We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique Antiguian experience for budget travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ReefView Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cades Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ReefView Apartments
Cades Bay, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cades Bay
Weehawken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A unique Antiguian experience for budget travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I found Reefview aka Karoll and Nick's through tripadvisor, based on the fact they were rate number 1 for budget travelers. Over the past 5 months I emailed back and forth with Karoll about all the details. She was always there to answer any questions needed. They do no accept credit cards so all the payments had to be sent via wire transfer, which I was wary of first, but it all worked out in the end.
Upon arriving to Antigua, we were picked up at the airport promptly by Karoll, we drove through the rainforest and had the chance to stop at local fruit and veggie stands being it was sunday and most markets were closed. When we arrived to the village where reefview was Karoll drove us a round the village, to check everything out. I will say that this apt close to the cades bay reef really is among the village of antigians, you're not going to a resort. For my boyfriend and I this is what we wanted, to see and experience Caribbean life...so dont be surprised. The apartment itself as gorgeous well kept an clean....we also went on a beach walk where Karoll showed us all the sea treasures along the way, in the Cades bay beach. Again this isnt you white sand beach but it is truly the "nursery of life" with conch, shells, star fish, and eels too. It is nice to walk around and even go snorkeling but sometimes hard to to walk out to depending on the tide. Nick gives a great orientation about all the beautiful beaches and restaurants around the area. We saw outrageous beaches 5 minutes away via the local bus which was great and cheap.Make sure to check out Turners and Darkwood gorgeous white sand beaches and easily accessible snorkeling. We had a great dinner with them the first night with fresh fish and clean cooking ( do the welcome BBq). We opted to rent a car the last couple nights there and it was easily organized by Karoll. She organized reservations for us and was very knowledgeable about what and where to go.Nick was also very sweet and gave lots of great help too. It was truly a great experience vs. staying at a hotel or resort because we got to check out all different parts of the island and felt like we truly had a home away from home.I also suggest to a snorkel excursion with them the snorkeling is great and the personalize it, they also took us to a spot with sand dollars,and starrfish which was awesome. Do check out Chappy's a great authentic CAribbean restaurant
These were the issues we had though, the bugs ( mosquitos) were OUT OF CONTROL!!!!For the 1st few nights I was being eaten to death, although due to the recent rain this is to be expected...maybe an orientation on how the protect your apartment would have been good...make sure you use the mosquito coils and spray with bug spray and dusk and the rest of the night especially before bed.Also everything is highly taxed in Antigua and Karoll makes sure you understand this, which sometimes was awkward. It also there house too, so sometimes it is awkward to feel like your bothering them ( for questions about the area ) but most of the time they were very approachable. Overall it was good experience,because we wanted a more independent and authentic vacation.

Room Tip: Sea garden room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    40
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
23
147
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a fabulous 10 days at Reefview staying in the Penthouse. Karoll & Nick were excellent hosts providing a wealth of information & advice about the island. The apartment had everything you might need & was a home from home.

We loved the location which gave a real chilled out island vibe. Breakfast on the veranda each morning watching the boats on the horizon & humming birds in the garden was perfect!

We would highly recommend the snorkel trip where we saw so many fish, sting ray, reef sharks, turtles!

Would definitely recommend hiring a car for some of your stay so that you can explore some of the perfect, near deserted beaches!!

All in all a magical stay in a fantastic place!!

Claire & Tom, UK

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Kudos to Karoll and Nick for making our holiday so special. The penthouse is everything one could ask for it has wonderful views from every window. Rent a car and the adventure begins. Driving on the left side of the road is like playing a video game. Watch out for chickens and goats they have the right of way. Some of the most beautiful beaches in the world are seemingly yours alone. We give ReefView four stars! Thank you Nick and Josh for the big fish and the unexpected whale sighting. That was epic! Reserve our penthouse for the same time next year.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I did a ton of research before we ending up choosing ReefView Apts.-the rave reviews on Tripadvisor had alot to do with our choice. But you have to be there and experience the Karoll & Nick type of "hosting" to truly understand it, and come away with super memories! We could not afford the "resorts" nor did we want to be sheltered from the locals and the culture of the area. That is what this locale gives you-the flavor of the area. ReefView Apts give you a welcoming, warm, colorful haven & headquarters from which to go out and explore the island. At the end of the day you have a lovely, comfy and beautifully appointed retreat to come back to. To say that Karoll & Nick are helpful is an understatement. We were showered with enthusiasm, help, things to do, insights (they've been there a long time and intimately know the island), books on the area, tips, etc.- got a happy, bubbly orientation every morning from Karoll, which was fun and so helpful! They were thoughtful, invested in our experience and we truly felt cared for. To start: we were greeted at the airport by Karoll, with much needed cold water. Then we were taken to the grocery store to purchase our provisions (the apts have cooking facilities), taken through the rainforest to the far south side of the islands and Cades Bay. The lower west, south and east parts of the island are a bit less touristy, bustling and overwhelming, and that's what we preferred. Karoll took us to a local fruit stand to try the green coconut juice (gotta try all the offerings at the local fruit stands) and then took us back to our apt (the Penthouse). We highly recommend this unit, for the view, decor, breeze and the two porches to sit out on. It is charming! Both the others are sweet too though-can't go wrong. Nick & Karoll provided dinner that night (an option you can choose) that was just lovely, hand prepared, grilled & scrumptious. We sat outside to dine that evening-and unwind, on a charming porch, lit by soft white light & candles, amongst the cascade of tropical flowers that surround the place. Flowers & tropical greens (lots of birds and hummingbirds too!) are everywhere at ReefView and create a sort of secret garden to move through and come home to each day. The next morning we got our first orientation, lots of super suggestions for what to see and do and lots of great books to pour through and learn about the island, people, flora/fauna, beaches and its history. Karoll took out a map, marked it up with places to see, places to eat, the best beaches and totally just customized it, so that we could pack in a good day of adventure. A rental car is highly recommended (she arranges to have it dropped off and picked up!), as this area is a bit removed and quieter. Get a small car if you are driving on the other side of the road for the first time-which is very interesting! You can go northeast to more bustle or northwest to more bustle and population. We chose the sites that were more focused on history, nature, geography and amazing beaches. Each day we went out to explore, based on their input and just had the best time ever! With their input, we really had valuable information with which to explore, catered to our tastes. They will provide all the information, whether you choose to go more upscale and resort-ish in your travels or try to immerse yourself in the culture. In our eyes this is an explorer's/adventurer's location and thus, you see the contrast between local living and those of us who come there to "vacation." You have to invest a bit of time in introducing yourself to the locals and being genuine. And, FYI, it is not a place where you snap photos of the locals without respectfully asking first. If you want your grapes peeled for you and drinks brought to you at the pool-then pick the resorts. If you want to be excited, really "see" the island, have adventure and truly "know" where you are at - then ReefView is the place to pick-a wonderful headquarters to come back to each day for happy hour and relaxation. We trusted them to help us make our time special and worthwhile. Recommendations they gave definitely delivered. We also went out on a day trip with them on their boat (again-much more intimate & personal than a boat packed with tourists) and snorkeled. Wow. Great guidance, lots of help and their knowledge of what magic lies under the surface, made it just an outstanding day! Nick's gentle nature was reassuring and helpful to novice snorkelers (oh the things we saw!) and Karoll's caring enthusiasm and yummy treats were welcome when we got back in the boat as well. I cannot say enough about how much their personalities and love of the area enhanced our trip. They also drove us to the wonderful Shirley Heights party on Sunday-which was great fun-super steel drum band, food and dancing-and a safe drive home after drinking. For what it is worth, having a reassuring presence that knows the island well, and can make great suggestions-is definitely a plus. We learned so much and got to do so much, based on all their help. The zip line adventure is a must! We also loved Devil's Bridge, exploring all the gorgeous beaches, driving on the other side of the road whilst dodging cows, goats, puppies, people etc., and trying local foods and fruits. We tried both the resort style dining and the realllllly local dining: O.J.'s, Chappy's, SheerRocks, Harmony Hall were our favs. Regarding beaches-all are open to the public, so if you can get your little rental car off the road, and park it safely, you can jump in! How cool is that!? So each time you come round the bend, gasp with delight at another stunning beach, you can just pull over, and dive in! Soooooo, much to see snorkeling just on the shore and the blues are to die for. Lots and lots of beaches! Darkwood and Half Moon were two of our favorites. Cades Bay, where ReefView is located, is just a short two minute walk down a dirt road and through the mangroves. A beautiful beach, with old coral just rolling with the soft waves at the shore. It is essentially deserted and how wonderful it was to pretty much have the beach to ourselves whenever we went down there-who gets that?! You see some locals and the occasional vacationer, but it was delightfully devoid of tourists-just right for us.This beach is a water shoe area-not soft sand there. Great place to snorkel, but you need the shoes. Off to the southwest was Montseratt volcano-which was blowing off some steam-very cool. If you are a shell, rock and coral appreciator-wow, literally piles to look through. Look up and pelicans & frigate birds are riding the breezes! So, to sum it up, if you like a personal, custom vacation, that feels like "home" then this is the place for you-we loved Nick & Karoll, totally loved the pets (who are kept discretely & efficiently away if you are not into pets) and loved all the options that were offered to us (Karoll is great with e-mail correspondence and communicating all the options available). Nick can take you out fishing, snorkeling or just touring and their extensive knowledge of the waters & the island enhance the trip. We completely and without hesitation recommend this style of vacation with all our hearts!
ReefView is awesome! -Beth & Chuck

Room Tip: Discuss each apartments amenities with Karoll, describe your needs and expectation and she'll su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graiguenamanagh, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Needing some warmth and relaxation, we headed, without hesitation, back to ReefView Apartments for the third successive year. It's like going to stay with friends - actually it IS going to stay with friends. It is sooo.... much nicer than being in a resort. You can enjoy a fabulous barbequed meal on arrival, thereby avoiding having to go out after a long journey. Nick and Karoll are so warm and friendly, always happy to help and advise if needed. You quickly settle into a comfortable apartment with a lovely balcony and a fabulous view out to sea with the volcano on Monserrat smoking in the distance. You can laze there reading some of the many books provided, or drive a short distance to many fabulous beaches. They are so close that we often came back for a quiet lunch on the balcony during the hottest part of the day. Your hosts will tell you everything you want, or need to know about Antigua. This local knowledge is both interesting and invaluable. This year they organised a trip to Barbuda for us which was a fabulous experience. The previous year we flew to Monserrat - all organised by them - fantastic! And if you enjoy snorkelling or fishing they will take you out to the reef where you can see so many exotic fish and of course enjoy a wonderful homemade rum punch and cake when you are feeling a bit fatigued! And that's not all! They also arranged for us to go out for a romantic trip on a catamaran, watching the fiery sun sink into the sea while sipping our drinks and eating tasty nibbles. It's cold and miserable as I write this in Ireland. Roll on next year's trip to Antigua and ReefView!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

ReefView apartments is a great place to stay on Antigua. Karoll and Nick are fantastically welcoming hosts who know the island inside out and provide excellent information and advice. After many long hours of travel it was fantastic to be picked up at the airport by Karoll, with cold bottles of water ready. She took us shopping so we could buy the food we needed, then drove us to our accommodation and brought us a delicious rum punch! Where else would you get that kind of service? The welcome bbq is great. I also recommend taking Karoll's advice regarding car rentals and having the car delivered to you (after you're rested - particularly if you are used to driving on the right, as Antiguans drive on the left).
We stayed in the garden apartment, which is basic but adequate. If you are used to total privacy and 5 star hotels, this is probably not the place for you. But if you enjoy getting to know locals, having friendly visits from pets, and want a more genuine Antiguan experience, this is the place to stay. ReefView Apartments is excellent value on an island with very expensive accommodation. It is also in a very handy location to many key places on the island (10 min. from Jolly Harbour which has a large grocery store, sports facility, marina, etc.) and near the bus route and many great swimming beaches.
We loved it and would stay at ReefView again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — The hosts and the garden
  • Disliked — The closest beach was not for swimming
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

A friend and I hired Nick from ReefView to take us on a fly fishing trip in Antigua. I was very impressed with how quickly Nick responded to my initial email inquiring about fishing in Antigua. There is not a lot of information on fly fishing there and Nick was a great help. We met Nick for a day of fishing. We started out for the elusive permit on the flats right near the ReefView apartments. We saw quite a few permit, but could not get any to take interest in our flies. After a few hours of fishing the flats, we got back in his truck and went to another nearby spot for tarpon. Nick had us in a two man hobie kayak fishing for tarpon. The tarpon were rolling everywhere around us. It did not take long for us to have our first fish on, but those fish can throw a fly back at you pretty easily. We would have one on, it would jump and throw the fly. Then we would have another on and it would bust our line. The longest I had one on was 8 minutes before the tarpon broke my line in some mangroves. It was a great time and Nick was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ReefView Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ReefView Apartments

Address: Cades Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Cades Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cades Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three uniquely decorated, fully equipped holiday/vacation homes set in lush tropical gardens - affording spectacular panoramic views of Antigua's famous Cades Reef and neighbouring islands. Located within a stone's throw of a long sandy shoreline fringed with coconut palms on the outskirts of a small fishing village. Owned and operated by long time residents Karoll and Nick Williams - always on hand to help you get to know THE REAL ANTIGUA!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reefview Apartments Hotel Cades Bay
Reef View Apartments Antigua
Reef View Apartments Hotel Antigua
ReefView Apartments Antigua/Cades Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ReefView Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added ReefView Apartments to your Saves list