We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - cracking staff..........good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inglewood Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inglewood Manor to your Saves list
Inglewood Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel - cracking staff..........good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed for one night as close to busisness - checked in good - lady went to check my room first - nice touch. Although room small and very warm.......comfy bed, nice bathroom. Evening meal lovely, evening duty Manager wonderful lad - Tranmere supporter I recall.......

Bad points, menu in the hotel guide in the room was different from what was available, no conditioner or shamppo that from a hotel of this nature I would hope to find as complimmentary, forgot my razor - guide in the room said ask at reception, although they didnt have any - small housekeeping issues that need to be reviewed....but super hotel, wonderful building, amazing gardens.

Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCWirral, General Manager at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your review, I’m glad you found us and had an enjoyable stay and evening meal. Just a note on the points you have raised; The rooms all vary in shape and size owing to being fitted with the Manor house, this makes each room individual, sorry if you felt it was small. With regard to the housekeeping issues, we have restocked on the razors now, the Molton Brown Toiletries in the bathroom are a hair and body wash in the shower. It’s a very nice product but unfortunately we don’t provide a separate conditioner at the moment, but we’ll certainly consider this as an option for the future. We have a selection of sample menus in the hotel guest information folder in the bedroom and therefore it does differ from what may be served in the restaurant but it is intended as a guide as the type and style of food we serve. I hope this didn’t disappoint you too much on the night when you came to dine, but I can see from your review you had an enjoyable meal with an excellent host it would seem! (Even if he is a Tranmere fan!!) I hope you have cause to visit the area again and stay with us soon and we'll keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    109
    26
    18
    10
See reviews for
96
208
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We attended a wedding reception at Inglewood Manor a month ago. The service and food was excellent. We decided to book for afternoon tea based on this. However we were extremely dissappointed, service was poor we had to wait for 10 minutes after been seated before
someone to an order for tea! Not very welcoming. The sandwich tray was nothing special - apart from the scones! The price of £10.95 pp was good. Unfortunately this stunning establishment is not to be recommended for afternoon teas in Cheshire and Wirral

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCWirral, General Manager at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your review, I am so disappointed to see that after having such a good experience here and returning, we have unfortunately let you down. What you experienced on your return visit isn’t our usual standard and for this I can only apologise and kindly request you get in touch with me directly to enable me to address the issue further. I look forward to hearing from you.

Fiona Creed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We just arrived back from a one night stay at this beautiful hotel. We were a party of four adults and one child staying on the 3.07.2011.
The Hotel and grounds are absolutely stunning and worth every penny we spend during our stay. Our rooms were spotless and charming and more you could expect for the price we paid. Staff helpful and friendly plus dinner and breakfast at a high standard.

Reading some negative comments on here about weddings being held during guests stays I feel I have to make a comment myself.

We also had a wedding reception at the hotel during our stay but we found it adding to the atmosphere and it did not in any way spoil our time at this lovely hotel. Having relatives in the area which we visit frequently will five us the opportunity to stay the the inglewood manor many more times. Thank you to the Hotel and all staff.

Room 14 & 1

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Hidden in the Cheshire countryside close to Chester, Inglewood Manor is a sight to behold, lakes, manicured gardens, wildlife and woodland walks make it a true sanctuary for the weary traveller and stressed businessperson alike. The rare combination of relaxed yet attentive service is welcoming, making it a real home from home. You’ll soon know everyone by their first name.
The guest rooms have been recently been refurbished to a very high standard and the restaurant offers a reasonably well cooked menu without the inconvenience of having to leave the hotel – I particularly recommend the smoked haddock with poached eggs for breakfast.
I’ve stayed in many hotels around the world and stay at Inglewood for two nights a week for a large part of the year at the moment. In its price range it’s hard to fault Inglewood, but don’t tell everyone, I’d like to keep it to myself!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Spent a weekend at Inglewood for a friends wedding. The venue is beautiful, even when the weather is not. The rooms are large and comfortable and ours had recently been refurbished and we understand that all the rooms now have been. Free wi-fi through-out the hotel and flat screen tv's. Breakfast is buffett/waiter service, and was great, the cooked breakfast was particularly good.
The wedding bit was handled very well with the room being set-up early with all the brides requirements. Wedding breakfast was very good as was the service. I can't really praise it all enough. Specific recommendation has to go to the hotel Manager who managed to always be there but never be seen, and who ensured the day ran smoothly, even when the photographer overran!
The only negative we found was that because they often have friday and saturday weddings they were not able to accommodate our dining reservation on the night before the wedding (there were 12 of us!). However we did book this fairly late and was not really an inconvenience. We were offered assistance to find alternatives.
Otherwise this is the perfect wedding venue and I would imagine for non-wedding event it is equally as good. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We love this hotel, having stayed on several occasions, so it was the natural choice for our ruby wedding anniversary celebration in April. The weather was wonderful so we were able to use the terrace at the rear of the hotel for lunch-time sandwiches.

A refurbishment of all the bedrooms has just been completed so they are comfortable and well-presented. Housekeeping is excellent.

We booked a private dining room - the Ledsham suite - for dinner, following a champagne reception in the main hall. We had a dedicated waiter for our reception so no need to refill our own glasses!

David, deputy manager, is a gem, being efficient but also friendly, and made sure everything flowed like clockwork. All the staff seem to really enjoy working at Inglewood Manor and smiling faces are evident.

The dinner was perfect, beautifully presented and really tasty. Breakfast, as always, was first-class.

Our guests were full of compliments and I'm sure some will visit again.

We stayed again in May and, once again couldn't find fault.

Can't wait for our nex visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton in Lindrick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding which was extremely well organised by the hotel staff. Rooms are spacious and well equipped apart from a lack of Internet access. The TV channel chices were rather odd but that's not why we were there. Staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inglewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Manor

Address: Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inglewood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inglewood Manor is a delightful Edwardian country house nestling in the heart of 38 acres of exquisite grounds. Built in 1915, the Grade 2 listed hotel retains all the charm and warmth of a lavish family home, with elegant rooms, spacious terraces and acres of manicured lawns. All twenty nine luxurious en-suite bedrooms have individual charm and offer glorious views of the grounds. Surrounded by fantastic attractions, with fishing, walking and tennis in the grounds we provide an idyllic retreat. A team of award winning chefs display flair and creativity, ensuring every meal is a memorable dining experience, and friendly, responsive staff guarantee the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Inglewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Manor Hotel Ledsham
Inglewood Manor Chester
Inglewood Manor Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inglewood Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.