We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Farm Hostel

Palace Farm Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Farm Hostel to your Saves list
Palace Farm Hostel
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Down Court Road, Doddington ME9 0AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We have stayed twice at the hostel and both times we were made welcome by the owners and found the accommodation to be warm, clean and comfortable. It has excellent eco credentials and we hope to return. I just wish there were more of this kind of hostel throughout the country.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stopped here for one night on our way to catch the ferry from Dover the next morning.
Nicely laid out with pitches either side of field and Play space in the middle and in the extra feild behind.
We found Lovely Plums in the orchard behind and had a nice stroll into the village and a drink at the pub.
Only problem was that there is no local shop so my Son had To make do with water in his bottle instead of milk!
Eldest Son had fun hanging out with other kids in the evening, but had He not "made friends" I think He would have been board - so might be better To come with a few families.
The curfew of 10pm was a blessing!
Toilets and showers were fine and near The piches which was easy.
All in all We had a nice stay, amoungst chickens, goats and plums! (Watch the cheeky chickens don't steal your sandwiches!).
Ice cream van came at 7pm and I was rushed from the shower To get 99's!
Might Well return for Walks, but will come well stocked up with food and probably with another family or Two.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The North
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here just for one night on our way back from France as we had a long drive back up North. Easy enough to find and only 45 minutes from Channel tunnel and about half the price of the Travelodge/Premier Inn places. Ok so you have to make your own bed and we were all in bunk beds but it was really clean with a friendly owner. The only downside was that we felt the mattresses were a little uncomfortable and the pillows weren't very plump but for the price and only staying over one night it was fine. It was quiet and peaceful with no passing traffic so sleep was uninterrupted. The kitchen was well equipped and the communal area was great. We'd probably use again if making a similar journey abroad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

Service was outstanding and we felt extremely welcome. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Spent almost two weeks at Palace Farm 'Hostel' but actually stayed in a double room overlooking farmlands, had an en suite shower room and a communal kitchen, dining room and lounge with TV. Great value, lovely clean rooms, good cooking facilities and a beautiful and peaceful environment to be in. The owners are friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back again. Peter Ray and Linda

Room Tip: ask for the 'upstairs' rooms, all double or double plus 1, each with private en suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We were met with a quick dash to office for payment,very clean rooms and dining area kitchen etc after a day were told off for not putting sheets pillow cases on bed,
evenings in front of the fire were great with your own cooked meals,shower very small
but good shower ,just no heating in rooms made very uncomfortable had to use 2 duvets also no TV for a week after builders had taken down for new rooms to be built
internet connection hardly ever worked,but very clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Found this when we were looking for an overnight stop near Faversham. Very clean and comfortable.and a nice welcome. The hostel rooms were very warm, with nice bathrooms and comfy beds, and the lounge area was well furnished, with a terrific wood burning stove, which made for a very cosy evening.
As we'd been walking for a couple of days, choose to cook in the well appointed kitchen - but the pub down the road looked very good.
Breakfast is a do it yourself continental, and there is an abundance of tourist info, maps etc in the lounge area. (Bike hire mentioned at very reasonable rates as well)
Will certainly use again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Farm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Farm Hostel

Address: Down Court Road, Doddington ME9 0AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Doddington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Doddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Farm Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Palace Farm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Farm Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.