We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB HOTEL , FAB SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
norh wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“FAB HOTEL , FAB SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

lovely hotel in a nice setting about 2 miles from chester
we had a happli deal with afternoon tea, evening meal, breakfast and 30min spa treatment .
cant fault anything.
had the bridal suite , huge room with a 4poster bed, and was lovely and warm.
the staff in all the hotel were fantastic ,helpful chatty and efficient, so thanks gang !
spa treatment were lovely with fantastic friendly therapist.
even provide a handwritten mam to the park and ride.
a lovely hotel experience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    201
    145
    127
    127
See reviews for
134
340
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I booked a surprise weekend break away to the Mollington hotel in November. I received a wonderful reception from both the general manager and his more than efficient staff. I was given a beautiful room. It had a four poster bed, large lounge, beautiful views of the gardens and was exceptionally clean. We had complimentary chocolates and wine in the room, such a lovely gesture that meant so much. That evening we dined in the restaurant, again the staff were first class and nothing was too much trouble. This hospitality was extended to the rest of the restaurant and indeed the rest of the guests in the hotel. The same courtesy and efficiency was extended to breakfast. The facilities in the spa were excellent, we had a lovely lunch overlooking the swimming pool and again nothing was too much trouble. The changing area was clean and tidy, and I would have to say this is probably one of the best spa's my husband and I have been to.

We have 5 children and have travelled extensively around the world. Having stayed in a variety of hotels, I would like to say that the Brook Mollington comes very highly rated. It is an old building, but full of charm and character. We always look at trip advisor for advice and information regarding hotels and their surroundings and would like to say that we found the majority of the comments on the site quite offensive and untrue. I also noticed that the general manager had a polite answer for everybody's trip advisor comment.

To Mr Gourishankar and everybody at the Brook Mollington, keep up the good work, we shall certainly be coming back again and next time we will bring our children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a very nice relaxing stay at this hotel. I would not take too much notice of the very pety things that people comment on. Yes the front of the hotel was a big let down, but once inside it was lovely warm and welcoming. We thought the room was a bit outdated but spotlessly clean, the bathroom was fresh and shiny, and all other areas a very good standard compared to other hotels we have stayed in. The breakfast was very good with alot of choice and all staff very friendly and helpufull. We will return to the Mollington Banastre with friends and family as would not hesitate to recommend it. Well done to all .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Firstly we would just like to say thankyou to the Mollington for their flexibility in making our wedding a very special day and evening.

We had made many visits prior to our wedding to the Mollington and had always been slightly put off by the “high rise flats” type accommodation overlooking the entrance to the hotel; and this combined with constant rain everytime we visited made us apprehensive of having our wedding there.

However, as they day approached, our contact Cheryl was very helpful and as well as getting us excited for the big day being held there, they treated us to a slap-up taster session. Along with this, they were very flexible with our constant changing requests before the big day. This all taken into hand with the fact that due to family health reasons the Mollington management had fast tracked the space for us to have the wedding there, as well as helped massively with the costing of the day so that we could have so many friends and family join us for the breakfast and the later evening do; (90 guests and 200 guests respectively).

On the day, many timings of our wedding went a bit awry prior to us getting to the Mollington, but the again flexibility of the Mollington staff allowed us to be able to get some pictures on the grounds (which happened to be blooming on the day with beautiful sunshine) and still manage as close to the pre set timings as possible despite the delays we had experienced completely outside their control.

Even in parts where there had been break downs in communication on the day or prior to the day, be it from us or another member of the Mollington staff; the “flexibility” (yes I use this word again) in conjunction with the willingness of the staff helped to make our day flow beautifully; It turned into a rather classy affair (as per comments from some of our guests)!

The food on the day was delightful, especially as we were running behind schedule; and as evening guest started to arrive for the evening do, the bar staff had to adapt substantially to meet the unexpected rush/need…again they did this gracefully and efficiently.

Therefore overall, we would like to give a big thumbs up to the Mollington Banastre Hotel…a lot of the time people do not make comments on review websites when things have gone well, but we thought it would be unfair not to let people know just how helpful, flexible, friendly and actually decent from a class point of view, the Mollington actually is.

Thanks again,
Anon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

On arrival, i was prepared for it to look a little dated as i had read other reviews, but i was not prepared for the following catalouge of events.
The toilet in our first room was leaking and there were pubic hairs in the bathtub and the kettle didn't work.
We then moved to another room on the ground floor. The bathroom was dirty, with dry toothpaste and hair stuck to the wall at the side of the sink. It took a while for hot water to emerge and the toilet in reception was blocked.
In the Spa, the changing rooms were freezing with a poor heater blowing its head of to no avail for such a large space. Locker doors were literally hanging off. I struggled to find a locker that actually worked and eventually found one. On leaving the changing room wrapped ina towell to shower in my room (as the water in the changing room shower was cold), i asked the receptionist for help getting my £1 out which had stuck in the door only to be asked to come for it tomorrow was she was busy....!!!!
Our first nights sleep was spoilt by a couple down the corridor who clearly thought it was OK to scream and shout at each other all night and have a fight. i fully expected the police to arrive. In the morning we heard they had trashed the room and pulled the phone out of the wall.
In the morning i asked the receptionist if there was any chance of a complimentary drink to make up for our spoilt weekend. Her reply " i haven't exactly had a good week either". Customer service or what. To calm my temper we decided to have a drink in the bar and chose a cocktail on promotion on the bar, looking very exotic and exciting on the picture. We asked the barmaid for "two of these cocktails please" to which she replied "mmmmm, i haven;t done cocktails. Go and have a seat and i will read how to make it". When it came it did taste ok but bore no resemblance to the vibrant picture used to advertise it. In short, it may have been 4* at some point, but we did expect Manuel to appear at any moment. If you want a special weekend treat, this is definately NOT the place to go. I had read the reviews and gave it the benefit of the doubt, but i should have heeded the warnings. Will we go there again - not in a month of Sundays. We did give it a nickname but its too rude put on here but the first word rhymes with Brook.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mollington hotels

manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a weekend break for my birthday. there were 3 couples.
1st point... Had no confirmation on our booking. but they did find us a room ,
2nd point.... rooms very dated a few cobwebs on ceiling.
3rd point.. the breakfast on sat
morning was awful no cutlerey on tables no milk for the tea coffee/ had to wait a while before they gave us these items, The breakfast was served until 10am we went down at 9-30 so there shouldnt have been a problem then to top it all the food was just thrown onto the hot plates.
We decided to book a meal to celebrate my bithday on the sat night, same thing again the food was well below standard for a 4 star hotel. Myself and my friend ordered the lamb shank....... what can i say it was very over cooked and when i spoke to the waitress she informed me that the chef knew they were over cooked and there would no point in having another one.In my opion if the chef knew it was over cooked why send it out in the first place.
The drinks were very expensive i no you expect a little more in a hotel but £9.95 for a pint of lager and a glass of wine. how can they warrant them sort of prices. I Would go back to chester but never go back to that hotel no way a 4 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Pamela56,

Thank you for posting your review on this site. May I take this oppurtunity to apologise that on this occasion the hotel did not meet with your exprectations.
Having spoken to the chef I am informed that the lamb you asked for was medium rare but as the menu states it is "slowly cooked in red wine" which may to some seem to be overcooked.
We have had only positive comments about breakfast from the large group that was staying in the hotel at the same time as yourselves nevertheless your comments have been passed onto the teams concerned.
The hotel a mansion house is currently undergoing a planned maintenance programme to ensure modern comforts blend with the character of this building.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Not a four star decor very dated stayed for 2 nights Nov 2nd rooms very dated damp on ceilings had a meal there on the second night waitress very polite but food not great bar staff also very plesent prices what you would expect from a so called four star hotel all pictures on web site taken from the rear of the hotel the front looks very scruffy holes in road over grown trees....would I go again ...No

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mike M,

Your comments on this site have been noted. The hotel is currently undergoing a planned maintenance programme and the points made by you have been incorporated in the plans.
May I take this oppurtunity to welcome you back to the hotel when next you are in the Chester area.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.