We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally chilled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montego Bay Beach Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Montego Bay Beach Village to your Saves list
Montego Bay Beach Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vithaldas Vaddo | Morjim, Morjim 403512, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Morjim
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Totally chilled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Montego Bay was an wonderful place, totally chilled and relaxing. Being right on the beach was amazing, and the beach was calm, peaceful, and nearly empty other than a few sunburnt Russians and the local fishermen, The beach was a litle dirty in some places but not overly so, however the sunbeds on the beach provided by Montego Bay had definately seen better days!

I found all the staff to be genuinely friendly and helpful, I stayed in a air con room which was small but functional, the food was very good. all in all this was a fantastic place to spend three days and I would completely recommend it.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    59
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Inde
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

The Resort is very nice but due to its location near by the river Chapora, the Beach was very dirty and it is not cleaned by the resorts. Apparently the government is cleaning the Beach for the season but by beginning of November it was still not the case. So children could not play in the sand nor couldn't we walk barefoot on the beach. A pity!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

This place is great! So chilled out - true Goa style! The reception is the bar area! We stayed in one of the log cabins, which is a simple room with an attached bathroom, it's basic, but's all you need for such great surroundings. You're right on the beach and there's different levels of seating around the bar to eat and drink, taking in the sights and the sun!

The staff are great, v helpful and friendly! They hosted my cousin's wedding here and were great throughout the celebrations!

The food is v good here too! And it's cheap as chips to stay! Would love to go back!

It's away from all the action, so note that you'll have to hire scooters or get a taxi to Baga/Calangute, but it's great to get away and lie on the beach!

  • Liked — inches from the beach
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

The Montego Bay Beach Resort is located on a beautiful fairly secluded stretch of Morjim Beach and provides for three categories of accomodation - air conditioned rooms, log cabins and the luxury tents. We were unable to get the air conditioned rooms or log cabins so we settled for the luxury tents. While the luxury tents are rather quaint considering they are only tents I would not call them 'luxurious'. And while the attached bathrooms are okay the stream of water flowing from the shower is just a little more than a trickle. A traveller who is considering Montego as a possible accommodation should be clear as to what he/she is looking for - if he/she is looking for luxury and comfort then the Montego tents are not the correct option but if he/she is looking for a unique semi-outdoorsy adventure on the beach then a Montego tent could be opted for. The pros of staying here are that its bang on Morgim Beach which is a rather pretty, clean and uncommercial beach perfect for swimming so all you have to do is grab your towel and head for the beach. The cons are that (a) while the interiors of the tents are clean, the tent itself is covered with grime and dirt (I am a bit of a stickler for cleanliness), (b) get used to bugs and other small creatures entering the tent (it is after all a tent) (c) the buffet breakfast which is complimentary is not that great and the breakfast shack has flies buzzing around (you could however order a decent breakfast and pay for it) (d) there is not much by way of service, (e) Morgim Beach is quite far from Baga, Calangute, Candolim, it is however close to Arambol and Mendrem, (f) the Montego staff did not offer to clean our tents or change the bed sheets (I do not know whether this was just because we didn't bother to ask them either or whether they do not usually do so) and (g) Rs. 2000 is a bit steep for the tents. However, although we had to adjust a bit, overall we had a great time and made the most of our nearness to the beach but I am not sure if I would be willing to return as I would be looking at slightly more comfortable options.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

This was my fourth or fifth visit to Montego Bay beach village as I used to live in India and spent nearly every weekend in Goa.

It really is an absolutely fabulous place to chill out and relax.

The tents in which you stay are basic however they are cleaned and fresh bed linen and towels are provided daily.

The real beauty of this place is the serenity of the location and the amazing staffs attention to detail. My friends suitcase broke as we were packing to leave and the owner Alvin even went out in mid afternoon to buy him a new one.

The food and drinks are excellent quality and exceptional value for money.

The staff there are fantastic always polite, friendly and always have a smile on their faces for you.

I have travelled the world for many years in business but will always return to Montego bay to chill out and escape from the corporate world.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Liked — cannot fault anything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

It is only fair to start by saying that this review is based on a 1 hour stay at this resort in Goa. I thus cannot comment on food, facilities etc. If you plan on staying at this location you have probably seen the website with stunning photographs of the accomodation and scenery and are probably expecting basic but clean accomodation. My partner and I arrived after a long journey from the UK expecting all of the above. We were immediately shocked to find the log cabins looking tired, dark and not welcoming at all. The cabins had shutters with no mossy screens so either they were shut (very dark) or open to the elements. The bed and sheets were not much better than a tired looking mattress with well worn sheets. The towels provided looked like thay had been used to clean army boots . Dirt, soil who could tell? The outside shower and loo were basic and on flushing the loo, sewage leaked into the shower area. Not a good start. All in all the accomodation was much more basic than the website claimed. And furthermore the cabin was not clean and was very dark and uninviting. As for the price I am amazed as to how much they charge (approx 2000 INR a night). I guess you are paying more for the location than the accomodationbut I still think this is extortionate. Needless to say we didnt stayand managed to find alternative accomodation. The owners did offer our money back (we had payed for 4 nights up front) however they didnt have it on the day and we didnt stick around long enough to get it back.
If you like camping then this may be for you but the price far exceeds the quality.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montego Bay Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montego Bay Beach Village

Address: Vithaldas Vaddo | Morjim, Morjim 403512, India
Location: India > Goa > Morjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Morjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montego Bay Beach Village 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the land of Sun, Sea and Sand for a fun-filled holiday. Montego Bay Beach Village is a boutique resort situated on the white sands of Morjim Beach, popularly known as the "Turtle Beach" where the famous Olive Ridley turtles come to nest and lay their eggs. The resort offers you an atmosphere of peace and tranquility where every person has his own privacy and enjoys the beautiful surroundings of a coconut grove and virgin beach. A sanctuary for the discerning traveler it is also a venue for creative weddings, theme birthday parties, and social gatherings. The resort consist of Log Cabins, Luxury Tents, Casa de Mudanc’a, and a Beach Villa spread over an area of 100,000 sq ft of beach front property. Wake up to the melodious notes of chirping birds as each and every room has a large veranda overlooking the Arabian Sea and is surrounded by the natural beauty of flora and a rich variety of bird life. This atmosphere makes Montego Bay Beach Village a charming ocean front property offering great value. It is an ideal getaway resort for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Montego Bay Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montego Bay Beach Village Hotel Morjim
Montego Bay Beach Village Pernem
Montego Bay Beach Village Goa/Morjim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montego Bay Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.