We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Comp Garden

Great Comp Garden
Comp Lane, Platt TN15 8QS, England
+44 1732 885094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Platt
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A garden paradise. A hidden gem. Fabulous, folly-filled garden and home to one of the finest collections of Salvias in the country. Great Comp Garden, near Sevenoaks, has built up an enviable reputation over the years as being one of Kent's finest gardens to visit. Come and explore our wonderfully quirky garden showcasing 7 acres of beautiful and rare plants surrounding a 17th century manor house. This hidden gem of a garden is home to an Italian Garden, romantic ruins, enchanting woodland walks and the Old Dairy Tearooms. In Spring this tranquil garden erupts into bloom with numerous Magnolias, Azaleas and Rhododendrons, underplanted with large drifts of Helebores and bulbs while summer brings warmth and extravagance from one of the most comprehensive and exciting collections of Salvias in Europe. Ornamental grasses in great variety punctuate the colourful borders and combine beautifully with the myriad colours of late autumn. The garden is the delightful creation of Roderick and Joy Cameron who moved to Great Comp in 1957. They opened the garden to the public for charity in the early 1960s. The gardens are now run by the Curator William Dyson. This year's programme of special events include: Spring Fling Plant Fair Sunday 13th April 2014 Great Comp Summer Show 9th & 10th August 2014 Autumn Extravaganza Craft Fair 11th & 12th October 2014
Larkfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visited these beautiful gardens for the first time and I'm so glad that we did. There are so many different areas to discover and easily spend a few hours on a lovely summers day. The £6 adult entry fee is well worth every penny and I will happily return.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We have visited this little patch of paradise several times over the last few years. There is always plenty to see and the planting is colourful and very well kept. The ground once full of huge blocks of stone has been beautifully landscaped and the stones utilised to create a range of ruins or follies. Refreshments are available in The Old Dairy Tearooms, I had an excellent salad and my husband a panini both generous portions. Excellent cakes available too! The nursery, small but well stocked and we bought another two hardy salvias - we never come home empty handed!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Coulourful gardens and cute tearoom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A lovely mixture of wonderful colourful gardens and woodland walks. Interesting 'ruins' or perhaps follies(?) make it fun to walk around. Lots of paths to follow and for once a map that actually works!
Tea room would be worth a visit on it's own (you have to pay for the garden to get to the tea room). Cute but a good cup of tea and the coffee (multi choice machine) wasn't bad either.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Secret Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is no Hidcote (awesome), Great Dixter (admirable), or Sissinghurst (overrated), but it is my personal favourite among English gardens. I love its intimacy and the interplay between the flora and the hard landscape, mostly brickwork made to look like a ruined house. I can't say I would recommend it wholeheartedly, but every time I go here, I feel good inside.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lovely afternoon out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

we particularly enjoyed the tea room, very friendly staff and very cute inside. Food was fine, although I'd have preferred to pay slightly more for a proper coffee.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Comp Garden also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Great Comp Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Comp Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.