore and to my surprise the place was much more than I anticipated. Their welcoming was awesome, (very Bahamian homey feeling), to the point that they already knew who we were even before we checked in. The bartender, Lynn, welcomed us along with the front desk person, Amy ,told us to sit back, relax and enjoy an island drink or cocktail. Little did Lynn knew she makes one the of finest "pina coladas" with "gin" drink in all of the Bahamas ! From Henry who wanted to make sure we were happy to Bob always keeping the atmosphere upbeat and Daniel at the beach, the place with its charm is one of the most relaxing gems of the caribbean, if not the best. Reason, I did not want to leave the grounds during our stay. And the food, excellent and appetizing and being able to have breakfast, unch or dine so close to the ocean added to the experience. In the states, I live on the ocean and I could compare and notice the difference. So far, to me, it does not get any better !

Room Tip: Limited rooms, all located on the grounds are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Staying at the Dunmore is like staying at a well heeled friend's guest cottage on their estate. The Dunmore combines the right amount of privacy and social interaction. Upon arrival the staff greets you warmly without a typical check in area. It feels like you are walking into someone's home. We had a deluxe garden view cottage which also had a view of the ocean, which was a nice surprise. The cottage was appointed well with a desk and bureau, but could have used an armchair or couch as the only seating were two wicker chairs. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable! The bathroom was huge with both a large shower and Jacuzzi tub. Our room was attended to twice a day for cleaning and turn down service. Monalisa attended to our room during our stay and was great. This beach is the best! The beach attendants were very attentive, setting me up every morning in my preferred spot. The restaurant is great as well. A good rival to Sip Sip for the lunch scene. I prefer the Dumore restaurant and food actually, for both lunch and dinner. You must have the artichoke dip! The whole staff was welcoming, Bob, Amy, Rasheeda and all! I've stayed at several places on HI and rented several homes, I think this will be my place to stay from now on. The only suggestion I have is that they get better loungers for the beach, it was hard to lie stomach down and read as the loungers have straps.

Room Tip: Yellow East is the cottage we stayed in. It is a deluxe garden view cottage, but you also get a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Dunmore is a beautiful and luxurious intimate beach resort. The location is perfect, the rooms are spacious and very inviting, the bar and food outstanding...but best of all are the wonderful team that make it all happen. It really is like staying in a great friends cottage bit with all the services laid on. We loved it and came away fully relaxed.

The Island is as beguiling as the Dunmore. Whilst a little rustic in places, the open friendliness of the locals, the great choice of very good restaurants and the quirky and interesting shops made for a great destination rather than just being committed to one resort.

We loved Harbour island and The Dunmore. We've travelled a lot and stayed in many high end resorts and would rate this as highly as any we've enjoyed so far. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: There's marginal difference between ocean view and garden. Our group stayed in both and next tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Everything about this resort is the best...the beach, the food, but most importantly the people.
This was our 3rd trip to the Dunmore and we look forward each time to seeing people we now consider friends. Bob, Erica, Ann, Henry - thank you for all you do to make us feel so welcome when we return each year. This would just be another luxury resort without the hearts of these wonderful people, instead it is a uniquely special place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Dunmore did it again! We had such a fantastic stay in 2012, that we came back in March 2014. Fabulous. The food, room, pool, beach...every aspect of the resort was top notch. But the service delivered by the wonderful staff is really what makes a stay there special. Really everyone is great - but extra kudos to Henry. More than a bartender - he is like an ambassador. Thanks to all of the staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We recently stayed for our second time at the Dunmore Beach Hotel. Again, a wonderful experience with such a warm, welcoming and extremely attentive staff. The food is now the best on the island. The grounds are beautiful, well-maintained and the hotel's beach location makes this the place we'll return to again and again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Having enjoyed several delicious meals at the Dunmore's beautiful terrace restaurant overlooking the stunning pink sands beach on a previous visit to Harbour Island the hotel seemed the obvious choice for a long weekend at the beginning of February.

The hotel did not disappoint. Indeed it surpassed all my expectations and after four days I had to tear myself away with a tear in my eye.

The new general manager Mary and her amazing team create a welcome and sense of belonging that is hard to beat. The attention to detail is superb but it is the soul of the place created by the people who work there that is so magical. Bob, Rashida and Stephanie on the front desk, Erica and her many attentive colleagues in the restaurant, the chefs in the kitchen, Lynn and Henry at the bar and the wonderful Daniel on the beach all made us feel like family (as another reviewer has mentioned). I cannot imagine wanting to spend time in the sun anywhere else and having heard a few of Mary's ideas for the future I know that I shall want to return again and again.

To the detail. Our cottage was the most simple and yet it was beautifully appointed with all the towels, robes and toiletries you could desire. The room was tastefully furnished in the style seen throughout the hotel and a small terrace outside provided all the external space that was needed. The bathroom was on the small side but dressed beautifully in keeping with the room. The bath / shower was a little dated but I liked the fact that they had not just replaced it - when something works why fix it?

The restaurant were amazing when it came to managing my coeliac dietary requirements. Even flying in gluten free flour from Miami so that they could bake bread for me. Nothing was too much trouble and they even prepared me a lunch platter to take for the wait at North Eleuthera airport.

Dinner on Friday night was enlivened by a local band who played and sang at just the right level to entertain without drowning out conversation. They apparently normally play on Saturday but another guest was celebrating his birthday with a large group of friends and so the hotel had the band play on the Friday. That is the kind of thoughtful service that makes this place so special.

It's great to be able to write something so positive but the down side is that word will be out. If you want an exceptional level of service in this part of the world this is where you need to come. We dined out only once and despite choosing what we knew to be a fine restaurant the service was so disappointing by comparison to the Dunmore that we didn't venture out to eat again!

I will be back as soon as I can. No fancy new car for me this year just another trip or two to the Dunmore!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunmore

Address: Colebrook Lane, Dunmore Town, Harbour Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island > Dunmore Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunmore Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunmore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunmore has been completely renovated! The former Dunmore Beach Club has been transformed far beyond the name change. Luxury amenities have been added throughout the historic resort, including a grand oceanfront pool, state-of-the-art fitness facility and a new restaurant serving fine Island cuisine. In-room additions include Molton Brown(R) products, custom furnishings, flat-panel TVs, telephones and Wi-Fi. Experience the new sense of luxury that enhances the tradition and charm of this quintessential Harbour Island destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Dunmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunmore Hotel Dunmore Town
Dunmore Beach Club
The Dunmore Dunmore Town, Harbour Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.