We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, superb food, excellent & friendly service and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inglewood Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inglewood Manor to your Saves list
Inglewood Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful place, superb food, excellent & friendly service and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Recently stayed at Inglenook for couple of nights and attended a wedding. First thing which impressed was friendliness, courtesy & efficiency of Staff. The food was of high quality and excellently presented & served. Hotel very attractive and comfortable in extensive and attractive grounds. Wedding and reception was thoroughly enjoyable and everything appeared to run like clockwork and was extremely well handled by the Staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    103
    22
    18
    10
See reviews for
85
192
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Our third stay - again staff were without exception friendly welcoming and helpful. Had family join us for excellant meal catering to special needs. Breakfasts were a daily treat especially with freshly cooked options. Smaller room this time but adequate and comfortable, lovely views.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

got a telephone call from the hotel to say there was a wedding the night of my stay, so there would be no evening meal for residents. what they did not tell me was that the WEDDING WOULD BE TAKING OVER ALL THE HOTEL. we entered to find a buffet IN the entrance hall and a full scale & packed disco in progress. our room was very dated, and had not been cleaned properly, there being cob-webs hanging from the ceiling. we went down for a drink in the bar, having to push our way through the drunks at the wedding party. breakfast in the morning was also terrible. the lady on reception was incompetant and the duty manager could not even work the till. also this hotel IS NO WHERE NEAR CHESTER

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCWirral, General Manager at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Thank you for your review, I’m so sorry to see your first impression of Inglewood Manor has been such a disappointing one.
We host a lot of weddings, and when bedrooms are booked by guests not attending the wedding, we do our very best to contact them to make them aware of the events taking place at the hotel. However, I can see from your comments that the impact of the wedding wasn’t fully communicated to you, and for this I must apologise.
I’m really surprised that you didn’t enjoy breakfast, as we generally receive fantastic feedback about the food (particularly our locally sourced sausages, kippers and porridge!) and lots of lovely comments about our attentive and friendly team, so I’m sorry you felt this wasn’t up to standard.
Having investigated your comments regarding the service on Sunday morning, I am afraid that a combination of a duty manager still in training and a credit card machine that picked the busiest possible check-out to give up the ghost, meant that you experienced unusually long delays. Where-ever possible, we would aim to deal with technical difficulties without passing any inconvenience on to our guests, however on this occasion that was not possible, for which we are really sorry.
Inglewood Manor is located along a straight A road 7 miles from Chester City Centre, taking between 10 and 15 minutes, depending on the traffic. Near enough to be convenient, far enough away to give the sensation of nestling in endless countryside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury, lancs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed many years ago at this hotel when it belonged to an insurance company on business and always wanted to return. Now it has been taken over by a private company and extended. We have been several times with family and friends and recommended it to many of our friends who have gone and one who booked their sons wedding there and thought it wonderful. We have always got a refurbished room and what a delight they are the breakfast is lovely and the evening meal very good value and quality. The staff are very friendly and courteous. We have booked their special deal weekend which is excellent value and would highly recommend it. Also Ness gardens is very close by and worth visiting, the hotel gives a voucher for 2 for 1 entrance so that is a saving as well. Also visit Port Sunlight a wonderful village with the Lady Lever Gallery and the museum built by Lord Lever maker of sunlight soap who built the village for his workers, what a wonderful place to live.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCWirral, General Manager at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thanks for your review, I'm hope you agree it’s improved since the days of being the Insurance Company's training centre? It would appear you are acting as an honorary member of the sales team with all those recommendation to friend and family - Thank you. We are planning to finish the bedroom refurbishments next year, so you can maybe try out a new room on your next stay. You'll also be pleased to hear the Sunday Night Special will be running next year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We have just returned from a truly superb 3 night stay at the beautiful Inglewood Manor & cannot praise the hotel & staff enough for a wonderful stay! The hotel & grounds are stunning & make a truly beautiful setting for a romantic & relaxing break. This hotel is a real gem & so well placed for visiting many places of interest!! The staff were so very friendly & professional & the service was excellent throughout our stay. The welcome was superb & we were offered sherry & cake on arrival, which was a lovely touch. The food was first class & the dining room was so elegant, which made each evening feel such a special occasion. Breakfast was also a treat each morning again served in the dining room, which had lovely views of the hotel grounds. We had an executive bedroom, which was beautifully appointed, had wonderful views & we immediately felt very comfortable. The hotel has a wonderful feeling throughout really relaxing & very special - we would highly recommended this gorgeous hotel & intend to return very soon!! Helen Logan

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCWirral, General Manager at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you for such a great review, it's on the staff noticeboard already. I'm delighted to see you have enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, we work hard to ensure our guests feel welcomed and love Inglewood as much as we do! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, we'll have your sherry and cake ready by the log fire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

My wife and I, and our 8 month baby daughter, had a fabulous relaxing short break Monday to Friday at the Inglewood Manor Chester.
The Hotel is set in a quiet country location and has the most beautiful gardens and scenery belonging to the hotel grounds.
The Hotel is a fabulous character building with tasteful and expensive fixtures and fittings.
We upgraded to an executive room (Room 22) and we were very impressed with the size of the room,the decor and fixtures and fittings.
There was plenty of space in our room even with baby's travel cot.
The bed was a very comfortable king size and we slept soundly in the silent surroundings.
The view from our large window was amazing, overlooking beautiful gardens and surounding woodland.
The bathroom had quality fittings with a bath/over head shower with expensive shower gel,hand soap and hand moisturising cream supplied.
The breakfasts and evening meals in the restaurant are as good as any 5 star hotel in the UK. The waitress service is very friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble to satisfy your every need.
The reception staff are very polite,friendly and efficient.
All the staff in the hotel make you feel very welcome and make the whole atmosphere relaxing and chilled out.
A visit to Chester Zoo is a must,as its only 15 mins away and if you book through the hotel you get a £3 discount per person.
We booked direct with the hotel and they matched an internet offer of 4 nights for the price of 3. The cost of the room(including breakfast) was very good value for a top quality hotel.
We were delighted with the quality and relaxing atmosphere of Inglewood Manor and will most definately return there.
Its 'The place to be' if you need to re-charge the batteries and unwind in magnificent surroundings.
I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and family wanting a relaxing break in a quality hotel with a 'value for money' cost.
Looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We arrived on the evening of the 30th of september for my dad's 60th birthday. My mum booked 3 rooms on the phone few weeks before and my dad asked if he needs a confirmation by email and someone answered him that he doesn't need it, that the reservation was made. When we arrived at the hotel, the woman at the reception told us that we had no reservation, in fact, that the reservation were made for the night from the 16th to 17th (do I have to precise that my mum knows my dad's birthday??!) and that we had been charged for those 3 bedrooms, so if we wanted to stay, we had to pay for some more rooms!! This woman didn't try to listen to us at all, was very arrogant, saying that we made the mistake, never tried to admit that maybe, they were the one who made the mistake!
If we really made the reservation for the middle of september, do you really think we would have come 2 weeks after, asking for our bedrooms??? Are we that stupid?!
Furthermore, my mum remembered that on the phone she precised she wanted a reservation for the night from the 30th to the 1st, really different than 16th to 17th, even with a bad accent!!

So we had no other choice than paying for some more rooms, after 8 hours trip!! We often go in England and this is happening for the first time but really I'm so angry! Those people are dishonest and arrogant.

I want to precise that my parents both speaks a fluent english and that they spend weekends in England at least every two months.
I also want to precise that I've been working in an amazing hotel in Paris called "Hotel Particulier Montmartre" and I would never have acted like that. It's so unprofessional! How is it possible that they don't send any confirmations by email?? and if we, as they pretended, really made a reservation for the 16th to 17th of september, why didn't they call us as they didn't see us arriving?? they had our phone numbers!! I used to call people when I had no news from them at my hotel!!


Furthermore, the hotel is not so great, I mean, the building is very beautiful but the bedrooms are not, the TV are from another century, as well as the blanket and the carpet!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCWirral, Manager at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
It is always very difficult to find a way through these situations, as unfortunately it ends up becoming a case of one persons word against another’s.
However, I am very sorry you found it necessary to leave this review as, following the original confusion over the date of the booking the hotel tried very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, including very heavily discounted rates for your stay, and complimentary celebratory drinks for your family, to mark your father’s birthday.
As you will note from all our other fantastic reviews, it is very rare that anyone leaves Inglewood Manor, feeling anything other than delighted with the friendly service and high levels of hospitality they have received.
Sadly, from your review, it is clear that you do not feel that way, and so we will be contacting you directly to try to resolve the matter to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inglewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Manor

Address: Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inglewood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inglewood Manor is a delightful Edwardian country house nestling in the heart of 38 acres of exquisite grounds. Built in 1915, the Grade 2 listed hotel retains all the charm and warmth of a lavish family home, with elegant rooms, spacious terraces and acres of manicured lawns. The twenty nine luxurious en-suite bedrooms, all have individual charm and offer glorious views of the grounds. Surrounded by fantastic attractions, with fishing, walking and tennis in the grounds we provide an idyllic retreat. A team of award winning chefs display flair and creativity, ensuring every meal is a memorable dining experience, and friendly, responsive staff guarantee the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inglewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Manor Hotel Ledsham
Inglewood Manor Chester
Inglewood Manor Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inglewood Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.