We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talalla Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Talalla Retreat to your Saves list
Talalla Retreat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Talalla South | Gandara, Talalla, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talalla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
1 review
“The perfect spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I can't believe anyone had a bad experience here, it was so peaceful. The temperature stayed a perfectly even 27 degrees for the whole time & just added to the experience. In your rooms gentle screening provided by bamboo blinds cast lovely shadows through the room. Such serenity!

I spent my time walking along the white sands of Talalla beach, visiting the yoga studios, reading by the amazing central pool surrounded by bougainvillea, cardamom, palms & other exotic trees, learning to surf and catching fireflies in my hand at night. If you feel like exploring, hit Dikwella for Saturday markets as well as the early morning fish markets by the side of the main road.

Food is fresh, clean & delicious - think coconuts, fish and salad. This was definitely a highlight along with the service, which was amazing. This is a very special place & I loved every minute.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    112
    57
    29
    14
See reviews for
48
185
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coorabell, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We travelled through Sri Lanka, (2 ladies) and found Talalla delightful in every way. Gorgeous pool and gardens, best un-touristy beach with fisherman tending to their boats, nice room, dinner was buffet style with chicken, fish, pasta, curries, buffalo curd, pineapple crumble (yam). I cannot believe how negative some of the reviews are and people writing about humitity and their hair not drying, and mosquitos... guys Sri Lanka is in the tropics and it is a green island, of course it rains and of course there are mosquitos!
Talalla, however, could improve on how they present their invoices and may be streamline some charges etc.
I am planning a next trip to Talalla to do a yoga retreat - Brad the teacher is great, he does allow everybody to go at their own pace. Cheers to all Bettina/Coorabell Australia

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I am sorry to say but this place is overrated, it is very basic and we got completely eaten by mosquitos and flees!
The rooms were basic with a blanket serving as a door between the room and the open air bathroom. Not enough to keep the mosquitos and flees out, even with the mosquito net around the bed still got us eaten, and after the 4 days we spent there my body looked like I had been beaten up.
We could hear every sound our neighbors made as one house consisted of 4 rooms extremely close together.
We were not lucky with the weather, it rained every day, and there is nothing to do (except yoga) when it rains. The weather was so humid that I could wash my hair in the morning and it would still be wet in the evening, the bed sheets felt wet and damp every night I went to bed, - and I was told that would could only have one towel for the 4 days as the hotel could not wash/dry the towels due to humidity.
This is more of a hippie resort, the dining room looks a bit like a holy sect kind of thing, yet the food was nice and seemed very "home cooked". There is a great choice for vegetarians and not so much variety in the meat.
The beach is 30 meters away, it had fishermen and boats and 10 wild dogs that would all like to sit on your towel.
Considering that this hotel is probably 2 or 3 star (in my opinion) it is very pricey. Not worth the money at all. I think the hotel is only 4 years old, but it lacks renovation already, especially the bathrooms, the showers, the taps.
Sri Lanka has a shortage of hotels at the moment, this probably explains why it is so over-priced.
I read about the place on Lonely Planet, this is the last time I take advice from Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed 2 days at Talalla at the end of our holiday. The location is secluded and nice. The diesign and layout of the villas are very nice. Beach is close by and very secluded as well.
The food food and the resataurant area are a big contrast to the feel of the villas. Food was not interestering- not much choise and the whole restaurant ares has a much too busy and " back packer feel " to it. It would be a differant matter if the pricing was less.
One morning the bread was served in a huge plactic conationer. Felt as if I was on a scout camp. The amenties in room are very very limited, no shampoo as an example.
Lovely layout and situation but spoilt by the feeling that it is a rip off.

Room Tip: We liked the open rooms and did not find them too open. If you are a private person choose the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talalla, Guest Relations Manager at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Hi Inge,
We read your review and we thought, "what are the choices on our delicious buffet breakfast?" You get a choice of eggs however you'd like them, banana pancakes, toast, a selection of homemade jams, bowls of fruit filled with papaya, watermelon, banana, pineappple, grated coconut, honey, muesli. Not sure if I've forgotten anything, there is so much choice! Oh wait, the delicious Sri Lankan options - roti, dhal, onion chutney and coconut sjambal....as much of this choice as you can possibly eat for $5. We think this is pretty good value. Lunch - we have at least a dozen options on our a la carte menu, as well as a daily special. And dinner time is when things really crank up!! Daily fresh fish and chicken cooked a different style each night, a choice of 3-4 fresh garden salads, bowls of spices and condiments to suit your individual tastes, a soup of the day, bread rolls, papadums, at least half a dozen clay pots with Sri Lankan curries and vegetables, a choice of 2-3 desserts, honey and fruit. As much of this fantastic choice as you can possibly squeeze in for $12. Let's not forget that all our meals are prepared on the day, everything is fresh and healthy and cooked daily, the fish, the fruit, the veg....everything, and it's sooo delicious. The restaurant gets busy at dinner because we're full during the peak season, and all the guests are there to indulge in the delicious dinner buffet.
For our future guests, the beautiful open-air bathrooms are supplied with soap, towels (pool and beach towels), and the rooms with mozzy coils and daily housekeeping. We do not provide amenities such as shampoo for a few reasons, but mainly because it just adds to rubbish and plastic consumption.
We're glad you loved the rooms and location, it really is a beautiful setting!! Thanks for reviewing!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have just spent a great few days at Talalla Retreat and I can’t believe I stayed at the same place as the last few reviewers. I found all the staff, local or otherwise, to be friendly and helpful, I thought the food was fantastic, and the whole atmosphere of the hotel to be relaxing and easygoing.I’d go back in heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matsuyama, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, and though it has the perfect location by a perfect beach, wonderful rooms-sick pool; definitely something lacking. Like other commenters have noted, it is run by nice, yet cold white employees. Sri Lanka is such a warm, real place; there is no need to "retreat" from it at all. Also, over 140$ a night for a fan room with nothing included (except a breakfast) is ridiculous for Sri Lanka-luckily there are great places to stay on Talalla beach (Panarama) for a third of the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talalla, Guest Relations Manager at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Hi Matthew, it may interest you to know that the investors of Talalla Retreat invested millions of dollars ten years ago and to date the total dividend for the group..$70,000, not much return in ten years for millions of dollars.Things are not always what they seem, tsunamis and wars are not good for business and being in a hotel at peak season doesn't give you a picture of the whole year. We're not sure how people can be nice and cold at the same time, but anyway. We are not retreating from Sri Lanka, we are are a retreat centre - yoga, tai chi, surfing, meditation, art retreats are the "core" of this hotel, a hotel that is for us truly a labour of love. From the major shareholder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights which was just about right. The place is perfect for relaxing and enjoying one of the best beaches in southern Sri Lanka.
Rooms - open to the outside sights and sounds, which takes a bit of getting used to. However they are well designed and styled. If you are a light sleeper you may take a few nights to adjust to the wildlife noises around you.
Food - we thought the food was good, not exceptional. Breakfast and evening dinners are buffet style, with a wide Sri Lankan range to suit most tastes. Food tends to eyre on the heathy side, maybe due to the yoga guests. There are not many other places to eat in the area.
Facilities - really good if you like lounging round the pool, yoga or surfing. It's the place to relax the days away.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talalla Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talalla Retreat

Address: Talalla South | Gandara, Talalla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Talalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Talalla Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rare island treasure hidden on the island’s untouched southern tip, Sri Lanka’s chic new boutique hotel, Talalla Retreat, has been designed as a private world of barefoot luxury, and the ultimate environment to totally chill out. Nestled metres from exquisite Talalla Beach, villa style rooms are elegantly appointed with open-sky marble bathrooms, private patios and lush views. Enjoy the open-air restaurant, custom-built yoga pavilion, sparkling freshwater pool and signature spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Talalla Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talalla Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.