We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most welcoming cottage stay I've ever experienced...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nanplough Country House & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nanplough Country House & Cottages
Save
You added Nanplough Country House & Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   White Cross | Helston, Cury, Helston TR12 7BQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cury B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most welcoming cottage stay I've ever experienced...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Wendy and Andrew were excellent hosts. From our first contact with through to when we stayed, they were incredibly friendly and helpful. I've visited Cornwall regularly every year since I was a child, but never have I stayed somewhere so welcoming. Although the furnishings of the cottage were in the process of being updated, everything was spotlessly clean and the cottage warm, comfortable and well equipped. Thank you Wendy and Andrew for a lovely holiday and we'll see you next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
30
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Both myself and my partner booked a stay in a cottage at Nanplough for Oct 2010. Wendy (the owner) greeted us on arrival and we immediately felt welcome. The cottages themselves are beautiful and the layout inside is perfect for what we required. The area itself has got fantastic views. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and was able to get to most of the major attractions that Cornwall has to offer within a short car journey. We were blessed with gorgeous weather for our stay too which also added to the enjoyment of our stay.

I would absolutely recommend this to friends and family and if we visit cornwall in the future this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

This Hotel cannot be praised too much. The welcome and ambience is outstanding as are the luxury rooms and outstanding views. The breakfasts are perfectly tailored to each guest's wishes and the quantity and quality cannot be beaten. We could have spent the rest of our lives in this truly wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed as B&B guests - welcomed as friends .Generous hospitality, super comfortable bed, stunning room and views , fantastic breakfasts including traditional Hog's pudding, quiet and peaceful - a * * * * * * * (7star) experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed in Woodpeckers Cottage at Nanplough Farm with our young baby in August 2010. Wendy, Andrew and Sam were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our son was ill during the stay (a bug he had picked up before we arrived). Wendy went out of her way to help us out.

The cottage was well presented and had all the amenities we needed. The pool area is clean and kept at a constant 24 degrees. The farm is in a quiet, peaceful area within easy reach of local beaches and coves.

We would happily recommend Nanpolugh to anyone visiting Cornwall.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed in Badgers for the first 2 weeks in August 2010. The cottage is excellent with the added benefit of the pool (swam most days) and will only get even better as the owners go through their refurbishment programme (the new kitchen they have already added to woodpeckers is a very high standard). Location is ideal with easy access to the Lizard and wider west Cornwall, you can even get a bus to the Lizard itself or Helston from the end of the drive. Good food is easy to get; try the "Old Inn" in Mullion and the Regent in Lizard. Great walks from the front door or a short car journey, Plenty of places to visit and superb beaches to relax on; Kynance Cove mustn't be missed and Poldhu is great for surfing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had a wonderfull stay at this B&B. Nice room and a great breakfast (a lot of fresh fruit). Wendy is a very warm hostess.
The B&B has a nice pool and is great to discover this area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nanplough Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanplough Country House & Cottages

Address: White Cross | Helston, Cury, Helston TR12 7BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Cury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nanplough Country House & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOU'LL NOTICE at once that the house is elegant and spacious without having lost that special feeling of homeliness. Built in 1887, the year of Queen Victoria's jubilee, it retains the grandeur of the Victorian age while being completely modernized. You'll find that there are plenty of nooks where you can curl up with a good book. The windows give out onto the wooded valley with gentle pastures beyond. In the large sunny dining room, you'll enjoy the heartiest of breakfasts. Our guest rooms are spacious, comfortable, have TV and will give you impressive countryside views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nanplough Country House & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.