We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Croft Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Save
You added The Croft Guest House to your Saves list
Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX68QY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ludlow, Shropshire
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
180 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Colin and |Ken welcomed us warmly to their Guest House and we were made to feel very welcome from the start.Our room was quite large but the bathroom was very poky with a very small shower whose curtain flapped on to you as you showered.
The coooked breakfast was fairly good but I was surprised that, apart from a few bananas, the fruit comprised tinned fruit salad, tinned mandarin segments and tinned pears - I hadn`t eaten these since I was a child and did not intend to do so again.
We ate at The Anchor where we received a 10% discount as we were staying at The Croft.
Overall, this was a good place to stay as the owners are so likeable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We too enjoyed meeting you all.
Shame you didnt mention the "other tinned fruit" Grapefruit & Prunes,
(The pears were in fact apples!)
There were Bananas, Pears, & Apples (Not just bananas, in the fruit bowl)!
We use mandarins, salad peices etc: mainly for to cover guests who have diabetes,or special diets etc
AS ADVISED by our VISIT BRITAIN grading assessor.

There was other fruit available and you only need to ask when I took your hot food order.

The scrambled egg was prepared from free range eggs as you know from our own hens.

There were also thick creamy yoghurts, pastries on display, just a shame you didnt mention.

Sorry you felt the shower room was "Pokey" not an indeering term but is a standard sized trough, also accepted by Visit Britain.

Glad all your walking adventure went well, which I gather from your organiser (MG) when we spoke over telephone.

Maybe next time youre passing or need a water stop, then you would be made so very welcome again.
Life is far too short
Stay well safe & happy.

Best wishes & Happy walking - The Croft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
60
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Croft Guesthouse is situated at Cockwood Harbour, around a mile from Starcross and an easy distance from Exeter, Dawlish and Teignmouth and you can expect a very friendly welcome from the owners Colin and Ken!
My room overlooked the back garden which had chickens, ducks and various other wildlife running around. At least the eggs are fresh. My room was excellent, with a double bed, modern TV and it was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was the only slight drawback being the smallest in the hotel with a toilet and a shower but Colin promised me a bigger bathroom next time! The restaurant / bar downstairs was quite spacious and all guests are allocated their own table, my full english breakfast was excellent.

Cockwood itself has two excellent Real Ale pubs, the Anchor and The Ship Inn both listed in the 2012 Good Beer Guide and both pubs offer a discount on meals for guests at the Croft. The Croft is easilly accessible by car or a 15-20 min walk from Starcross Railway Station.

One of the best B&B's i've stayed at in recent years and one which i highly recommend. I shall certainly return!

Room Tip: Free range Chickens in the back garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Many thanks for your polite and kind comments, Much appreciated.
We too enjoyed meeting you and Its always so nice to have respectable,clean,tidy and friendly guests.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and are welcome back anytime.

I will give you more information on the REAL ALE pubs that you may want to sample from out over the hills at the back of us here next time!

Best wishes, Stay well safe & happy.
The Croft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringmer, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We have just been down for our 5th stay and felt the need to comment on the fantastic hospitality, the friendliness, and the 'nothing is too much trouble attitude' of Colin and Ken the owners, as well as the excellent spread for breakfast

Always ready with a welcoming smile you feel at ease from the minute you arrive. They have also set up a 10% discount with the Anchor Inn just across the harbour, so don't forget to always mention this.

For Birdwatchers it is an absolute paradise as it is so close to Dawlish Warren, and the 5 RSPB reserves all up and down the River Exe. You can even bird watch from you bedroom window if you have a room at the front. It is within easy reach for the RSPB Avocet Cruises which launch each year from Starcross or Topsham.

A friendlier place you will not find anywhere in Devon, and we will be back for our 6th stay as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Book early as it is always in demand, and all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Many thanks for your polite and kind comments, Much appreciated.
We too enjoyed meeting you and Its always so nice to have respectable,clean,tidy and friendly guests.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and are welcome back anytime.
Best wishes, Stay well safe & happy.
The Croft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Had a wonderful stay in lovely Cockwood. We were here for an RSPB boat trip and stayed the Friday night, arriving in heavy rain. Colin & Ken were so welcoming and friendly, and we had a drink at the bar and chatted with them whilst waiting for the other 2 of our party to arrive. Our room was spacious and clean, and the beds very comfortable. We heard no noise at all from other rooms. Breakfast was superb with eggs from their own hens, and again very friendly with lots of laughter.

Cockwood harbour is very special - after breakfast we walked over and watched a little egret fishing in the shallows. The 2 good pubs within an easy walk are a bonus - we had a superb evening meal at the Ship (varied menu including lovely fresh fish, book a table, it gets busy), and you get 10% off if you show your Croft room key.

Saturday was dry and sunny, and we had a great day out with the RSPB Avocet cruise. I would love to go back to this area, as it has so much of interest, and when we return we will certainly go back to the Croft. Many thanks for the friendly welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Many thanks for your polite and kind comments, Much appreciated.
We too enjoyed meeting you and Its always so nice to have respectable,clean,tidy and friendly guests.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and are welcome back anytime.
Best wishes, Stay well safe & happy.
The Croft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Had a fantastic weekend,a very warm and friendly run hotel with beautiful harbour views,rooms were immaculate and the staff were incredibly helpful,could'nt have asked for more ,will be definately going back to stay there and would recommend it to anyone !!

Room Tip: The harbour view room,fantastic view,very relaxing atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Many thanks for your polite and kind comments, Much appreciated.
We too enjoyed meeting you and Its always so nice to have respectable,clean,tidy and friendly guests.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and are welcome back anytime.
Best wishes, Stay well safe & happy.
The Croft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

On Business - Have been years ago when previous owners had it, but by goodness what a vast improvement - Every room virtually made larger and well furnished.
Breakfast nice n fresh good service, friendly and accommodating lads, Good fun and nothing too much trouble.
Great room (My room was one of the four brand new ones shown to me) keep up the hard work lads.(Cant wait to see your next extensions and redesigns it takes time but youre getting there,(You must have a day off 5 years is too long without a day off!!!! Lovely spacious gardens and plenty of privacy.
Continue the good work - Much appreciation
Gerald from Bexley.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Many thanks for your polite and kind comments, Much appreciated.
We too enjoyed meeting you and Its always so nice to have respectable,clean,tidy and friendly guests.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and are welcome back anytime.
Best wishes, Stay well safe & happy.
The Croft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Basic but comfortable rooms with pretty much everything you need. Shower cubicle very small though. Breakfast times a bit early for holidaymakers! (7.30-8.30 weekdays!). Owners very nice and chatty.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
We were sorry to hear that you thought the room was "Basic" when all rooms have been modernised recently. Breakfasts are served early for working people. You didnt mention that once at breakfast you are not rushed out, have more tea/coffee toast whatever & can sit as long as you wish to, even up to departure time of 10-30 should you have wished.
We do not charge extra for guests arriving early and are very flexible with all guests wishes & requests,offering lifts to station when raining & an open key policy.
Rooms are cleaned daily without extra charge.
I find your comments hurtful and COULD affect business. Luckily all our guests are repeat bookings & rather than write on here they would mention to ones face should there be any problems, then we would always try best to accommodate in another preferable room.
Please read website details for breakfast times and service.
Rooms are cleaned daily without extra charge,
Reviews like this arent helpful but hurtful & possible damaging to business.
Thank you for being a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX68QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Croft Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.