We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Vicarage to your Saves list
The Old Vicarage
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Church Hill, Doddington ME9 0BD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Doddington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Even though we only stayed one night in the cottage, Claire made us feel very welcome in her lovely home. A comfy bed, luxurious towels, a delicious breakfast and gorgeous surroundings - I'm sure we will be back for more.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
43
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A beautiful location and a marvellous B&B. Warmest greetings from Nick & Clare welcoming us into their home. A lovely old building with excellent modern facilities, breakfast was unbelievable. You won't be disappointed with a stay at The Old Vicarage, and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We preferred a room on the first floor, so chose the suite overlooking the next door Church, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our second stay here. This must be the best B&B.
Claire & Nick greeted us with a very warm welcome. The house is just beautiful & immaculately clean, attention to detail is second to none even down to toiletries and a bottle of water, tea coffee etc. The staff Marion & Kath where lovely.
The breakfast choice is vast and the cooked breakfast is cooked to perfection.
The location is very pretty with lovely local walks & is a great base for visiting local towns & villages, e.g. Faversham, Canterbury.
We would without any hessitation recommend "The Old Vicarage" & of course we would stay again ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The owners of the Old Vicarage gave me a real welcome for a recent overnight stay. A restful place to come and recover and change before an evening event I was attending about 5 miles away. A real haven to come back to for a restful night's sleep, and fortified by a delicious breakfast I set off again in the morning.

A very lovely gracious home with beautiful views, I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here with another couple as we were attending a wedding in the same village. We were greeted by Nick on arrival and shown around the B&B and also to our suite. We stayed in the Garden Suite and it was beautiful. It was made up with two bedrooms and a bathroom. Loved the fact that you had bath robes, towels, toiletries, tea, coffee and other selections of drinks and a coffee machine!! Even provided with a bottle of water each on the bedside table.

Breakfast was beautiful and the view from the dining room is magical. The gardens were beautiful and loved playing with the dogs!!

I want to thank Claire and Nick for making us feel so welcome and would most definitely come back if I needed to, in the future!

Room Tip: Garden suite was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at the Old Vicarage for one night with my husband and another couple because of going to a wedding nearby. We couldn't believe how beautiful the house is. We had booked a suite which was beautifully done. All the extras in the bedroom i.e shower gel, shampoo, bath robe etc. It was such a lovely place to stay and we all wish we could have stayed longer. Unfortunately we did not meet Claire whilst we were there, but her husband Nick made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent two nights at The Old Vicarage in the Tack Room and could not find fault in any way. We booked because we were spending a day at the nearby Hawking Centre at Doddington Place. The Tack room in the Coach House is like a suite where you have the use of your own kitchen with ample supplies of tea, coffee, cereals, biscuits and fresh milk. The huge bathroom was a delight with a exterior switch to the shower so you can turn it on and warm it up before stepping inside. The towels were gorgeous as were the dressing gowns. Usually when we go away the first night's sleep is hit and miss while getting used to the bed and the surroundings but, at The Old Vicarage this was not a problem. The bed was sumptuous...the only word for it and the peace and quiet made for a totally relaxing experience. breakfast, served in the main house was another delight. From fresh fruits of every description sourced locally, local apple juices and sausages and bacon sourced from the village butcher.In our travels we have come across an excellent B&B that we thought could not be beaten but,The Old Vicarage is definitely a match for it. The main house has a lovely lounge area and peaceful garden where you can relax at your leisure. Claire, Nick and Alison made us feel very welcome and were totally professional in a calm, reassuring manner.
This was our first venture to north Kent but we will definitely return as there is so much to do in the local area which we did not have time to do. In general terms, everyone we came across was very friendly and welcoming. The area has a rich heritage for fresh produce and that was apparent in every meal we had. if you are looking for a peaceful haven, look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Church Hill, Doddington ME9 0BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Doddington
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Doddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Vicarage 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Old Vicarage is located on the edge of the village of Doddington in a designated area of outstanding natural beauty on the North Downs. The Grade II listed property has been recently renovated to a high modern standard, while retaining core period features which date back to 1656. Locally sourced produce is used for our full English breakfast whenever available. Other dietary options can be catered for on request. Children over the age of three are welcome and we have a non-smoking policy. Our two golden retrievers may be on hand to welcome you! Ample off road parking for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.