We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character with friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inglewood Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inglewood Manor to your Saves list
Inglewood Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel with character with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our group had booked all but 2 of the rooms for the weekend so had the hotel mainly to our selves. The welcome of sherry and maderia cake when we booked in was a lovely touch which set the tone for the weekend. Room 26 which very nicely laid out with 2 bathrooms was looking a little tired and in need of a touch up of paint on the wood work. I did have a problem with the safe in the room but the staff soon rectified this. Mine and my wife's meals were very good and the staff accommodated my friend who has a potato and wheat allergy very well. Some members of our group thought the food to be only acceptable. All the staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi davidstevens52
Thanks for your kind review, we much appreciate the feedback. We do make a huge effort to keep the bedrooms spick and span so David our Maintenance Manager will be touching up the paint in Room 26 in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    109
    26
    18
    10
See reviews for
96
208
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I recently took my mum away for some quality relaxing time and what can I say!!
The drive leading into the hotel with beautifully kept grounds was stunning. We entered the hotel to a fantastic warm welcome from Emma, we were shown to our room and told sherry and cake would be waiting for us downstairs! A great little touch!
The room was beautifully decorated and the layout was nice and spacious with some choccys and water on the table too!
We chose to stay on the wine,dine and stay package for £99! Absolutely fantastic value!
For dinner the food was of a very high quality and great service!
After dinner we indulged in a after dinner drink in the lounge which was comfy and atmospheric.
Our nights stay was lovely and breakfast was delicious, cooked just how I liked it! The waitress ( Hannah I think ) was very polite and attentive even though she was very busy stopping to ask how our stay was!
Over all a great day and evening away and would highly recommend I know we will definitely be returning!!!
Thanks to all the team!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi emmaw88
Thanks so much for this lovely review, I so glad you and your Mum had such a lovely time. We've always got a list of Wine, Dine and Stay dates on our website (there's a direct link from our tripadvisor page), so do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night on a wine, dine and stay Sunday night deal. The hotel is one of those places that makes you feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. It manages to be both welcoming and intimate, comfortable and sophisticated. A nice touch was the complimentary sherry and cake served in the lounge on arrival.

Our room was a decent size, clean and relaxing. The bathroom was lovely and spacious.

Dinner was good and served in the elegant dining room. The starter of salmon and lobster was a highlight. Mains were a choice of roasts with plenty of tasty vegetables.

Breakfast was even better than dinner. The cooked to order full English was excellent, particularly the sausages and bacon and there was a good buffet selection of fruit, cereals, pastries etc.

We will definitely be back. We only wish the hotel was dog-friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi twiceover2
Thanks for this absolutely gorgeous review, I'm really glad you had such a lovely stay with us! We would love to be dog friendly (I've got a little spaniel myself), but not all our guests feel the same way about dogs which does make it a bit tricky. Do have a look at our Facebook page to see what we are doing to help one of our canine friends.
I hope you do come back to see us again soon, we do love our regular guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Definitely my sort of hotel - country retreat out in the sticks with an olde world feel. It is not difficult to imagine it as a set for an Agatha Christie programme. Charming and tasteful, with helpful staff and excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi estragon01
Thanks for the wonderful review, we do try to maintain the original charm of the house, so it's lovely that that was your experience when you stayed here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

we spent a few days at inglewood. We couldnt fault anything. Food was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was also very impressive overlooking the beautiful grounds.
however I do think Inglewood needs to be awarded as a 4* star hotel .
Thankyou for a very pleasent stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi sharonH
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking into the possibility of getting a 4th star, so perhaps the next time you visit - who knows?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We took over the whole hotel for a weekend break with friends. The rooms were well appointed and the bed-linen was, as has been noted by another reviewer, white clean and crisp. The bedrooms are well appointed and clean. The public rooms are numerous and comfortable and the staff are attentive. (My wife was on medication which absolutely precluded the intake of any alcohol. The chef provided individual sauces for her) The grounds are extensive and well maintained. Unfortunately it rained all weekend but it did not keep us in. West Kirby sailing lake is worth a visit (a nice cafe on the side is a pleasant restful stop after the 1.4 mile walk round the lake). Port Sunlight is also worth a visit. The area of the Wirrel is best described as very posh and quaint Liverpool.

Room Tip: All rooms are different but all have extensive countryside views; the higher you are the better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Peter H
Thanks for this lovely review, it sounds like you had a really good explore whilst you were with us. I'm sorry the weather didn't come up to sctratch during your visit, but do come back again soon, as there's loads more to see in the area, and we'll see what we can do about the rain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I like this hotel it's officially a 3* but felt more like a 4* very old but very tastefully done up over the last few years. I stayed two nights whilst on business and would stay agin.

This hotel does a lot of wedding fiunctions, the grounds are well suited. for it and well looked after.

I had a classic Double room and it was OK not huge and the bathroom although really well decorated with huge fluffy towels was a bit small and one of my beefs is that you had to get into the bath to turn the shower on so you obviously get the cold water before the showeregets warm enough.

The bed was a five footer but I found the mattress uncomfrtable - not very supportive but of course everyone has different views.

The Restaurant is superb with really attentive service and a good but limited menu soup and roast of the day are changed on what seems to be a daily basis.

My colleague who was with me chose a single room and the price was very good at £50 B & B per night but nbe warned it is a v small room with a single 3 foot bed.

Parking is good with spaces outside the front door and an overspill just a short walk away.

Breakfast was help yurself continental and a cooked/served to order full English with good local produce and served hot.

Room Tip: 48 hour cancellation policy so if you need to change your reqauirements don't leave it too late
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Lee M
Thanks so much for your lovely and very comprehensive review, it really helps readers to get a feel for the place. I do understand your comment about the shower, but due to the age and nature of the building every single one of our bathrooms is a different shape and size, so if you come back and see us again, do mention it on check-in and we'll make sure you don't face this issue again.
Thanks for your feedback, we have now changed our cancellation policy on standard bookings, so it's now 24 hours notice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inglewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Manor

Address: Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inglewood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inglewood Manor is a delightful Edwardian country house nestling in the heart of 38 acres of exquisite grounds. Built in 1915, the Grade 2 listed hotel retains all the charm and warmth of a lavish family home, with elegant rooms, spacious terraces and acres of manicured lawns. All twenty nine luxurious en-suite bedrooms have individual charm and offer glorious views of the grounds. Surrounded by fantastic attractions, with fishing, walking and tennis in the grounds we provide an idyllic retreat. A team of award winning chefs display flair and creativity, ensuring every meal is a memorable dining experience, and friendly, responsive staff guarantee the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Inglewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Manor Hotel Ledsham
Inglewood Manor Chester
Inglewood Manor Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inglewood Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.