We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to experience the 'real' Antigua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ReefView Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cades Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ReefView Apartments
Save Saved
You added ReefView Apartments to your Saves list
Cades Bay, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cades Bay
juno beach, Fl
1 review
“Great Place to experience the 'real' Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stay at the Reefview and experience the 'real' Antigua. Everyone on the coast knows Karrol & Nick and will give you special attention when you mention their names. Local restaurants and shops are an easy walk, and the bus/taxi stops at the top of the road -- which can take you to the 'big city' as well as some of the best beaches in the Caribbean. Karrol & Nick are wonderful resources and help to enjoy the island and their apartments are comfortable and completely stocked if you want to cook your own. Very relaxing and quiet.

Room Tip: chose Nick's apartment (he built it, he doesn't live in it) for a more rustic stay (outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    40
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
24
147
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Permit being Permit are a frustrating experience for any angler.
Having said that Captain Nick will give 110% effort in getting his clients in casting range of a surprisingly large number of Permit, albeit they showed in loners and the occasional pair or three, but never a school like you may find in Key West.
The fishery is relatively small, and should you really need more of a challenge, the coral heads are a serious impediment to lande
Ing one, should you do everything just right for the umteenth time and that #*!@/^ Permit decide to eat your fly and you have the cool not to stip the fly away too soon....then the companion snapper does not beat the Permit to your fly.
If all the stars and moons Aline, catching a Permit with Captain Nick is truly an thrilling, satisfying experience ; one I would highly recommend for an experienced fly fisherman!
I would be happy to fish( or quaff a cold beer) with Nick anytime, any place.
Billy O.
Houston

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stebbing
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

After a long hard winter and an hour's delay at Gatwick due to ice on the wings, we flew away to a bejou destination in Antigua. What a welcome from Karrol and Nick! Our hosts did all they could to ensure their guests were comfortable and well provided for.

The apartment was ideally placed to explore the island. A bus trip to St John's enabled us to see Caribbean life past and present. At the museum a helpful archivist helped us source family material from a previous generation and the part that the past has moulded in the present.

Our little yellow motor enabled us to travel far and wide to explore the highest peak and the warmest beach, to see the natural vistas, sketch and photograph many colourful places off the beaten track.

The local folk were so welcoming and friendly. At a local Easter Fayre an elderly lady, her face shining with age and gentleness, took us strangers under her wing and guided us to food and drink - so gracious. An aspiring youth group added to the carefree atmosphere with their beautifully melodious steel drums.

Not for us the cloistered resort with guarded gate but the bustle when you wanted it or the solitude and sun on the many public beaches if you sought that.

Thank you Nick and Karrol for all the effort you put into making this such an enjoyable trip and stay on your island!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have just spent a wonderful week in the Penthouse apartment. Took my mum who stayed on for 2 more weeks - lucky thing! The apartments are so wonderful - cool and well appointed with fabulous views of the sea. Comfy bed and a lovely cool breeze that blows through the apartment - no need for aircon. Books games and puzzles were appreciated as I didnt want to turn on the telly. Did use the ipod dock tho. I loved sitting on the balcony with my g 'n' t and watching the sunset. The local beach is a wonderful place to walk each morning, ever changing with the tide, great beach combing and birds, The village is interesting and a real slice of Caribbean life - nothing like the horrid all inclusive sterile Caribbean the brochures offer you. Colourful houses and characters - everyone friendly. Lovely local snacks to buy - fried chicken, goat soup, conch soup, tiny fish cakes and coconut cake. Karoll arranged for a local masseuse to visit and I had a relaxing lemongrass massage on the balcony listening to the sea - bliss! Karoll can arrange manicures, eyelash extensions etc - bit of a treat in a picture perfect setting. Other beaches nearby are stunning _ Turners Bay and Darkwood being favourites. Lunch at Jackie Os a must with delicious food and cocktails and then a pristine beach and the bluest sea you have ever seen. Definitely if you can go on a Creole Cruise out of Jolly Harbour - day out on the sea with some snorkelling and a bbq lobster lunch and much rum punch - what is there not too love. Karoll and Nick know everything there is to know about this tiny island - the best restaurants, beaches, fishing etc. Just ask and they will help you make the most of your holiday. This is the Caribbean as you want it to be - slow paced, colourful, sunny and perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our stay at the Reefview Apartments met, even exceeded, every expectation we hoped for our local experience at the island. The penthouse was neat, clean, well-equipped for our purposes, and quite comfortable. The little balcony served us perfectly for our morning coffee while we planned our day of adventure, and again,for our evening cocktail relaxing and recalling our day of activity. We had rented a car to explore on our own, so we did not require some of the amenities that Karoll and Nick are so expert at providing.
The location is ideal on the edge of the resort coast, and right on the edge of a beach with a private access to explore the wildlife and vegetation where snorkeling is great beyond the reef. It is located close to a coastal area full of resorts, and to some wonderful restaurants less than a mile away. We walked to Henrietta's in the morning to pick up some pastries for breakfast and could have walked to a couple of very nice places for dinner.
The little residence overflows with tropical vegetation carefully tended by Karoll, and the little dog and parrot add to the charm of the place. It is more like staying with a relative than renting.
Karoll is a wealth of knowledge about the island and all it offers. She is extraordinarily helpful with making plans, suggesting the best service providers, advising us on where to go, how to get there, and how long it will take, etc. Take advantage of her assistance, and discounts. :) She knows the best beaches and the tricks about where to go and when.
We found them to be an wonderfully lovely couple and quite a delight to chat with. Our stay on the island was enhanced by their generous hospitality and guest service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 8 days at Reefview with Karoll and Nick. They provide more than what they advertise - their excellent local advice was extremely helpful and the apartment is well-equipped and comfortable. We stayed in the penthouse and spent many hours on the balcony enjoying the sweet sounds of the birds in the garden and the sunsets. There are superb beaches within easy striking distance and we enjoyed sampling the various beach restaurants, some cheap and cheerful ( Darkwood Beach ) and others more upmarket ( Jacqui O's ) but all value for money. We traveled by bus for the first few days and this was a great way to be introduced to the local way of life as well as orientating us to the roads around the island. We then rented a car to see more of the island but were always drawn back to the south east. Karoll suggested we spend our last day in a nearby resort to fill in the time after the morning check out from Reefview and our evening flight back to Gatwick. Again super advice, the resort was very classy and just what we needed to end this marvelous holiday. It also made us realize that we had experienced more of the real Antigua!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 nights. Karoll picked us up from the airport and then she and her husband ate the welcome barbecue with us. During all this time they told about what we can do on the island but they omitted to warn us they had builders building them a new house only 30foot from our apartment. We were awoken by the noise of the builders electric saws at 7am on the first morning. We soon realised how close the building was, but we assumed they would stop later in the day when it gets hot as we naively thought no-one would subject their guests to constant building noise. We were wrong. They stopped for an hour for lunch and then worked until 6pm every day. We had planned to spend at least half of each day on the balcony as we had studying to do and also wanted time to relax. At the end of the first day she shouted up to our balcony to ask if we had had a good day. I then asked if her builders came every day. At this she became very angry saying she didn't know the builders were coming as it had been a surprise from her husband for valentines day. I then went inside our apartment. 5 minutes later she came and knocked on our door and said that in 2hours at 6pm that a hire car was coming for us and she was going to pay for it. The problem was we didn't want to spend our time driving round the island. It was very unpleasant how she became so angry about my calmly asking if her builders were coming every day. If you want peace and quiet don't stay here. The builders will be continuing and guests comfort is not taken into consideration by Karoll.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ReefView Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ReefView Apartments

Address: Cades Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Cades Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cades Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three uniquely decorated, fully equipped holiday/vacation homes set in lush tropical gardens - affording spectacular panoramic views of Antigua's famous Cades Reef and neighbouring islands. Located within a stone's throw of a long sandy shoreline fringed with coconut palms on the outskirts of a small fishing village. Owned and operated by long time residents Karoll and Nick Williams - always on hand to help you get to know THE REAL ANTIGUA!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reefview Apartments Hotel Cades Bay
Reef View Apartments Antigua
Reef View Apartments Hotel Antigua
ReefView Apartments Antigua/Cades Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ReefView Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.