We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stables Groomsport

Stables Groomsport
1b Donaghadee Road, Groomsport, Northern Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Groomsport
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Staying in Holywood for the weekend, my sister & I decided to go for a drive along the coast . We stopped by chance at the Stables and were delighted to be made to feel very welcome , even though it was a Friday evening & we hadn't booked . The staff were very pleasant & attentive . The Spring/Summer offer of a 2 course meal was great value for money and very tasty . We had the melon starter followed by Silverside with champ & veg - melt in your mouth !! To add to our enjoyment we were entertained by a two piece swing jazz group - we could have sat there all night ! All in all a very pleasant evening which I would recommend to anyone travelling in the area

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    41
    21
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We had 2 lovely meals Scampi which was arguably the best cooked and tastiest Scampi I have ever eaten, and I have eaten this dish in many places around Europe and the Lasagne Bolognese was also 10/10 service second to none and no waiting for service. Highly recommended

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Has the potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The stables was a hard restaurant to rate, located in Groomsport close to the sea it has the potential to be one of the best in Northern Ireland! Its not! Because of its location it always gets a good cliental but I would say that location is its main and only selling point!

The food isn't amazing, I personally find it greasy and the best way to describe it is fast food on a plate.

Only if they sorted the quality of their food out because this could be my first choice place to eat all the time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“"Not that Good"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Booked an early dinner at the Stables in Groomsport a couple of Saturdays ago, we hadn't been there for quite a long time, but remember it was always good.

We were shown to a very small table on the corner of the stairs, a bit cramped, and it would have been nice as it was booked to have had a window table, and wouldn't have said it was that busy.

We ordered a glass of wine and main courses of roast chicken with sides of fries and garlic chips, would say the food was ok, we then ordered sweets which all sounded lovely and hard to decide which ones, but we choose the sticky toffee pudding and the waffle with ice cream and chocolate sauce, the pudding was ok, but the waffle was like a "brick" I couldnt eat it. The waiter did apolgise and removed it from the the bill.

It was disappointing over all and not the good food it used to be, probably won't return., shame as it has a nice setting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Groupon deal ??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just back after having a Groupon meal deal ?? Portions were small but tasty, veg was extra and the total cost through Groupon was more than we would have paid if we had booked it ourselves. I visited the male toilet and found the 2 toilets not in working order, one had no toilet paper and the other had the seat hanging off, as one bracket was not connected to the seat. Overall not a good experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Groomsport also viewed

Groomsport, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Stables Groomsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stables Groomsport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.